Doing fine at 30 weeks?

January 25, 2008 at 12:20 pm | Posted in Pregnancy | 16 Comments

You know, it crossed my mind that Psycho contacted me to feel better about herself in some way. Maybe she feels bad about the things she did in middle school. I don’t know.

What I do know is that I have a rich and fulfilling life, with good friends and a wonderful family. And to be honest, I don’t even feel like I have enough time to spend with them. Much less someone who treated me like she did.

So I don’t see any reason not to ignore her email.

______________________________________

So we had our 30 week appointment yesterday – complete with an ultrasound to check that Squishy is growing as expected.

When I went into the ultrasound room, I said to the tech – “I’m pretty sure that the baby’s head is on my right rib. She or he is definitely on the right.”

And sure enough, when she put the probe to my belly, there was our baby’s head. Faced towards my back; all nice and snuggled up against my right rib.

Fluid levels looked excellent, the baby is measuring spot on at 29w5d. The ultrasound technician estimated that s/he was between 2.5 and 3lbs at this point. His or her head measured at 7.2cm – which frankly to me seemed BIG, but the tech assured me that it was right on in terms of development. Heartbeat was a good strong 144 bpm.

I will say it was MUCH harder to see things this time unless the tech pointed them out – there’s a lot less space in there right now, and so it was harder to get the baby to shift into a position where we could actually LOOK at things. We managed to get one profile shot, after I shifted over to my left side and we probed my belly to try and incent Squishy to move.

So J was relieved that we wouldn’t “accidentally” see the gender.

My doctor’s appointment afterwards was pretty uneventful. I passed my glucose screening with flying colors, which was good. My red blood count, however, was on the low side, so my doctor recommended that I supplement my diet with a bit more iron. She told me that even just adding a helping of iron-fortified cereal in the morning would help.

She also mentioned that since Squishy is breech and I have a bicornuate uterus, there’s a chance that s/he might not turn in the next couple of weeks. We’re going to do a 36w ultrasound (on March 6 – eek that’s close!!!), and if it looks like Squishy hasn’t turned by then, we’ll discuss manual ways to turn him/her, though she did admit that she wasn’t sure if it would work on a heart shaped ute and she wanted to read up on it then. If that didn’t work, then she’d schedule us for a c-section at 39w.

I confess that I was surprised she’d even discuss version with me; I suppose I just assumed that since it was a Big City Hospital, it would be easier for them to just schedule the C. I’m happy that she’s willing to consider trying to turn our baby, at least.

We’ll see, though. There’s plenty of time for Squishy to turn – another 6 weeks. And if I need a c-section, I need a c-section – there ain’t much I can do about it. As long as we get a healthy baby at the end, none of it matters, as far as I’m concerned.

So baby’s doing well and is nice and comfortable in there.

Mom? Not doing so well.

I’ve mentioned that this is my busy season right now. And to explain about what “busy season” means – my clients are filing their financials at the end of February. There’s a TON of data and documentation we need to get through before now and then; as our regulations dictate that we need to be “pencils down” the very day our client files with the SEC.

The timeframe is so tight nowadays that if we don’t get the information we need and/or it’s got errors… well, it pushes everything back.

And my role on my engagements is to not only coordinate getting information from the client, but coaching the new associates and communicating with the client, my managers and partners – in ADDITION to getting through my own work (which is always auditing the more complex accounting areas; a task in itself which would take more time than usual).

So that’s why I work such long hours.

But.

I have now gotten to the point where I am uncomfortable at the end of a 12 hour day. Uncomfortable as in my belly aches just as badly as my back does. Uncomfortable as in I feel like someone has repeatedly pummeled my belly and back. I can barely eat at night nowadays – there’s literally no room in my belly for much at all.

But. I have deadlines which are NOT negotiable. So last night, I attempted to get through some documentation which NEEDS to be completed by tomorrow morning. And I just couldn’t do it. Couldn’t concentrate. Couldn’t power through the exhaustion. Couldn’t focus on getting the task done.

So I left. And I went home. The whole way home, in pain, I couldn’t stop thinking.

How the hell am I going to get through the next 5 weeks until my clients all file?

I know it’s all going to work out. Really. And the health of my baby is paramount to me right now, so if my hours were damaging to my baby, then you better believe I’d be telling everyone who could listen that I needed to do less.

But Squishy is doing fine – it’s ME that’s not. And I’m not sure how I’m going to get through these next few weeks.

My current plan is to work weekends – transfer all that time I can’t spend on late nights into Saturdays and Sundays if I have to.

But then, well… that puts way too much onus on J to do all the housework and errands. Which worries me too. 

Third trimester. Busy season.

We certainly didn’t TIME this very well, now did we?

*snort*

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ok, your 36 week appointment is the week of my due date! Holy sh!$ seeing that in “print” just made me nervous!

    I sort of laughed when I read “We certainly didn’t TIME this very well, now did we.” If you were like me back in those early days you probably were trying to time conception around certain things. Guess it just doesn’t work out that way for some of us, huh?

    As for turning the baby-have you thought about going to accupuncture? I know my practitioner said she has turned many a breech baby.

  2. Glad to hear Squishy doing well, but sorry you are stressed!

    Maybe the household work doesn’t have to be done so much, or maybe you guys could get some help? I can understand your need to work on the weekends, etc. It sounds like your priorities are spot on, so I am sure you will pace yourself.

  3. how funny when you’re IF that you throw the whole idea of when you’d “like” to become a mom. it just occurred to me that i will be 8-9 months pregnant, swollen, enormous and miserable during the hottest part of the year and one of the the most humid places on the earth.
    oh dear.
    but worth it, of course.
    i hate that you’re this miserable during your busy season.
    glad the squish is okay.
    xoxoxo

  4. I can’t believe how close 39 weeks really is….it feels like this last trimester is flying by (for me, at least.) 🙂

    Yikes. Your work situation sucks. Normally it sucks. But being near the end of your pregnancy with those demands and the stress. Horrible!!

    You know what, don’t worry about the housekeeping. I know how hard it is – I find it impossible – but your house will still be there. A little mess never killed anyone.

    As for the groceries, any chance that Peapod delivers to your house? It might be worth the extra money. Either that or go to a Big Box store and stock your freezer. That way no one has to go grocery shopping for a while.

    Don’t forget to rest when you can…..not only is Squishy’s health more important than your job, YOUR health is. And you are a fantastic person whether or not you do a perfect job at work…..

    XOXO

  5. It could be worse, right? You could be 39 weeks during the week you have all the final FINAL deadlines. 🙂 And if J is anything like my DH, then he’ll take up the slack because he knows it has to be done, not complain and be okay because he’ll feel it’s the least he can do while you’re carrying his baby and going through the physical stress, etc.

    Glad Squishy is okay and that you’re surviving with a plan. I have to tell you, my 8-9 hours days are killing me and I don’t have a CLUE how you can go about doing 12s even occasionally. You’re a superwoman!

  6. I wouldn’t contact Psycho. Sounds like stone left better unturned, that’s for sure!

    I’m glad Squishy is doing well, and I hope you can get through the busy season without dropping over into a heap at the the end of each day!

  7. Maybe you’ll become a cleaning madwoman any day now if a nesting streak hits you hard? In all seriousness, though, it’s taken me a little while to adjust my expectations for cleaning/chore responsibilities and division of labor, but it really will morph in the coming weeks/months/year. J might need to pick up the slack some right now, but there will probably come a time when you’ll need to do a little more than your share of that kind of stuff. And hey, you never ever read in obituaries, “Died due to an overdose of housework because of a pregnant wife.” Do ya?

    D

  8. Okay, maybe this sounds really weird, but it’s possible that Psycho doesn’t remember the awful events the way you do. I was at a party where one guest discovered another guest had gone to h.s. with her husband. She asked the guy if he knew her husband, and he went into a tirade of “he made my life hell!” She went home and told her husband she’d met the guy, and he had to think a bit before he said “oh, Rob? Yeah, he was a nice guy. I don’t remember him well.” How awful that making one person’s life hell was so insignificant to the other.

    And I am definitely with the others on the housework! Your house will be pretty messy once the baby comes anyway! And I actually don’t think cleaning companies are that expensive (my parents’ costs $65 to clean a 2500 ft2 house).

  9. Happy 30 weeks!!! congratulations. I am so gald to hear that Squishy is doing fine. I hope you can feel better and complete all the work that needs to be done. i can only imagine how tired you are. I work -810 hours a day and I feel so tired already!!! YOU ROCK! Take care of yourself!

  10. There are a lot of natural ways to get the baby to turn head-down (although only about 3-4% of all babies are still breech by the time labor begins). Some are pretty standard (tilting using an ironing board) and others are a little more wacky (playing music, shining a bright light, and putting a bag of frozen veggies on one end of the uterus or the other). They may not work–especially with your bicornate uterus–but then again, they may! At any rate, it can be interesting reading. 🙂

    Good luck with your pregnancy and birth.

    Kathy
    womantowomancbe.wordpress.com

    P.s. I like your nickname for your baby–so cute!

  11. “We certainly didn’t TIME this very well, now did we?”

    No. I reckon you should have tried to have the baby a good, what, two/ three/ four years ago.

    I can’t add anything to what you’ve said. If it’s affecting Squish, then put your foot right down. If it’s affecting you, try to make yourself as comfortable as possible. I’m sure J will be ok with you spreading the workload over the weekend temporarily. You’re working pretty hard on the “home front” as it is, what with just gestating!

    As for the C-section, what will be will be and it sounds like you’re in good hands.

    Bea

  12. Glad all is well with Squishy.

    I would be hesitant to try a manual version with a BU, given the higher risk of rupture. I would try acupuncture and other more gentle means though.

  13. Whoa. Psycho sounds off her nut. Definitely better to ignore.

    I’m sorry this is such a busy time for you…. ouch, I can only imagine how much I’d hurt to work those hours. Yikes.

    I hope Squishy turns!!

  14. HA:) Man, couldn’t you have timed it better? Did you try keeping your hips propped up? 🙂
    Congrats on such a great appointment! Turn, Squishy, turn!

  15. re timing, hahahahaha.

    re ‘squishy is well, it’s me that’s not’ – you do need to care for yourself as squishy is pretty damn dependent on you right now. I’d start being a bit more selfish about work, there is always someone who can do what you’re doing.

    Re j doing housework etc., well, he is squishy’s father, isn’t it ok for him to be looking after you both??

  16. sorry, missed the last sentence of my comment. The point is, stop feeling guilty, stop looking after everyone but yourself, and recognise that you are squishy’s best advocate right now. He/she needs you to start getting a bit selfish.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

