Hump day random stuff.

January 9, 2008 at 2:01 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Oh, I hope that I didn’t make you all feel like I was upset and felt like I needed to justify my feelings. (Probably was that last paragraph. Hrm.) Really, I just wanted to explain a little of how J and I came to the decision to pursue daycare instead of making the choice for the one of us to stay at home*.

Because I AM finding that people have very polarized views of parenting and what is best for a child. Even with things as silly as whether or not I should buy a changing table, or what I eat, or what I drink (my morning cup of coffee for example).

Which, really, makes a lot of sense. This is a child we’re talking about… who will be entirely dependent on J and I to make decisions for them. For many years.

I think discussions like yesterday’s are really important – it keeps me honest by challenging my assumptions.

And as always, I am thankful for all of your opinions and support.

__________________________

My girlfriend M made me a bunch of classical CDs so “Squishy can have some culture.”

At the very top of my list of classical music which gives me goosebumps: Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber.

Musical longing is the only phrase I can use to describe it. It’s fantastic.

__________________________

Yesterday I was planning on visiting my good blogger friend Mary Ellen, who is currently on bedrest after her doctor put in a cerclage in the hopes it would stall her cervix changing. The plan was that I’d bring lunch and we’d just hang out for a couple of hours so she’d have some company.

But early on yesterday, she told me she was feeling some pressure low down that she wasn’t sure about. She called her doctor, and they wanted her to come in to be checked. So since I was headed out to see her anyway, we decided I’d take her to the doctor’s office, and Steve could meet us in town a little bit later.

We got there, parked, and when she got called in, she asked me to come into the ultrasound with her. Which of course I did willingly. Because really – there’s nothing like having a stirrup queen with you – beats going alone.

The experience of seeing her three babies on the screen was even more amazing than I could have ever imagined. And they were SO active – way more active than my own was at our 18 week ultrasound. They were like little Mexican jumping beans. Three perfect little babies.

Better yet, it looked like her cervix was actually LONGER than it had been on Friday.

I haven’t gotten to see Squishy for the past 10 weeks. And the experience of seeing her little ones moving in there made me REALLY excited for my next OB appointment in three weeks. Because that’s when we get another ultrasound to ensure that our baby is growing right on track.

And I can’t wait to see him or her again.

 __________________________

*I say “one of us” deliberately. My wonderful husband, early on in our relationship, told me that he was open to being a stay at home dad as well. Ironically, it was I who told him that I wasn’t comfortable with that. I was afraid I’d be resentful that he’d be able to be the primary caregiver while I was shackled to work, or I’d feel guilty that I wasn’t “maternal” enough. Or something.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think you know this already, but I understand your daycare choice 150%. In fact, watching you go through this allows me to live virtually through you since I expect to react in the same way and reach the same conclusions.

    Not to mention the fact that we are in similar financial situations.

    I have to confess that I am jealous that you got to see ME’s babies on u/s! 🙂 I would to love to have been there as well. But I am VERY happy that you were there to comfort her.

    XOXOXO

  2. Changing table?! Of COURSE you don’t need a changing table! WE’VE made it just fine without one and what works for us will CERTAINLY work for you, right?? RIGHT?

    Ha ha, obviously kidding. It is easy to get wrapped up in parenting issues because it’s something that’s so important. I do have strong opinions on the choices we’ve made (I mean…we put a lot of thought into those choices), but I do try my best when chatting with other moms/pg ladies to qualify it with “in my experience” and “that’s what worked for us” because I know that not every baby is the same and some choices that work for one family won’t necessarily work for another. Heck, those same choices we made the first time around may need to be tweaked whenever there’s a #2 in the picture, and I think having that flexibility in mind will hopefully make me a better parent than I’d be otherwise.

    You guys are going to do great!! 🙂

    D

  3. It’s been 12 weeks since i’ve seen my baby on u/s and I’m likely not to get another one at all, so I’m a little jealous that you get to see Squishy in another few weeks.
    I know how you feel about the myriad of opinions that are offered forceably on you – you should see my mother… like right now she is adamantly trying to convince us to remove the futon from the nursery and buy an air mattress for the occasions when we need to have adult sleeping space in the room. And SHE WON’T LEAVE IT ALONE.

  4. I am so happy that you were there with me yesterday! *Smooches*

  5. I’m not even pregnant and my hubby is very willing to be a house husband. Although, he said he’d save the poopy diapers till I got home. Oh, gotta love him!

    And do what is right for you and J. That is all that matters.

  6. I had NO idea that you have to wait so long between u/s appointments, I thought they always looked with a u/s every appointment! I don’t know how you are waiting so patiently! All the decion making must be tough, just stick to what you and your husband know what is best for YOU TWO and the BABY. Ignore the peanut gallery!

  7. Only you and J can make the decisions that are best for your child. What might be right for you may not be right for another family. You are doing the best possible thing you can by thinking through everything logically. Squishy is one lucky kid.

    I am so glad ME is doing ok. It must have been amazing to see the three little ones!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

