Please just let this week be over… *with an update*

February 7, 2008 at 1:16 pm | Posted in Pregnancy | 15 Comments

*sigh*

I actually left ahead of my 8pm deadline last night – I was tired, and sore, and I just wanted to get home. So I was able to even have dinner with J last night, which was nice. We sat on the couch for a half hour or so and watched a little TV… and were in bed by 9:30.

Unfortunately it wasn’t that easy to turn my brain off. I was up a number of times last night. No horrible dreams, thankfully; but it was one of those nights where you close your eyes to fall back asleep and just can’t because your mind is spinning through a million thoughts.

Ugh.

Anyway. I have my 32 week appointment with my OB this morning. Should be a quick in and out, really – I don’t have much to report to her, other than the pelvis pain (which I’m sure she’ll tell me is completely normal) and some sharp pains in what feels like my cervix (though I think they might be related to the pubic bone pain).

I have put on a pound or two since last appointment, which is good. And the movement of the baby during his/her regular hours has been fine – I definitely feel less kicks now and more… well… shuffling around in there. Sometimes I can even feel his/her extremities moving – since the baby is still head up, when I bend forward at the waist sometimes I can feel like I’m squishing his or her legs. It’s a very odd sensation; so I spend most of my time leaning back.

Other than that, I don’t expect much that will come out of this appointment. I know they’re going to ask me about whether or not we’ve selected a pediatrician yet; which we haven’t. We have a practice in mind, I think, but I need to call and find out which doctors are taking new patients. And what their hours are. And which doctor we want to see. Et cetera.

At least it’s a good excuse to get out of work for an hour, no?

________________________________________

I spoke with Mary Ellen on the phone yesterday. Honestly, she sounded wonderful – or maybe it was just my massive relief that I was actually talking to her. Physically, though she wasn’t 100% yet, she was well enough that they were releasing her from the hospital as of yesterday. She thought that she and Steve would stay in Phoenix for a couple of weeks to recover a bit before they came back east, which I thought was a great idea.

She also said that her doctors told her that likely she had the infection from the cerclage for a few weeks and just didn’t know it. And she mentioned that if she had stayed on bedrest at home like her doctor told her, she might actually have died. As it was, she was close enough to it.

It might be my need to blame SOMEONE in all of this, but whenever I think about her doctor I can barely see straight.

But. She’s ok.

Thank g-d.

__________________________________________

*UPDATE:

Thanks for the comments about the pedi for those of you who have done so. The one thing which I should probably clarify: I’m having Squishy in a Big City Hospital in downtown Boston. The pediatrician we plan on going to, however? Will be near our house. Which is 45 miles north of Boston.

So as much as I like the pedi on call, probably we won’t get to use him/her.

BUT. I think it’s a good idea to ask my OB if she knows any of the doctors in the practice which we’re considering. And if she does, then maybe I’ll just use him or her.

Another thing to cross off the list anyway!

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’d tell your ob which pedi practice you have in mind, and ask if she has any opinions on any of the specific doctors there. Mine was very helpful in naming some of the ones that stood out in his mind from the practice we wanted, and his recommendations have turned out to be wonderful.

    Chances are pretty good that even if you name a pedi right now, it may be someone else from the practice who is on call when your baby is in the nursery. And that’s okay, too. 🙂 We see one primary doctor for her well-baby visits, then rotate through whoever is available for sick calls, and I’ve been glad to get to know some of the other docs that I might not have otherwise.

    Good luck today!
    D

  2. Glad to hear you relaxed a little last night–although it sounds like you need a couple more days like that to get yourself to be able to sleep. (And I know you can’t really–but you might have to!)

    I agree that you should ask your OB what their opinion is on the practice you are interested in. Also, the hospital you are going to have Squishy should have pedi on staff that you can use if you haven’t decided. (We have this a little easier, since we are just using the pedi we have for Michael).

    Glad to hear Mary Ellen is doing better. Staying out in Phoenix sounds like a good idea to recover both physically and emotionally. It sounds more and more like some mal-practice on this doctor’s part–a purely preventable outcome. (And that is my nice way of putting that I would sue his/her ass–not that that would bring them back–okay, gonna stop now…too angry about this).

    Please take care of yourself, Serenity!

  3. I continue to be entirely relieved that Mary Ellen is ok. But I can’t stop HATING her doctors here in Boston. I talked about it in therapy last night. It seriously burns me up.

    Ugh – the mind racing and not being able to sleep is torture. I hope that you can sleep better tonight.

    Glad to hear that Squishy might be moving into the right position. I simply can’t imagine what that must feel like. Please let us know how your appointment goes today!

    XOXOXO

  4. I feel mean for this, but I can’t help thinking of Mary Ellen’s perinatologist and hoping he knows exactly what happened and feels awful! I hope he knows it’s his fault. Then again, Mary Ellen and Steve probably feel worse than awful, so that would be fair, wouldn’t it?

  5. I know what you mean about ME’s doc.

  6. I think it’s a good idea to ask for reccomendations. If you know the practice you want, maybe you can ask which Dr is best?

    I feel the same way about Mary Ellen’s doc. Oooh, that burns me.

    Sadly, it’s sort of the way with OB and women’s health in this country, isn’t it? You have to have a bazillion m/c’s to get noticed or tested, and you have to go a year no matter what (till 35) before you can get any respect with TTC. And don’t even get me STARTED on how they don’t routinely run a double beta to screen ectopics, or how they only do ONE u/s routinely in pregnancies. OR how they let women go so long overdue in some cases….

    The whole thing is sickening. We have so many rights…voting, the right to end a pregnancy, etc…but we can’t get any respect when it comes to KEEPING a pregnancy.

    It’s sick.

    I’m glad you got off yesterday early, though. Maybe again tonight?

  7. It’s hard not to see red about Mary Ellen’s whole situation.

  8. Thanks for the update on ME. I cannot believe her doctors – it’s so dismaying (to say the least). I agree with Jess that there are so many preposterous things about OB care. Like why isn’t every first-time pregnant woman checked for an incompetent cervix at some point?

    Glad you got off a bit early (relatively speaking). And you’re getting so close to having Squishy ex utero! 32 weeks – yay!

  9. Serenity~thanks for the update on ME. Tell her all the people in blogland are thinking about her. I am so upset about her loss being the result of an infection. My husband came close to dying a few years ago because of a hospital aquired infection…terrifying AND maddening.

    I am getting so excited for you to see squishy. It seems like just a few weeks ago that you were announcing his beginnings!

  10. Thanks for updating us on Mary Ellen and Steve. I love the candle graphic on your page. Is it alright to copy and put on my blog? Thanks!

  11. I found the greatest ped through a referral from a friend with a couple of kids. Check with your friends (especially any that live near you, so you don’t have to deal with finding the perfect doc who happens to wrok in the city or whatever) because they are much better about knowing how the docs are to the parents, etc.

  12. I am so relieved ME is going to be ok.

  13. 45 mins from Boston, if you are looking in the Winchester area, I can e-mail info on our pedi–he is wonderful and its a great practice.

  14. Thank you so much for the update on ME. I think it’s so great they’re staying out there for awhile. I think of them often – it’s odd how connected you become to people you don’t know in “real life” through their blogs.

    I’m so glad Squishy may be turning!!! Keep telling the silly baby to turn around!! 🙂

  15. Thanks for the update on ME. Still thinking of them and their family.

    As for you – I want to hear nothing but smooth sailing, and if that means knocking off before time a few nights, so be it.

    Bea


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

