Perfect Moment Monday.

November 5, 2012 at 4:54 pm | Posted in motherhood, NaBloPoMo | 12 Comments

The first day of Standard Time. He’s been up since 5:45, and we’ve had a day of activity – a hike, raking leaves, and he even got to watch a professional cut down trees. We’ve given his daddy kisses and seen him off to the airport, and it’s just he and I at home.

He climbs into my lap and asks to go to bed at 6:30. And he’s been doing this recently; pretending his feet don’t work to go up the stairs so I have to carry him. He’s long and heavy and I don’t love carrying him up the stairs, but tonight he holds on around my neck and snuggles into Bear and Spoochy and Maisy. It’s too cute.

Every night we read two books, so I tell him to pick out his books for the night. He picks out one book – Richard Scarry’s book, “Cars and Trucks and Things that Go” – and tells me, This is a long one, Mommy, so I only want to read one tonight.

I don’t know what he finds completely hilarious about me accidentally skipping the first page, but he gets the giggles. His laugh makes ME laugh, and we are laughing together.

I read the book, he finds Goldbug on every page, and then we’re done.

When I turn off the light, he asks, Will you lay down with me, Mommy?

So I do. And he turns to me, his face inches from mine, and he snuggles into Bear. And he stares far into my eyes until his lids start to droop.

In a flash, I’m transported back to the hospital the night after his birth, where I lay on my side to try and nurse him, and he just stared into my eyes, as if he had known me forever.

That was ages ago, eons ago. But yesterday.

Within seconds, his eyes are closed, and he’s asleep, his breath sweet against my cheek. And I stay, and watch over him, and marvel at how beautiful he is and how deep and wide my love for him is. How I’d do anything for him.

With every fiber of my being, I love him.

I take an extra, luxurious moment, and breathe him in.

And then I tiptoe out.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Beautiful.

  2. Those moments of pure bliss are what it’s all about. Enjoy every single minute :-)

  3. I can’t wait to have these moments… I love this post.. Thinking of you..

  4. Tears rolling down my eyes. A perfect moment, indeed.

  5. I love this. And, it is uncannily similar to my own routine with my son at that age and that very book, only reading one because it is so long, finding Goldbug on every page and him sometimes falling asleep before I finished or, if he didn’t, asking me to lay with him.

    Love, love, love little boys.

  6. What a gorgeous moment. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I love this story. You’re giving me a glimpse into my future with my boy :)

  8. I’m another one with tears on my cheeks thanks to this beautiful post. This. This is exactly what I feel like every single day with Petite. Thank you for sharing this intimate moment.

  9. Lovely.

    E.’s current favourite book is “Cars and Trucks and Things that Go” and he loves pointing out Goldbug. It is fun to think he will still be doing it years from now.

    Beautiful post.
    xoxo
    T.

  10. Thank you for sharing this beautifully perfect moment between you and your son. Some of our bet moments are also at bedtime (some of the worst, too, but that’s another blog hop!).

    I’m so happy to have you as part of this month’s Perfect Moment Monday! I added your linky to it — hope that’s OK :-)

    • Oh, thanks! I didn’t realize it was a linky thing; I think I’m going to start doing this more, so totally appreciate it. :)

      xoxo

  11. What a wonderful perfect moment.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

