Almost like a new person.

February 5, 2008 at 12:54 pm | Posted in Pregnancy | 13 Comments

In sleep news: I went on a full frontal attack last night in the hopes that I could get a good night of sleep.

What did I do?

1. J and I decided last night that we’d get rid of our winter down comforter- we replaced it with our regular summer quilt instead. (Luckily he’s been as warm as I have been, so he’s not sacrificing warmth for me.)

2. I ran the humidifier at full speed.

3. Before bed I put just a little bit of neo.sporin on the inside of my nose, since I had been having trouble with nosebleeds all day.

4. And I went to bed when I was absolutely exhausted and couldn’t keep my eyes open any more.

I woke up a few times for water and to pee… but otherwise?

Lovely, comfortable, restful sleep!

I feel almost like a new person today.

____________________________________

A few years ago (ok, well it’s been a number of years now), I took part in a bike ride from Boston to Provincetown – a 160-mile distance over the course of two days – to help raise money for MS. I have a wonderful girlfriend who has the disease, and she was planning on riding at least part of the course, so we banded together and rode for her. I believe I raised about $1500 for the cause.

I didn’t spend a lot of time training, however. At the time I was a gym rat – I ran 4-5 miles a day. I took spin classes. I was in most likely the best shape of my life. A little bike ride? No problem.

And truthfully, it wasn’t all that bad.

Until the second day, that is.

My poor pelvis.

The pressure on my poor girl was intense. I remember having to find a unique way to pedal the last 30 miles or so of the race – pedal three times, then stand up to coast. All to relieve the pressure on my poor pelvic bones.

1,2,3, stand up.

1,2,3 stand up.

The good news is that I made it to the finish line. Though I think I waddled for a good week or so, it was a great sense of accomplishment.

So this weekend, when I went to turn over in bed, I was surprised to feel that very same ache.

Like someone kicked me, repeatedly, in the groin.

Or as if I had rode (ridden?) a bike 160 miles without any sort of training.

From what I’ve been told by women I know who have been pregnant before, this is a normal thing. It’s some hormonal wackiness which allows my pelvic bones to separate so Squishy’s head might pass through it without getting stuck.

And though I’d like to say I’m happy to know that my body is doing what it is supposed to do in order to prep for the impending arrival of our son or daughter… well, I’m starting to do that pregnant waddle thing. And I have to walk a heck of a lot slower than I’m used to – otherwise I end up muttering “ow ow ow ow ow OW!” with every step.

I have to tell you all. When I was in the the throes of the black hole of IF depression, I never really considered that pregnancy is HARD on a body. All I saw was the cute belly which brought up the green monster of jealousy.

(As a total aside, it STILL sometimes happens to me when I see a pregnant belly. 

Scarier yet, I’ll roll my eyes when I catch a glimpse of MYSELF in the mirror. No joke. Apparently I still have a bit of a visceral reaction when it comes to pregnant women.)

But I have to tell you – and mind you, this time I’m not really complaining – just pointing it out. Pregnancy really isn’t a walk in the park. It’s hard on your body.

And I have 60 days left.

Which means it’s going to get worse before it gets better.

And then there’s the whole birthing thing.

Yeah.

Let’s leave that topic for another day, shall we?

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I definitely do NOT miss the bicycle groin feeling. Walking hurt. The act of standing up hurt. People would look at me weird when I’d do my “ow ow OW!”

    You’ve definitely got my sympathy!! I’m just glad you got some good sleep. I hope that keeps up!

    D

  2. You have captured what I have already been feeling – pregnancy is SO hard. Every minute is hard for me already – at least emotionally. And the physical changes/experiences are weird at best and frightening at worst. I am SOOOO grateful to have gotten this far, and I don’t regret wanting to have a biological child, but I can’t figure out how women actually like being pregnant, you know what I mean?

    XOXOXO

  3. You are so funny! I love that you roll your eyes at YOURSELF! 🙂 It’s one of those things that never really goes away. Even now that we have Lily, I still roll my eyes at pregnancy news or big bellies.
    Let’s not even touch the birth thing…yours will be easy and painfree -right? 🙂

  4. Totally agree–its hard on the body and soul. And I think having the whole IF experience heightens all of that. Because you feel a bit guilty cuz you “wanted” this so much and had to work so hard–to waddle like a duck. 🙂

    The good news about the birth thing–you don’t remember it.

  5. LMAO at you rolling your eyes at YOUR OWN pregnant belly! I looooove it. 🙂

    Sorry about the waddling. Not long now, though, huh? Exciting stuff.

    I think that God makes pregnancy awful in the end to trick you into WANTING to squeeze another human being out your vajayjay.

  6. It’s true–very difficult, which makes those women who “absolutely lovvvveeeeed” being pregnant and “had no problems whatsoever” all the more infuriating. She’s called my mother in law. I never complained about my pregnancy but I also never lied when people asked me how it was going–she never missed an opportunity to tell me how great it was for her. Good for her. Groin pain for the rest of us.

    But oh let me tell you, it is so worth it! Loving that little baby is the best thing that ever happened to my husband and I.

  7. Amen! You are SO right. Ugh. The last several weeks have taken a toll on my hips and joints as well. My one piece of advice to you? Be careful getting in and out of the shower. I limped for 2 days after a slip that almost had me doing the splits. At 35 weeks pregnant.
    I’m willing to put up with it for the end result of my very own little baby, but this is no picnic!

  8. Ugh– I have that groin pain, too. And side stitches have come back–I don’t know what they hell those are, ligament pain akin to early pregnancy? who knows. The random aches and pains are both unsettling and uncomfortable.

    Oh, and yeah, the birth thing, Y-I-K-E-S.

    But, I’m glad you were finally able to get a good, restful night’s sleep. That can make SUCH a difference. 🙂

  9. I feel the same way, my poor pelvis hurts a lot… Pregnancy is not a walk in the park… I am not complaining though ( i know taht you’re not either), I know that it all be worth it in the end… Glad to hear that you got some rest

  10. I had a minor freakout this weekend about the whole “birthing thing”. Like: eeks… this baby has to come out! My husband was like: DUH!

    I have to ditto you on everything here: the shock at seeing myself in the mirror, the pain of seeing others, and the pain of pregnancy. I have been having this pelvic pain since about 24 weeks. I find it worst when I first stand up (from bed, from the computer…) but as I get moving (er, waddling) it eases itself.

    Wishing you a bit of pain relief…

  11. Is there any sort of device which might ease the pelvic pain? I know they have all sorts of sexy girdles etc, just don’t know if any of it is appropriate for you. Or, failing that, any exercises which might give relief? Might be worth asking your OB?

    Nevertheless, I imagine there’s going to be discomfort from here on in. Glad you at least got a good night’s sleep – it does make things seem more manageable.

    Bea

  12. I am totally with you on the pelvis pain – the start of that marked the start of my waddle too! I also experience this pain when I try to put on pants without sitting – it is something about lifting the one leg up and out that puts me in pain for several mintues. Geeesh!

    I laughed with you on seeing yourself in the mirror! I caught an unexpected look at my profile on Sunday – I actually gasped! I could NOT believe that was ME!!! My tummy was soooo huge and poking-out-wildly round! I kept looking and turning until my hubby said, “yeah, you’re getting there!”. That’s when I realized people were staring at the PG lady admiring herself in the mirror. I wanted to crawl in a hole for fear that I’d hurt an IF person’s feelings, but then figured I’d earned my 5 seconds of amazement with myself and my tummy.

  13. Thank you for good information~~*

    Please comeback to visit my blog too : http://about-humidifiers.blogspot.com/

    I’m sorry , If you think this is spam. but may i thank you again.

    Bye


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

