A Wednesday list for you all.

January 23, 2008 at 12:38 pm | Posted in Pregnancy | 9 Comments

Dammit. I just spent the last freaking half hour typing my post for today. And my network blipped… and I lost my post.

Boo.

So this will be short and bulleted, I guess.

1. I love rachinbar’s suggestion that, if I can’t nurse, I can at least feed Squishy with his/her cheek against my breast. That way I can get that skin-on-skin bonding time with our baby.

2. I do intend on attempting to breastfeed. Because even if my milk never comes in (supply is most of the issue with BFAR), at least our baby will get my colostrum. I am taking the yellowish crust (ick, I know, it sounds  gross) as a good sign that at least I’ll have some of that to offer my baby when s/he is born.

3. I am extremely excited about tomorrow’s ultrasound – I can’t wait to see if that bulge in my right rib is head like I’m thinking. I can’t wait to see our baby again and see how big he or she has gotten.

4. I am also trying NOT to obsess about the fact that I believe Squishy is positioned head up right now, because I know I have another 5 weeks before it becomes an issue. I know that most babies turn at some point. And if Squishy DOESN’T turn, well then there isn’t much I can do about it. And at least then I’ll have the benefit of being able to schedule our baby’s birthday. Obsessing, really, is doing nothing for me then.

5. I am AMAZED that, in about 6 weeks from now, Squishy will officially be “full term.”

6. Which brings up a whole bunch of stress – holy shit there’s a lot we still have to do.

7. I talk myself down by remembering that we can’t prepare for everything, and that we’re going to be FINE even if we’re not fully prepared. And I thank my lucky stars that we’re not the first people ever to have a baby in the world. People have been doing it for centuries.

That’s it for now, I think. I promise that one of these days I’ll get back to the meaty posts at some point. Network issues aside, I feel so FLIGHTY lately – I have a ton of thoughts to share with you but very little ability to flush it out in words.

I really, really, REALLY hope that I can get back to it again soon.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I remember with XBoy getting that hard lump under my ribs and literally pushing it down. I’m not sure if it was his head or his butt, but if it was his head it would explain a lot.

  2. It’s very understandable that you have other, more wonderful things on your mind!

  3. Given how BFAR is about supply, have you thought about getting in some domperidone before you give birth? I am a member of a listserve for women with tough breastfeeding issues, and some people have had good results starting dom straight after birth. You can get it from http://www.inhousepharmacy.com and they seem both cheap and reliable.

  4. looking forward to hearing about the u/s!

  5. I’m worried about The Chieftan’s position too, and found http://www.spinningbabies.com to be of help.

  6. Like you, I worry all the time because with only a few days to go, I still can’t get any drops out if I squeeze my BB’s… The only thing I see is teeny tiny flecks of dried stuff on the nipples, and it makes me worry that I won’t be able to do it either. After talking to my doc, they assured me that not everyone leaks before hand, and besides, isn’t it the oxytoxin that causes your milk etc to come in, and that is released in huge amounts during labour. Heres hoping for us both, and if not, then we’ll still be great mommies. Good luck for the scan too Serenity!! I remember the feeling of the little bum rising near my ribs from about week 28, and it always makes me smile.

  7. Wow! Not long to go! But I’m confident you’ll be as ready as anyone can be.

    As for the breastfeeding, well, fingers crossed I guess. I imagine it will be hard work to accept if it doesn’t happen, but as you say, not the end of the world either. Hopefully that cheek-to-breast solution will help.

    Bea

  8. P.S. Good luck for the appointment!

    Bea

  9. Good luck with the u/s!! I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    (Side note: I think once you do an initial manual save on your post, it should start doing an autosave after that. I don’t know why it requires a first manual save–I guess that’s one advantage to Blogger, which saved no matter what–but that’s what I’ve learned. Once I do that first save, I’m good to go should any network hiccups happen.)

    D


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

