Lucky.

November 28, 2012 at 6:00 am | Posted in My life, NaBloPoMo | 6 Comments

I know I say this a lot, but thank you so much for the support and comments and emails and texts.

NaBloPoMo has been really good for me, I think, until this past week. I hate writing about my sadness over and over and over.

So. I’ll stop.

And instead I’m going to gush about my Big Kid Lucky.

Who is writing WORDS now, not just putting letters together that we sound out. He can write “To” and “Love” and “Stop” and “Mom” and “Dad” (though he spells it D-O-D, which cracks me up). He can also write “Poop,” which cracks him up the ENTIRE TIME he’s writing it.

Not kidding, he has to stop between gales of giggles.

Which, of course, makes me laugh too, because his laugh is infectious.

This weekend, after we put up our Christmas tree, he wanted to draw a picture of our tree, but he didn’t know how. So he asked me for my help, and I drew one for him, with a brief instruction on how to do it. He helped me draw lights on it, and a star, and he practiced drawing his numbers (in boxes). That was his “calendar” until Santa came.

So I went into his classroom on Tuesday morning, and his teacher asked me if I had seen his drawing on the wall – every week they feature some kid artwork. I went over, and sure enough – Lucky had drawn a GREAT Christmas tree, all by himself. Not only that, but he had written: “To [his teacher's name (well, most of it - he skipped the vowels)] Love Lucky.” And his teacher told me he had helped one of his friends draw a Santa Claus that day, too.

One of his favorite things to do with me right now is to make up stories. Usually one of us will start with, Once upon a time, there was a girl/boy who…

And we switch off creating stories. Sometimes they’re hilarious – like the day we created a boy who kept running in and out of people’s houses to look at their Christmas trees and decorations. Sometimes they’re educational – like the day where we created a girl who built a submarine car boat airplane, which had wings and wheels but was airtight so that water didn’t get into it. And the wings even helped them steer underwater!

(He came up with both of these, by the way. At four, my child is more mechanically inclined than I will EVER be.)

Man, he’s growing up right in front of my eyes.

The things that still remind me of baby/toddlerhood? There are a few.

He still loves to come cuddle in my lap; he folds himself up like a pretzel and buries his face into Bear and lays back against my chest.

The word protection sounds like “Pee-tektion.”

He’s gotten better with some words, but he still largely pronounces Rs and Ls like Ws.

Even in the midst of the heartbreak and the stress of our day to day life right now, he is my silver lining.

We were, in fact, REALLY lucky when we brought him home.

He is a salve for the heartbreak just much as these milestones are bittersweet in reminding me how fleeting babyhood is.

And I love him with every fiber of my being.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awww he sounds like such a sweet little kid. :-)

  2. Love this post. Love you.

  3. I had a rough day yesterday and could not wait to pick my son up from school (yesterday was a long day with pick up at 4:15) just because I knew that seeing him would be a hug to my soul.

    Watching our children grow up and become more of themselves is one of life’s greatest gifts. So glad you are able to stop and watch.

  4. Wonderful post. What a smarty pants!!

  5. I love that about writing poop! That would crack me up, too. And I totally agree with IIWII. Yes, babies are cute, but seeing my son develop into his own person is so fascinating, and so rewarding. For me, that’s the best part.

  6. Hold on to those moments. But look ahead with excitement to everything else that is coming too!

    Lucky sounds like an awesome kid. I know he goes through hugely frustrating phases, but he really does sound awesome.
    xoxo
    T.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 309 other followers

