Hello from Baby O and Serenity.

March 20, 2008 at 10:42 am | Posted in A baby to hold | 59 Comments

I wonder when I will actually get used to it.

He’s here. He’s perfect.

And he’s our son.

I can’t get enough of him. I don’t ever want to put him down. And when he stares intently at me during our nursing sessions (oh, and there will be posts on the whole nursing thing…), I can’t believe that he’s mine. That they’ll let us leave here with him.

That only a few days ago he was INSIDE me.

So. The story.

Sunday night I pretty much freaked out when I saw part of my mucus plug on my pantyliner. It happened to correspond with a slow movement day – so I didn’t sleep much on Sunday night.

Monday morning I went in at my regular time to work to finalize a few things, then headed to a friend’s house to do their taxes.

It was when I was walking back to my car that I felt a lot of liquid. It soaked through my pantyliner, but wasn’t enough to do much else.

And my first thought was that my water had just broken.

I called J and told him, and then called my doctor. And since I knew they were going to want to see me, I drove to the hospital. And on the way, I felt more trickles.

Seems like I waited forever to hear back from my doctor. I called some friends. I sat in my car and waited to hear back. They finally called me and told me to come into my doctor’s office before heading up to labor and delivery. And when I got there, the nurse handed me a q-tip with an orange tip and said “If this turns navy blue… you’re having your baby today.”

It was the darkest blue I’ve ever seen. I couldn’t stop shaking.

So I called J, who was in a job interview, and told him that I had definitely broken my water and they were going to deliver us today. He told me he was working on rescheduling his interview and would be to Big City Hospital shortly.

Then it was a lot of “hurry up and wait.” Because I had eaten lunch at noon, they didn’t want to do my c-section until 8pm. To be safe, we scheduled it for 8:30. I sat in the labor room and waited… watched a little TV… and listened to the heartbeat of our baby on the monitors. He was moving a lot inside me, and I was having minimal contractions, so it was pretty easy to wait it out.

J got there, and we just waited some more.

There’s a lot about the procedure itself which was pretty surreal. The spinal dropped my blood pressure and I got sick, but they gave me some medication to inflate it, and I felt better almost immediately. It was completely odd to feel pulls and tugs but no pain.

He didn’t cry when he was first born – I heard them say “it’s a boy!” and heard him trying to cry. I was thankful that my doctor had prepared me for this; so I didn’t worry too much – especially after a second or two when I heard the tiny wails of our baby.

The rest of the procedure passed in a blur. The anesthesiologist kept leaning over me and telling me what to expect. I didn’t care. I just listened for the sound of our baby. J went over there as soon as he could. He was able to shorten the cord. And he kept coming back over to me to tell me things. “he’s got a head full of dark hair!” “he’s got really dark skin.” “he’s really cute!”

Finally, around 11pm, we were transferred to a recovery room. And I got to hold him. We did try breastfeeding, but well, neither one of us really knew what to do, so we just settled for skin on skin.

I did get really sick when the spinal wore off. It was bad – I had the spins, I threw up a lot, and I couldn’t really do much. J took over – we sent Baby O to the nursery with the instructions that they should give him a bottle if he was hungry  before they brought him in the morning. And I dozed fitfully for the rest of the night, alternately being sick and wondering when I’d see my son again.

My son.

For the past few days, I’ve just marvelled at the fact that he’s OURS.

It’s hard, though. Feeding was not going well until yesterday, really. He’s so little that he had to learn how to both latch AND suck. So we’ve supplemented with formula. And if he’s asleep, nothing you can do to wake him up will make him feed. Instead it makes him cry. And he’s got such a little cry, it breaks my heart to hear him.

But we’re muddling through. I have plenty of colostrum, which bodes well for breastfeeding. But my milk hasn’t yet come in, and since he’s so little, we’ve been syringing formula for him too.

Physically, I feel pretty good, considering. I don’t have a significant amount of bleeding, and my incision seems to be healing well. I’m sore and I can’t walk that well, but it’s better when I’m up and walking around then when I’m staying in one position.

And he makes it all worthwhile. I can’t stop stroking his cheeks. And touching his hands. Or his downy head.

Who is this little person? And how did we get this lucky?

*sigh*

Anyway. I’ll leave you with a couple pictures of baby yumminess.

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

We’re going home tomorrow. Home. Me, J… and our son.

59 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations! Serenity, he’s gorgeous. I’m so glad he’s here.

  2. AWWWW….he’s so precious! Congrats again, and I hope that everything settles down once you guys get home and in your own environment.

  3. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you all! He’s a beautiful little boy!

  4. This is just soooooo awesome.

  5. So glad to hear from you!! I can’t wait to learn even more about this wonderful baby!! 🙂

    D

  6. He is so beautiful. Congratulations!!!

  7. He is so sweet; I’m just thrilled for you guys!

  8. OMG the tears I am crying for you…I’ve been showing Gio and Jake the pics of O and saying, there is your new friend. You did a great job Serenity…he’s just gorgeous…we are just over the moon for all of you…you , J and YOUR SON.

    (HUG, HUG)

  9. What a beautiful baby! Again…Congrats!

  10. He gets cuter in each picture! It is a strange feeling when you get wheeled out with a BABY of all things, in a carseat, going home with YOU. Husband and I looked at each other before we pulled away from the hosptial and tried to comprehend that Son was ours to take home. And no one was running out fo the hospital to take him back. Then we hightailed it home before they changed their minds!

    He’s gorgeous, and you did a great job. Enjoy this-it only gets better!

  11. Congratulations….and I so, so excited for you! He is a gorgeous little guy! Enjoy this special time with him…the first few days are amazing (well, so are the first 4+ years too 🙂 ).

    And, take care of yourself. Both of you will need that.

  12. Oh those big eyes!! That dark hair! He’s SO cute!! Reminds me of a boy version of our lovley Ava when she was born…the smallness probably helps that, too.

    Don’t worry too mucha bout the feeding stuff. It’ll come, or it won’t come, but you’re doing fine and things will work out one way or another. I have one bottle fed and one breast and they’re both geniuses. 🙂

    Again…CONGRATS!!!

  13. He’s just beautiful 🙂 So happy for you THREE!!

  14. Gorgeous! Love those eyes. Congratulations!!!

  15. i can barely see the keyboard through the happy tears! you have a SON, Serenity! it’s real!
    i’m so happy for all of you!

  16. Congrats again!! And you’re right…he does look perfect!

  17. Serenity – he’s beautiful. The fun is just beginning …

    Congratulations!

  18. Serenity – He is perfect! Congratulations!

    I am so happy for you!

    Best,
    Sarah

  19. Oh, that first photo is the CUTEST!! His eyes! Its so wonderful and I am so happy for you!

  20. Baby yumminess doesn’t even begin to do him justice. He’s just perfect — absolutely perfect! I’m so happy for you Serenity! Sean & I will have to come meet you all sometime :-).

  21. Congratulations Serenity. Baby O is so adorable!!! and perfect!! IT IS REAL ,You’re a mommy now! You have a son!! how awesome is that?
    I am very happy for you and J!

  22. HE IS SO BEAUTIFUL!
    Welcome to the Mommy Club!
    We are so delighted for you and will keep you and your family in our thoughts and prayers.

  23. Awww! He is so beautiful and perfect! congrats!

  24. Oh, I’m so teary (happy) for you right now. Congratulations!

  25. He just too damn cute! I can’t get over the little train outfit!

  26. HURRAH and congrats. Reading this post made me recall with vivd detail the birth of my now almost two year old son after our second IVF. It’s truly an amazing, beautiful miracle. I’m so very happy for you and J

  27. Tears, tears, and more tears!! WOW!! I’m so happy for you and J! And I’m so happy for Baby O too – he is one lucky baby to be “your son”!! xoxo

  28. He is beautiful!

    I think they must put every baby ever born in that same hat! 🙂

    I am so happy for all of you!

  29. I am sitting here, barely able to see the screen or the keyboard – there are so many tears of joy in my eyes. I feel so very very happy for you….and proud of you for all that you have endured to get here (including post-C-section sickness.)

    Baby O is lucky to have the two of you for parents.

    I love him already and can’t wait to meet him. Please let me know when you will be up to visitors and I will stop by!!!

    Much love,

    XOXO

  30. He is beautiful ! I am so very happy for you both.

  31. He’s just soooooo handsome!!!

  32. Fantastic photos. Enjoy!

  33. He’s just amazing! Congrats! Sounds like it has been quite the ride! Enjoy it!

  34. Serenity – huge congrats! He is precious. The pics bring tears to my eyes!

  35. Congratulations!! He is just divine!

  36. Congratulations! He’s beautiful!!

  37. He’s is beautiful! And trust me, not all new babes fit that description. 🙂 Enjoy every single snuggle you can get. Can’t wait to hear all about your family of 3! 🙂

  38. Congratulations, Serenity!

  39. Awesome!

  40. Woo hoo! Congratulations! He’s awesome!

  41. So, so, so gorgeous!

  42. He is gorgeous!! Congratulations!

  43. oh, s. it is real. so, so real.

  44. Congratulations again, sweetie! I can’t imagine how dreamily happy you must be right now.

    Wishing you lots of luck with the BFing – you sound like you’re doing so well! XOXO

  45. I love it! Congratulations again and again!

  46. He really is a beautiful baby:-) Congratulations, again, and I’m glad things went so well…

  47. It’s so wonderful! You get to add a different kind of ticker now if you want!! 🙂

    Hope all is going well!

    D

  48. Happy homecoming day!
    Baby yumminess indeed.

  49. Congratulations on your son!! He is beautiful!!! I’m very happy for you and I wish you all the best!!!

  50. Congratulations again! He is beautiful!

  51. Wow, I’ve been so out of the loop! I just went on to my site and saw that you had your baby, too!!

    This has been such a journey for us and it is fitting that we would have our boys so close together! He is adorable and I love his name. That was on my short list.

    Congratulations and I can’t wait to share this new journey with you!

  52. Ya know, I can remember very clearly first reading your blog, and your pregnancy announcement. And now look at ya!!

    I am so happy for you! Let me tell you, there is something VERY special about little boys and their mommas! Enjoy it!

  53. My comment just disappeared… I was saying Congratulations, Serenity! How I’ve longed to say those words to you! I’m so super happy for you, sweetie!

  54. Owen is just beautiful, Serenity.
    I love hearing all the joy in your voice. I can’t wait to hear more.
    I hope all is going well with the 3 of you at home.
    Sending much love.

  55. Congratulations!!! He is so beautiful! I’ve been reading your blog for a very long time and am so very, very happy for you and your husband. You both deserve this happiness. You will love being a mother. You were born to be a mother.
    XOXOXO

  56. I wish you all the best in your new and vastly changed life as parents to your lovely son.

  57. He’s perfect, so perfect! I am so happy for the three of you. I can’t believe it will be us in 4 weeks. I really appreciate the details of the c-section – it helps me to get ready and know what to expect. I’m sure I’ll be really sick too. Congrats again and much love to your happy little family!! xoxoxoxo

  58. He’s beautiful! Congratulations!

  59. Congratulations on the birth of your new little boy! We are so happy for you! This post was beautiful! Best wishes to you and your family…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

