More about the ‘plan.’

March 14, 2008 at 11:16 am | Posted in Pregnancy | 21 Comments

I am happy to report that yesterday I had another doctor’s appointment, and my OB appeased almost all of my fears about the c-section process.

I confess that the information I had which I posted a few days ago was from the googling I did, rather than a discussion I had with the folks at the hospital.

So the no food/no water thing after midnight the night before: for scheduled c-sections, yes, they’re very strict about it – an empty stomach decreases the risk of nausea, which ultimately will make my recovery easier. And since they’re going to rehydrate me via IV anyway, there doesn’t seem to be a reason why I need to break the rules.

Not that I was planning on it anyway. But it’s good to know.

From my research it sounds like there will be a lot of people in the OR with us: nurses, my OB, the pedi and his nurse, etc. Once the procedure is done and our baby’s born… provided that he or she is alert and/or crying, my OB will show us our baby before she hands it off to the pedi for tests/eye drops/cleaning and warming. J can go over to the warmer at that point to take pictures, and they’ll stitch me up. From there, J will get to be the first to hold our baby once s/he is wrapped. According to my OB, the entire process is about 45 minutes or so.

Again, provided there are no complications for either Squishy or me, the three of us head will to a recovery room for 1-2 hours, or until the spinal wears off. If I’m feeling up to it, I will breastfeed. (I am REALLY hoping I’ll feel up to it.) At the very least, one of us will do skin to skin contact with our baby – if that ends up being J because I’m throwing up or am out of it, then so be it.

Once I can wiggle my toes, we’ll be taken downstairs to a postpartum room.

And I get a full 4 nights in the hospital – apparently Tuesday will count as day 0. We’ll be discharged to go home on Saturday morning.

I am feeling a LOT better about the whole process, honestly.

My OB did say that sometimes breech babies can be a little “shell-shocked” by their birth, and sometimes they don’t cry right away. If this is the case, I shouldn’t be alarmed – she’s going to hand Squishy over to the pedi to be taken care of right away instead of taking the time to show us our baby.

All I can imagine is a blinky pissed off baby, looking at all of us like “WTF?”

Makes me laugh every time.

And, people. Tomorrow?

I’m 37 weeks.

That’s TERM.

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay! Congrats on 37 weeks! Glad to hear that you feel better about the whole process.

  2. I am glad that you’re feeling more confortble with your birth plan. C-section is also on my mind since my baby is still breeched. Congratulations on being full term! that is very exciting.

  3. So glad you are feeling reassured about the process. I can’t wait to hear about Squishy once s/he is born! And you know, there’s something kind of nice about J being the first to hold the baby. I think my hubby is kind of jealous that I get to carry our baby around all the time inside me and he doesn’t.

  4. I’m glad you’re feeling better about it.

    I used to work as an OR nurse and I assisted in more Csections than I can count. Your description is accurate.
    It was always one of my favorite assignments, a happy outcome surgery (vs the million awful things you see in an OR).

    There will be a whole team of people looking out for the three of you.

    xo

  5. The process sounds much better than I expected as well. Is it ok to confess that now I am not so scared about having a C section? That maybe, just maybe, I am starting to like the idea. In part because you have a day from which to countdown and a clear birthing plan. Those two things in and of themselves are great.

    37 weeks. Amazing!! How fantastic. I know that pregnancy makes Father Clock work painfully slowly, but a little over 2 weeks is really nothing in the grand scheme of things.

    I love your image of Squishy wondering WTF. Hilarious. And I wouldn’t blame him/her. The womb is a pretty cool place to hang out. The world? MUCH harder. 🙂

    XOXO

  6. Oy, reading “I’m 37 weeks” just made me cry! Serenity, I’m so excited for you. I’m happy your appointment went well and that you are feeling better.

    I keep thinking of my baby with expressions too… Today he was very active, so I suggested that perhaps if he came out he would have more room to stretch. He promptly quieted down. I can picture him thinking: Oh Mom, puh-leeze, I’m fine where I am!

  7. TERM! What a wonderful milestone. I’m so happy for you all!

    It’ll be ok with the C-section. Sure, it would be ideal to give birth naturally. But I always sort of looked at it this way if I had a C-Section….I didn’t do anything ELSE naturally!! 🙂

    OH MY GOSH, Serenity. Before you know it!!

  8. holy crap — TERM. YEA!
    you’re going to blink and all of the sudden you’ll be holding your BABY!
    i’m so happy for you and J.
    have you started any serious crazy nesting yet?

  9. YEAH- term!!! Fantastic!!

    Glad you’re feeling better about the C-section. One other thing- one of the meds they used on me has a side effect of itching. It started in my nose and eyes, and went EVERYWHERE. But they do have a drug that they can give that takes the edge off. So if you notice that you’re getting itchy, mention it and they’ll be able to help. I think it was from one of the 24-hour lasting pain drugs they give you in the IV during the surgery. I had forgotten about the itching until it started up again this time!

    I’m just so excited for you guys!!!

  10. YEAH! Ecstatic – it is the only feeling that I am having after reading your post. So cannot wait to see a photo. Wishing you so many good things!

  11. Dear Serenity, that is great news!

    For what it-s worth (sorry, this computer doesn-t do apostrophes) my c-section and recovery went very well and quickly, and I was all the way under. And M, who was the first to hold Banana (the first of us, of course), has incredible memories of those minutes. I am so glad he had them, because there were so many minutes and hours later that were all mine (particularly nursing).

    I can imagine that all c-section babies feel a little shell-shocked — there they are, minding their own business in their warm little pooly cave, and suddenly *wham* someone takes the roof off and pulls them out unceremoniously into the cold light. I would be right pissed off, I would.

  12. Congrats on the 37 weeks! Wooot!

    I am glad your doc was able to give you that information…and squash some of the fear (although, you will probably still have some of the fear anyway – we all do!).

    Can’t wait for the news of Squishy’s arrival!

  13. The blinky pissed off baby made me smile. The plan sounds good, and I wish you no deviations and no nausea.

  14. Yea for term! I can’t wait to meet your little one (on his/her scheduled day of course!).

  15. Hi Serenity,

    Ok, I’m delurking from a long time of reading your blog. First, let me say I look forward to checking in on you daily. I’m so happy for you that you are nearing the end of the race! You’re already a mommy but you’ll be experiencing all the BEST parts very soon! I too struggled with infertility from 2003-2005. Not as long as many here but I shared in the pain of wondering if I’d EVER have my own child. I wish I had found the world of infertility blogging when I truly needed it! I fought ovarian cysts, anovulation and an ectopic pregnancy from IUI #2 before we were BLESSED BY GOD on our own with a baby girl! Drop by my blog sometime and see my beautiful Lindsay. Miraculously, we have another baby girl on the way in July.
    I just wanted to tell you that from my experience a C-section was WONDERFUL! Fast recovery, no issues sitting down for weeks…lol…the incision is sore for a bit but it’s totally do-able. However, I did want to tell you to prepare for the POSSIBILITY that you may not hold your baby right away. Sometimes C-section babies don’t get all that ick out of their lungs like vaginal babies do when they squeeze through the birth canal. Lindsay’s Oxygen stats were the tad bittiest low and they took her straight off to special care nursery. We didn’t get her back for several hours but we knew she was in the best place. Since you can’t get out of bed for 12 hours after a C I couldn’t not go look at her through the window only my hubs could go. It was hard and scary at the time though she was FINE! Anyway, totally do NOT want to give you something else to worry about but I thought you might like to know. I never thought about anything like that happening and I freaked pretty hard about it at the time. Mostly because this was MY BABY I had worked for YEARS for and HOLY SHIT GIVE HER TO ME NOW!!!!!! The infertility part really threw me for a loop there. Of course all was fine after that evening and she’s totally healthy now, thank God. I just felt the need to tell you that the section is really not that bad and though I do wish “sometimes” that I knew what it was to have a vaginal birth, in the end, none of that matters when you hold your baby. In 18 years when your kid is walking across that stage getting his/her diploma no one is going to ask you how you delivered OR how you conceived! It’s just He/She is MINE and I’m Hers/His!
    God Bless….Good luck…I can’t wait to see a picture of Squishy adorning your blog!!!!!!!

  16. Hi Serenity – I’ve been reading your blog a long while and just wanted to come here to give you big HUGS. Those last weeks are filled with so much anticipation and fear. Hang in there girl, you are doing beautifully.

    🙂

  17. I cannot believe that time has flown by like this….and the description of the c-section situation sounds very reasonable and doable. I can’t wait to hear all about it, and you are almost there!!!

  18. Congratulations, Serenity. 37 is a lovely number!

    My assvice: One thing that we insisted on that made me feel much more calm about the whole birth process was that my DH had to be with the baby the entire time after the birth. So while they were doing the clean-up stuff, I knew DH was with the baby.

    Of course we’re in Japan so at some point they whisked the baby away ‘to rest’ promising to bring him back… which they did 18 hours later. I hope you can avoid a situation like that!

  19. Term! And they said your uterus was wonky. Good enough, I’d say!

    Term, baby!

    Bea

  20. Woo-hoo!!! Term for you!! That is wonderful!!!! SO glad you are feeling more reassured about the c-section. I hope it goes smoothly!

  21. Serenity, it is just so exciting!!! You made it to TERM!!!!! I can remember reading you when you first found you, and it seemed like it would take forever for you to get here, and now here you are! It is so awesome:)
    And I’m so glad you’re feeling better about the C-section. Just keeping picturing that tiny, squished up face looking at the world and thinking, “What the hell, mom?” 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

