It’s Wednesday.

February 13, 2008 at 12:24 pm | Posted in Pregnancy | 11 Comments

You know what that means? The inevitable work rant.

I’m kidding.

Sort of.

I COULD rant, but at this point I’m just really tired of it all. So instead, I’ll just continue to sip my coffee and eat my blueberry pop-tarts. Because really, I only have two and a half weeks left of this shit we auditors call “busy season.”

And then?

Come the time all my clients are filed, my plan is to work from home every day except for one day a week when I figure I’ll need to be in the office. I’ll wrap things up – contact our national “leave center” to tell them I’m on maternity leave as of March 21. Write performance appraisals for my associates. Finalize external workpapers. Copy my iTunes to my home computer. Et cetera.

And really, if you think about it… March 21 is is only 5 weeks away.

WORD.

_________________________________________________

Not much else to report, really. Work is kicking my ass. The weather here overnight was pretty crappy – so when the plows woke me up at 3am, Squishy was awake with me, kicking and squirming away. Which effectively negates the middle of the night DBTs.

But also makes it hard to sleep.

Poor kid is trying to turn – the past few days I’ve felt the head bulge much lower in my abdomen than before now – I swore yesterday morning that s/he was completely transverse. But always we seem to go back to the most comfortable position – head in my right rib. Feet down low, kicking my bladder.

It’ll be interesting to see who wins the standoff: Squishy or Ute.

Personally, my money’s on Ute – she’s been a formidable enemy for the past… well… three years. 

But hey. Maybe I’m not giving my kid enough credit.

Still though, I’m prepping myself that come March 6, Squishy will still be breech, and my OB will recommend a c-section. Which, honestly? Would be ok with me. There ARE some benefits to a section – more time in the hospital, where I can not only take daily breastfeeding and newborn care classes, but learn as much as I can from my nurses. Two weeks more of paid short-term disability, which I’m going to need if I’m not going back to work until mid-September. And it eliminates the uncertainty of when I might go into labor.

Course, there’s cons too. And really, it’s not really how I wanted* to give birth. But right now I’m going to focus on the positive.

That Squishy continues to do ok in there for the next… umm… 6 and a half weeks. (Eeek!!!) And that we get him or her here with a minumum of issue. However it happens… as long as I have a healthy baby in the end, I will NOT complain.

Too much, anyway. 🙂

*I’ve said it before – I also WANTED to conceive our baby without the use of surgical procedures. And doctors. Et cetera. And that didn’t happen quite the way I wanted it to. So I know that beggars really can’t be choosy here either.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had a C last month with my son, and it wasn’t too terrible. Right after the surgery I felt just awful about it and the first day of recovery was horrendous, but I healed up quickly and baby is now one month old and a big fat breastfed cupcake face!
    I think you’re on the right track by having a good attitude about the C, because it may not even happen, but if it does, you’re prepared. Those post-partum hormones are KILLER, so the calmer and cooler you are about what COULD happen, the better off you’ll be. In the end, it’s getting that little squishy home healthy that matters.
    By the way, breastfeeding is hard at first…but it does get MUCH easier before you know it. i’m sure the persistance I needed to get through fertility struggles prepared me for breastfeeding!

  2. I may be the only wierdo that thinks sections are better than birth (there is a reason for this crazy opinion) but I am glad that you are finding the bright side in advance, just in case.

    Work sucks here too, as does the weather.

    Boo Hiss. I need Spring!

  3. I am beyond excited for you that there is work relief on the horizon. Working from home is a fabulous idea. That way you can do what you need to to try to be comfortable.

    I give Squishy lots of credit. It sounds like he is doing his best in there. I am hopeful that he figures it out but you sound adequately prepared no matter what, which is great.

    I am very aware of how far away March 21st is – that marks the end of my first trimester. I am as anxious as you for it to get here. 🙂

    XOXOXO

  4. I know someone who tried bags of frozen peas to try to turn her baby (along with acupuncture, moxibustion, and possibly others). She (unknowingly) had a bicornuate uterus, and nothing would turn that baby who was comfortably settled into one horn. Bags of frozen peas are inexpensive–who knows, maybe it would work?

  5. I laughed at the “eliminates the uncertainty of when” part, because I scheduled my section before I even hit 3rd trimester. It was on everyone’s calendars, consents were signed. And then the little buggers decided ruptured membranes in the middle of an ice storm would be more fun, and came a week earlier than scheduled.

    Hope the baby turns though! Because even though beggars can’t be choosers, it would be nice to finally have a choice.

  6. so exciting. 5 weeks!!!!! i am so thrilled for you and j. oxoxo

  7. Check it– the city plow left its load right at the top of my driveway so that poor husband had to go dig out both cards this morning. Fun times.

    5 weeks is not terrible, hopefully. And most of them almost all from home? Sounds like a worthy goal. Your right rib, though? Poor dear.

  8. I also had a C for a breech baby, and, you know, it wasn’t so bad. Like a PP, I felt like crap the first day, but I swear that every day after that was probably better than it would have been if I’d done it the normal way. Also, recently, I was with a bunch of my girlfriends at a wedding, and we were dancing, and I myself was bouncing all over the place, and one of them took me aside and said that the only reason I could do that was because I had had a C and wasn’t incontinent! 🙂

    I do feel as if I missed out on the whole contractions/water-breaking/”it’s time!” moment, but I can live with that.

    One thing I tell everyone (which may not even matter to most people, but for some reason it kind of surprised me) is that there are a LOT of people in the room for a C. I was at a big teaching hospital, so this was even more the case, but I think regardless of where you are, it’s kind of crowded. Just FYI so you’re not taken aback.

  9. I built birth up in my head to be this thing that I will barely survive, and it was not that bad. Not once did I think I couldn’t handle it. I think that building it up that way was actually helpful cause nothing could have been as bad as what I had in my head.

    In general, the fewer preconceived notions you have the better–that way you aren’t disappointed when things don’t go as you had planned. Things will always go as the baby has planned.

    I don’t know if C-section is any better or worse than vaginal delivery. I always felt so much better having chosen vaginal, but now nine weeks after and I’m still not completely healed, I kid of wonder if C section would have been better…for my love life! I mean, I’m proud that I endured it and all, but…bygones.

  10. Well, glad s/he’s trying valiantly, anyway. I guess we’ll see what happens. Glad the work countdown is on… man.

    Bea

  11. It still all sounds very wonderful and exciting. Go, you! Rah rah rah! It may not be how you imagined it would all turn out in the past, but I hope the birth of your kid will be fantastic nevertheless.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

