And it begins. *Updated*

January 16, 2008 at 3:08 am | Posted in My life | 9 Comments

(A warning. A work vent is about to commence. I desperately need to get this out.)

My busy season.

I am completely overwhelmed with work right now. And I’m not dealing very well with it.

I’m in Phil.adelphia this week for our year end client work on my one client. The manager came out yesterday and today – he had to fly to Wisconsin this afternoon. And this morning, at 10:30am, he asked me if he could review my work. Because he “wanted to get it done and reviewed before he had to leave this afternoon.”

Ok, so I’m supposed to be here for the WEEK. I STARTED the work yesterday.

Um. So no, it’s not ready for review yet.

So most of my morning and early afternoon consisted of me frantically getting through my revenue work, documenting it, and doing a quick self-review so he could look at it before he left.

And then, I got an email from ANOTHER manager, asking about the status of where we are for NEXT week’s audit. And he asked me to figure out how best to test an incredibly complex calculation – by tomorrow.

In the same half hour, the partner on my third engagement emailed me and asked me to get him an agreement so he can talk with our national office about the accounting for a pretty complex revenue transaction.

And at about 5pm tonight, I wanted to scream. And pull my hair.

Instead, I worked until 8. And then came back to the hotel, ordered a grilled cheese sandwich and a chocolate shake from room service, and watched The Bi.ggest L.oser.

And here I am, at 10pm, reading about the calculation of the FAS 123R tax windfall pool for companies who went public after the effective date. And trying to digest it so that tomorrow I can figure out the best way to test the company’s calculation.

Because, well, I have no choice.

This is the nature of my job. I have to balance multiple clients, multiple deadlines, multiple people needing my time. We have hard deadlines… and a LOT of work to get done between now and then.

And really, it’s only 6 weeks. I can do anything for 6 weeks.

Right?

____________________________________________

After a good night’s sleep, I’m feeling a LOT better.

It’s just work.

Thing is, I’ve been overwhelmed with work for a couple of weeks now – ever since I got back from vacation. And what Bea said about pregnancy brain? I can’t say it’s true about everything, but my ability to multitask has gotten much worse. What doesn’t show up on my actual written down list of Things To Do flies out the window.

I’ve been dreading busy season because of this for a while now. 

Equally as hard is for me to play the “pregnancy” card. My managers, partners, and coworkers have all been great in not treating me any differently since I told them I was expecting. They don’t expect any less of me. And I don’t WANT to deliver less because of my situation.

But. The fact is, I am pregnant, and there is SOME effect on me, right? I will just have to do my best.

(And of course, know both my physical and mental limits.)

Anyway. Thanks for listening. I just need to focus on the fact that I can only do my best.

And you know what? This IS my LAST busy season. My 5th and final one. The work will all get done, as it always does, and I’ll come through it just fine.

I hope, anyway.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You can do it. You’ve done it before, and you can rise to it again – despite the baby-brain! After all, last time you were going through the uncertainty of the infertility treatment phase of your life. If you could make it then, you can sure as hell make it now.

    Don’t forget to use every single last one of your relaxation and caring-for-yourself tools. Eat! Stretch! Perform simple in-chair exercises! Pause to feel Squishy kick and remember who all this is for! Watch the biggest loser! Treat yourself to milkshakes! And the most important one – remember that each day you complete is a day less you have left to complete.

    Bea

  2. Ah, Bea (as always) has clever things to say… I don’t think the baby-brain is affecting her as badly as she might think 🙂

  3. Hang in there! As Bea said, you’ve done it before, so you can get through it this year too.

  4. ohmyword. my bean is currently 1mm and i would in no way be able to cope.
    sheesh.
    glad you got the shake. a good night’s sleep+shake=make life better.
    take.care.of.you.

  5. I wish you didn’t have to deal with this work stress now, but as you said, unfortunately that’s the nature of the job. It may be more challenging than in years past, but I know you well enough to know that you’ll still do an excellent job, even if you’d rather have your attention on other More Important Things (aka a BABY!).

    The good news is that when you come out of the craziness of busy season, you’ll be approximately a MONTH away from having your baby. A month!!!!

    D

  6. I am glad the rest helped. Whenever I have a stressful time at work, I just picture being bored out of my skull on bedrest—rather being doing something, even if its stressful! At least it makes the time go fast!

    Good luck with your deadlines!

  7. It sounds like you were/are facing unreasonable expectations for anyone – pregnant or not. It’s another example of how the workplace typically disregards things like, well, HUMANITY. You can only do so much. And you are doing the best you can. And, as my awesome therapist would say, that is enough. Always.

    Sending you calming and loving thoughts. Take care of yourself. It is just work after all!

    XOXOXO

  8. I agree with what Bea had to say-if you were able to make it through the busy season while struggling through IF you can make it through pregnant! You are pulled in so many directions though I know for sure in my current state I’d be having some serious meltdowns.

    Here is wishing you lots of calm on your down time!

  9. I hear your pain. I used to be in public accounting and it is no circus. Hang in there-you were able to do it before-I know it is hard and add pregnancy on top of that it is doesn’t get any easier. Just take it one day at a time. I know the expectations are high and no is really not an option either.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

