Friday.

February 1, 2008 at 12:49 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 9 Comments

I feel so much better today.

Why?

Because yesterday was payday. And at lunchtime, I took a few minutes to do a quick back of the envelope calculation, after looking at my savings account balance.

And I figured out, roughly, that we might actually be able to afford me being out of work until September.  Provided we tighten up spending between now and then, and I sink as much money as I can into my savings account.

Best part is that I figured out that I ALONE might be able to to pay for an extended, unpaid maternity leave. Which means that the bonus and tax refund money we’ve earmarked for a potential newer used car can stay earmarked for that.

I got really excited about it. A light! At the end of the tunnel!!

Clearly J and I need to discuss and work out more of the particulars. And I tend to be… well… optimistic when it comes to my ability to save. During busy season it should be no issue – I’ll get expense checks for mileage… and pretty much all I’ll need to buy is gas. But after those go away, well… I probably won’t be able to save quite as much as I had hoped.

But. It struck me yesterday that I really REALLY want to make this work if we can. I have no idea if it’s possible. But the idea of being home all summer with Squishy? Then transitioning into a new job come September, when our baby is close to 5 months old?

Man, it seems like a really good situation. Gives me more time at home… and to really WANT to get back to work. And then we won’t have to spend money on interim daycare between the end of July and September.

That was my happy thought which got me through yesterday.

______________________________________________

And yes, today is Friday. I won the weekly battle – survived, mostly intact. And yes, I’m going to have to work this weekend too.

But I’m planning on doing it from the comfort of my own home. In my pajama pants and my new LL Bean slippers.

31 weeks tomorrow, people. 31!

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m always a little optimistic about how much I can actually save – so is my huband. I hope it works out for you!!

    Wow, only 9 more weeks to go!

  2. That sounds like a fantastic plan!!! I am really happy for you. A summer with a new baby. PERFECT. And a light at the end of the tunnel is always a life saver!!

    XOXOXO

  3. Sounds great!

  4. Yay for Friday! Glad you made it, Serenity!
    Your light at the end of the tunnel sounds fabulous.

  5. Work from home in slippers is still better than going into the office. That break over the summer is probably sounding better every day!

    Take care.

  6. 31 weeks has a beautiful ring to it 🙂

    I hope it all works out and you can be home.

  7. That is fantastic news. Being able to be home for that long would be so nice for you guys. Congrats on making it to the end of the week:) Enjoy those jammies and slippers! Doesn’t sound half bad!! 🙂

  8. That is great news, you will love this summer with Squishy!!!!

  9. That would be wonderful!!!! I hope it all works out for you:)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

