My Truth.

May 2, 2014 at 11:31 am | Posted in And I ran (I ran so far away), Career angst, Cheese with that whine? (aka rants), Crazy Talk (aka: Therapy), My life | 5 Comments

Man, I do not KNOW why I haven’t been able to write lately. I feel as if my thoughts and feelings are all swirled around in a murky mud puddle – the kind you get in March in New England. They freeze overnight, are full of sand and dirt and melted snow and slush and if you step on it, the thin ice will break and you’ll end up ankle-deep in cold murk.

Writing is complicated lately.

So much easier for me to close out the “New Post” screen and do something else. Like budgets, or chatting with friends, or dishes. Or nothing; anything that requires no thinking or feeling. Something where I’m skimming along on the surface.

My truth is that I’m both okay and not okay.

It’s freeing, empowering even, that I don’t have a Plan. This, right in front of me, is The Rest of My Life. Charlie and I are watching Lucky (and Happy!) grow up right in front of us, and we’re a family, and in SO many ways we have such a good life.

But I have many moments, too, where I think, This is my life? Wait!! I DIDN’T SIGN UP FOR THIS!

I’m trying to decide if my expectations were unrealistic, or I’m just really unhappy with some facets of my life, or some combination of the two.

What I know: I am still full of self-loathing. I cannot put words to how much I hate my female parts. They utterly failed me. And then I struggle with this feeling. Because, I mean. I have a CHILD. You’d think that I’d have at least some measure of thankfulness that I was able to carry Lucky to term AND nurse him when he was a baby. My girl parts did just fine then, right?

But then I remember how, when I was pregnant with Lucky, I felt like we had snuck one in, came in under the radar. I never felt comfortable being pregnant; I felt like I was faking. And we really did get incredibly lucky – he managed to avoid the scarred, dead, unhealthy parts of my uterus which killed countless embryos; the part of my body which was responsible for so much loss over the years.

I’m thankful – so thankful – he’s here with us.

But I also cannot shake the unrelenting anger at my body for failing me so many other times.

And that anger is hard to manage, sometimes. For a while, I’ll be fine, and happy, and I’ll think things like, Wow, isn’t it a blessing we didn’t end up having another baby! We would have given up so much freedom! and I’ll go for a run and feel strong and happy and listen to the birds chirping and feel the sun on my face. And I’ll come home completely content with my life.

But the Beast will rear up and catch me completely off-guard, and I’ll flip the fuck out over a perceived slight from Charlie, and I’ll throw it all on him, because obviously he’s not good enough or fast enough or doing any of the right things and he doesn’t even KNOW ME. Because that’s what I do – I get pissed off at other people instead of looking into the black pit inside me. But while I’m yelling and pushing him away and trying to get him to hate me as much as I hate myself it’ll all come crashing down on me.

I’m the fucked up one, I can’t make any more babies, I’m a loser and a failure and I loathe being an accountant and I’m a crap mom to boot. And I don’t know what the fuck I want, so what’s the POINT of all of this shit anyway?

And I go to therapy, and talk through it all, and hear my therapist tell me I’m doing all the right things by talking it out and recognizing it about myself.

But nothing changes.

I still feel stuck. I feel gypped. I feel like the life I imagined when I was stuck in my room as a teenager with no social life and controlling parents isn’t at all close to what I have.

And intellectually, I can SEE that I’m doing this all to myself, that this is life, baby, and no one said it was fair, and good god Serenity, don’t you realize what you HAVE? There are people out there who are barely making their bills and cannot have ANY of their own children and are working jobs where they don’t have the luxury of disliking because it’s the only way they won’t DIE. This is a first world problem, your inability to have more children and the life you dreamed about when you were stuck in your room as a teenager with no social life and controlling parents. And anyway, teenagers know NOTHING of real life, which means that your expectations were probably too fucking high. Just let it go.

Let it go.

Why CAN’T I let it go? Why can’t I keep those moments of contentment close to my heart? Why do I keep spiralling back into pain and anger and fear and sorrow? What the fuck is WRONG WITH ME?

My truth is so complicated. I can’t hold onto the happy for long enough, and I keep trying to run after it, and it keeps eluding me.

And I KNOW, I KNOW that I need to sit down, really stop MOVING, in order to find the long lasting contentment I seek. Intellectually, I get this.

Sometimes, it’s just really hard.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, if I only knew what to say. I just posted something similar with regard to my pursuit of my birth father’s name from my birth mother, that I know others feel like I should let it go already. But, I just can’t. If she doesn’t comply, I am going to have to come to terms.

    And, that is what you are doing…coming to terms with things not being as you imagined them to be. Reimagining is hard.

  2. Keep walking towards it. Keep having more good days and fewer bad days. That’s what I’m wishing for you at the moment.

  3. Thinking of you. You are very brave to be willing to examine yourself- lots of people wouldn’t- they would just paste a smile over everything and keep on keeping on and accept that they just aren’t going to be happy.

    I really think you will be happy more often than not one day. You are on a hard road to get there, but you are so determined, I trust that you will be able to push through it all and make a peace in the end.

    xoxo

  4. This post brought me to tears, because this is exactly where I was about a year ago. I have no magic formula to get through it, unfortunately. But I can promise you that if you just keep putting one foot in front of the other, and keep doing what you are doing, it will get better. Thinking of you!

  5. I’ve kept this post open on my phone because I’ve wanted to say something… But I’m just not sure what to say.

    Have you heard of Brene Brown? I really like her and listening to some of her talks have changed me life. They aren’t about telling you what to do or how to live, they are just about who we are and what we need. Maybe hearing someone else’s ideas on these things might help break you out of the cycle you described above. At the very least it might give you some context in which to better understand the cycle.

    I find myself falling into the same cycles too and then I get down on myself for falling into them, which is a part of the cycle I suppose. I’m trying to just be mindful of it, without judging it as good or bad. It’s hard but I’m taking baby steps.

    You still have a lot of grief to work through and grief work is really hard. And it sucks. And it happens on its own time. But maybe if you recognize that is what is happening it will be a little more bearable.

    I don’t know if I’m making any sense and I don’t want to be imparting assvice so I’m going to stop. Please know that I empathize with how you’re feeling and that I hope very much that it becomes more bearable soon.

    Abiding with you.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

