What a wonderful birth day! (aka: The Big News!)

March 17, 2008 at 10:55 pm | Posted in A baby to hold | 109 Comments

Here it is, folks! The news you’ve been waiting for!

It’s D again, and I just heard from Serenity around 10:30 p.m., and she wanted me to do the first introduction of her SON, Owen Philip, who arrived safely into the world tonight. (He’ll get a cute little blog nickname once she’s gotten to know him some, but she did want me to share the name with all of you.) Every reader of this blog has meant so much to her during this journey, so she wanted to be sure to share the news with you all as soon as she could!

The stats:

*Born at 8:55 PM ET on Monday, March 17 via c-section at 37 weeks, 2 days

*Weight: 5 pounds, 14 ounces

*Length: 19 inches

The c-section went perfectly from what she’s been told, and she was holding him as I spoke with her; I could hear his little hours-old squeaks as we talked. He’s itty-bitty, and he has some brown hair, and she described him as being perfect and beautiful. They’ve tried breastfeeding and so far he’s not interested, but she knows that’s very normal at this point and will keep trying.

She sounded (understandably) tired and a little groggy, but she said she’s doing well, as is her sweet baby. She and J are taking lots of pictures, and she said they plan to send some tomorrow, so she’ll probably be posting some here whenever she feels up to it. So you may be hearing from her next, but if I have anything she wants me to share in the meantime, I’ll be sure to let you guys know as soon as possible.

Congrats, Serenity and J!!! I cannot tell you how happy I am for you both. I know how loved this wonderful baby is, and I know he’s going to be the joy of your lives for so many years to come. Love you, sweetie!

109 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations Sernity and J!!
    Welcome Owen Philip!!!

    Many hugs and tears from Me, P, and Kirsten 😀
    We’ll see you guys soon!

  2. CONGRATUlATIONS Serenity and J!!

    I’ll bet Owen is a wonderful little snuggly bug!! I’m SO happy for you all!! 🙂

  3. Congratulations Serenity and J!!! Welcome to the world Owen!

    Very glad everything went well!

  4. Congrats u guys!really happy for u!

  5. Congratulations! I’m glad to hear that mom and baby are doing well!

  6. Congratulations on the birth of your sweet baby boy! Happy Birthday, Owen!
    I wish you a speedy recovery, K.

  7. De-lurking to say congratulations to both you and J! Welcome Owen.

  8. Congratulations! Well done, mom and dad! Welcome to your little one so long awaited!

  9. Congratulations! I am so happy to have another Owen in the world (my bff’s son is one years old today and he is Owen!!). Can’t wait to see pictures of him! Congratulations Mommy and Daddy!!!!

  10. My heart is filled with joy for Serenity, and J and your little boy that is so loved!!!!!!!! Congratulations dear Serenity. ! and I am so happy for you. I have tears in my eyes just thinking about how awesome this moment is and how much you’ve waited for it and now it is real , you’re a mommy!!

    I knew that Squishy was a boy!

  11. A St. Patrick’s Day baby! Congratulations to Serenity and J on the birth of their baby boy, Owen! I’m so happy for all of you. Welcome to the world little guy. So many of us are looking forward to meeting you!

  12. Congrats to you Serenity & J!! (and Puck) Welcome baby Owen!

    Can hardly wait to see pics. Take care and rest up and enjoy every second of every minute. You guys deserve this so revel in the moment.

    Yay…. a boy!!!

  13. Congratulations to the three of you!! 🙂 Welcome to the world of parenthood.

  14. Congratulations!! Enjoy every minute – they fly by.

    So happy for you and I can’t wait to see pictures.

  15. Hooray! Mazel tov! Woo hoo! Congratulations!

  16. Serenity! I have been following your blog for a very long time but have never commented but now is the time! I’m so happy for you and I shed some tears when I read that all is well with you and perfect little Owen as well. I am so happy for you, have prayed for you, and today was the day! Congrats!

  17. YEAAA! Congratulations!!!!
    Welcome Owen…what a beautiful name! So glad that mom and baby are doing so well!
    Lisa

  18. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I’m so excited for you guys! Welcome Owen…love the name (and that we finally know that squishy is a BOY!!) Glad everyone’s doing well!

  19. Yay! I knew he was a boy, I just knew it!

    Bea

  20. Congrats! I am so pleased for both of you, after such a long wait, to have, finally, the joy of your family.

  21. Congratulations! I’m just thrilled for you!

  22. Welcome to the world Owen! All the best to you.

  23. De-lurking to offer huge congratulations! May you little boy bring you much happiness in the days and years to come. Love the name!

  24. Congratulations!! Can’t wait to see the pictures.

  25. HOORAY!! What fantastic news. Congratulations to all three of you!!

    xoxo

  26. Congratulations and welcome to Owen!!!

  27. welcome Owen, OMG I’m just crying thinking of how amazing this is, how much you’ve waited for this…I am just SO HAPPY for you sweetie. Can’t wait to see pics and hear all about how you are.

    HUGS

  28. Just wanted to say congratulations on your son!

  29. What better news could there be? Congrats honey!! I’m so happy for you and so proud of you 🙂 Welcome little Owen!

  30. Welcome to the world, Owen!! Huge congrats Serenity & J!

  31. Congrats to all!

  32. congrats!

  33. Welcome to the world Owen – and congratulations to you both!!!

    xxx

  34. Congratulations to you and your new family!

  35. Congratulations!!

  36. Congrats K & J! Welcome to the world little Owen!! You sure fooled your mom & dad!

  37. Congrats on your son, Serenity and J! And welcome to the world, Owen!

  38. I heart Owen! It means “God is gracious.” Blessings to you and your new family, Serenity! Love & hugs!!! ❤

  39. Congratulations!! I love your name choices!

  40. Congratulations on the safe arrival of your little boy! Enjoy all of the precious moments.

  41. Congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you!

  42. Welcome Owen!! And, congratulations to all of you. What wonderful news. Can’t wait to see the pics!

  43. Yay! Congratulations to everyone! Welcome to the world, little Owen. xoxo

  44. Bawling right now. All I can think of is that dinner last year when you had no idea if/when you’d get pregnant and now you’re holding your son less than a year later. I’m so happy for you, sweetie!

  45. I am de-lurking to say a big CONGRATULATIONS on the birth of your son! That’s wonderful news – many blessings and much happiness to all three of you!

  46. Congratulations to Serenity and J on Owen’s arrival!! Enjoy!

  47. Congratulations, and welcome to Owen! I can’t wait to hear more about this perfect and much-wanted baby boy!

  48. Congratulations on the birth of little Owen Phillip! Enjoy your new precious bundle.

  49. Spectacular! Thrilled for you both. And boys are so much fun!

  50. WOW! What a happy day! More tears!!! Since you were due a few days after me, this really hits home how close it is for our baby too! We’ll have to share stories as they grow!!! xoxo

  51. Congratulations to all of you! Enjoy your first few days as a new family! Can’t wait to hear/see more!

  52. OH MY! CONGRATULATIONS! I hope you’re all doing well this morning, day 2!

  53. Congratulations Mr and Mrs Serenity!!!! What a beautiful name:)

  54. Wow oh wow!!!! How wonderful!

  55. Congratulations!! I am so very happy for you and J and your new little baby. Wishing you a speedy recovery! Also as a mom with two babies born just before 37 weeks they are very sleepy until their due date. Enjoy every moment !!

  56. Congratulations!! Welcome Owen and Congrats mom and dad!! Take care of yourself, and enjoy every second!

  57. Crying happy tears for you and J! Congratulations!!

  58. Whoo hoo! Congrats!

  59. Congratulations!!! Enjoy your little boy (yours and mine are just 9 days apart :-))

  60. Welcome squishy/Owen!!! So glad all went well.

    Phew!

    Cari – very happy for you and J here in Toronto.

  61. WOOO HOOO! Congratulations!!!

  62. OMG!! I missed the update yesterday. I was just thinking this morning how much time you have left before Squishy comes. And – voila – here he is. With tears in my eyes, I tell you that I am so ridiculously happy for all three of you!!!! Just overjoyed. And I can’t wait to meet Owen!! And, in the meantime, see some pictures.

    Honestly, Sweetie, you are a true IF champion who has inspired me to persevere through some dark moments. You deserve nothing less than a healthy baby. Congrats.

    XOXO

  63. Welcome to the world, Owen!!! So happy for your family–big hugs to mom and dad!

  64. Congratulations on your baby boy!!! I am so incredibly happy for you. What a wonderful birthday – it is also my mom’s birthday!!!

    Can’t wait to see pics of your precious son.

  65. Congratulations Serenity and J! Welcome Owen!

  66. Congratulations!!! I am so happy to hear the wonderful news. Happy birthday, Owen!

  67. I’m so happy for both you and J! Great news!

  68. Oh! The tears won’t stop coming… I can heardly type!
    Welcome to the world Owen! What a wonderful surprise to click on to today.
    Serenity, I wish you and J all the happiness in the world! I’m thrilled that he’s here for you to hold in your arms.
    Many gazillion Congratulations!

  69. Congratulations Serenity and J! Welcome to the world, Owen! I hope you know how excited your parents are to have you finally here!

    I am crying.

  70. OHHHHHH.. Congratulations Serenity! I am so happy that you and J have your sweet baby boy in your arms! God Bless all of you~

  71. Wow! A boy!! 🙂 Congratulations!!

    I love the name. Owen Philip (yes, one l, it runs in the family) is my #3 boy name. Bo is #1, Anderson James (A.J.) #2 and then Owen Philip…. so if I somehow miraculously get boy twins when I do IVF again we will have a son with the same name!! Chances of that happening are slim, but I just had to share!!

    I hope you are all doing well. I am so, so happy for you. Now the real fun begins! I can’t wait to read about your take on motherhood — you always manage to say things so much more eloquently than I do!

  72. Congratulations on your little boy! I cannot wait to see pictures. And the name is so super cute, Owen was one of our top picks for boys names too. I am just beyond thrilled for you guys. Welcome to parenthood!

  73. Congratulations!

    And, welcome to the world little Owen! You have a great mama and daddy who have waited so long for you! Oh, and I LOVE your name!!

  74. Congratulations! Can’t wait to see pics!

  75. YAHOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

  76. That is so wonderful! I’ve been following your blog from the beginning and I’m SOOooOO happy for you and J! Welcome Baby Owen!

  77. CONGRATULATIONS!! Tears of joy for you guys! I’m so happy for you!

    Glad everyone is doing well and I just adore the name!

  78. A long-time lurker here, de-lurking to say CONGRATULATIONS!!! You guys are going to be awesome parents and I’m so happy for you and baby Owen!

  79. Yipppeeee! Congratulations!

    Can’t wait to see pictures!

  80. Yay, congratulations!!!!

  81. Congratulations honey! Wonderful news. Just what the blogosphere needed to hear. Awesome awesome good tidings.

  82. Congratulations honey! Wonderful news. Just what the blogosphere needed to hear. Awesome awesome good tidings.

  83. Congratulations! A “lurker” from Ohio

  84. Congratulations!! What a beautiful name!!! Can’t wait to see pictures!

  85. What wonderful, what awesome news! Congratulations, Serenity and J, and welcome to the world, little Owen!

  86. Congratulations!! I felt like it would be a boy 🙂 Glad all is well.

  87. Congratulations! Welcome to the world, Squishy-baby!

  88. Congrats! Yay! This is fabulous news!

  89. Welcome Owen!!!

  90. Congrats to you – and Welcome to the world Owen!

  91. i am tickled pink. tickled pink. what a freakin’ fantastic day. congrats and my love to the three of you.
    xoxo

  92. Congratulations!!!!!!!!! Delurking again to say that from Atlanta! Love the name~ SOOOOO HAPPY FOR YOU that he’s here and healthy and safe! Can’t wait to see him and hear the birth story!!!

  93. Oh, Serenity, I couldn’t be happier for the three of you! A son! Lots of love to all of you!

  94. Oh Serenity I’m so excited for you guys! Congratulations on your little boy!!!!

  95. Congratulations!!!

  96. Hi FAMILY….I am also delurking to say CONGRATS!! A son!! Born on St. Paddy’s Day!! In BOSTON!! Woo hoo!! Love the name….and every year you can tell them they hold a parade in his honor!!

    Kim

  97. Serenity Found in Owen Philip! Congratulations and well done!

    Can’t wait to see a few photos. I hope you are resting a little and healing well.

    (p.s. Our Twin A had almost the same stats – 37w5d, 5-14 and 19 3/4 inches!)

  98. Congratulations! I was getting teary eyed just reading D’s announcement. Owen Philip is a perfect name!!

  99. Many congratulations to you!

  100. I just had a strange feeling that I should check your blog today and lo and behold, he is here!!

    Congratulations and best of luck Serenity and J. Your son is beautiful and will bring you all the joy in the world. We still look at our twins 8 months later with awe and wonder and we know you will too.

    All the best!
    Lola
    (babywaitinggame)

  101. HE IS PERFECTLY ADORABLE!!! WELCOME LITTLE OWEN, YOUR PARENTS HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR YOU FOR A LONG TIME, AND YOU ARE THEIR DREAM COME TRUE! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  102. Congratulations on the birth of your beautiful son!!!

  103. I am crying. I just know how it feels, when you first hold your baby in your arms, after so many years of yearning for it. I am just SO happy for you. Enjoy every moment of your beautiful baby boy!

  104. Congratulations to you both. I am so very very happy for you. May your lives together as a family be filled with many happy moments, much happiness and good health.
    Em

  105. Wow, teary here! Many, many congratulations — and welcome to your beautiful boy.

  106. CONGRATS!! I was shocked to see that your water broke but that’s wonderful!! Owen is just gorgeous – although I have to admit, I was convinced you were having a girl! LOL. Congrats again!

  107. Welcome to the world Baby Squishy! Owen is just a doll. Congrats to you all.

  108. Congratulations to you both.. 🙂 🙂 🙂 So so happy your miracle is finally here and you are holding him in your arms.

  109. Congrats Serenity and family!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

