Almost week three.

April 4, 2008 at 9:08 pm | Posted in The first month | 13 Comments

It’s finally hit us.

The sleep deprivation, that is.

The good news is that Baby O is putting on weight. I’m so thrilled to report that he’s out of the preemie diapers and clothes – newborn stuff now fits him. YAY!

The bad news? It’s because he’s feeding EVERY TWO HOURS.

Which, you know, is fine during the day. But at night. Oy. Andย no matter how cute he is, no matter how overwhelming the love I feel for him, no matter that I’ll walk over hot coals to make sure my baby is ok…

… Well. I’m just tired, people.

And as of today, I gave up my morning coffee because he’s had a number of gassy and fussy afternoons.ย Seems to have worked – the fuss, today at least, has been better.

The good news is that, from what I hear, the first 6 weeks are the hardest. And on Monday, Baby O will be three weeks old. Halfway there.

Three weeks. Where did the time go?

It feels like he’s been with us forever, and I can’t imagine our lives without him. In a weird twisted way… through all the hell of infertility… I feel like we were MEANT to have him the way we did.

And I’ll tell you. At 3am, when he’s staring at me with his dark eyes as he nurses, the hell we went through to have him… the back pain, the rib pain of being pregnant with him…

… it all just melts away.

And I’m just left with a love so deep, so wide that it makes me cry.

The sleep deprivation?

Not so bad.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It gets so much better after the newborn fog ends, but it’s SO HARD when you’re in the midst of it. Hang in there!! The sleepless nights are just part of it…and it’ll come to an end at some point.

    Hugs,
    D

  2. Halfway there. That’s a good way to look at it. Although it does mean, wow, time is flying!

    Bea

  3. Yeah, those days and nights of sleep deprivation are the worst. But it WILL end. You WILL sleep again. Just keep repeating that to yourself when you wake up and want to cry. And cry too, because I sure remember doing that a lot when I really just wanted to sleep.

    Even to this day, when I get woken up at 630am and want to sleep for another 3 hours, as soon as I walk into that nursery and see my beautiful kids, the sleep thing goes away. It’s hard to not smile at a beautiful face, right?? ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    Cherish each moment. They go by quicker than you can imagine. Mine turned 1 today. I have no idea what happened. One day I gave birth and wasn’t sleeping, the next day, they turned 1.

    Enjoy it!

  4. Dear Serenity, boy does that sound familiar. The every-two-hours-thing got very old, very fast. Someone once wrote that, as hard as it is to imagine, the nighttime nursing sessions where it’s just you and the baby, and the whole rest of the world is asleep, are going to be among your fondest memories. I winced when I read that but you know what? It is true. Not that I would have wanted that stage to go on much longer… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Once Owen’s gas is a bit better, you might want to try to phase in a little coffee again, and see how he reacts. Banana got gas from broccoli, lentils and so on, but never from coffee. If your little guy is the same way, there’s no reason not to indulge in your morning cup… and it does help with the walking-dead problem.

  5. congrats! it’s really a shame that his auntie apronstrings can’t come watch him to give you guys some rest. though, i guess i can;t bf him!

  6. Thanks for the update.

  7. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’ll get better. I promise. In every single way, it will get better.

  8. Congratulations on the birth of ur son! I guess it’s a mistake to assume that everything will be absolutely perfect once the baby comes, right?!? ~ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Well, in reality, I think it IS pretty perfect. In its own and sometimes rather realistic ways! :o) Bella

  9. For us it got better after 4 weeks…..

  10. wow, Serenity, you sound amazing.
    It’s true, you look into those eyes and (wait until about 3 months and they SMILE for the first time) your heart just melts.
    Makes everything you went through to get to “here” all worth it. You’ll sleep eventually, for now enjoy that bundle of boy ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I feel like I ought to start training for the sleep thing, now. Or maybe sleeping an extra hour every day, now!

    Your love for this baby really shines!

  12. Girl, I’m impressed the sleep deprivation is just now setting in! Mine set it much earlier, and Sean was formula fed, so he was going much longer than 2-hours between feedings. Yet I still felt like I was never going to catch up. Everyone is right though: it does get easier. And it’s SO worth it!!

  13. You are a doing a great job with Owen. A baby his size has a stomach the size of a golf ball, so it is no wonder that he needs to eat every two hours. At least that is what I was taught in nursing school.
    And I feel your pain regarding the latching. It has been 25 years since I nursed my first and I still vividly remembered the pain caused by trying get my large nipple to stiffen and stuff it into a very tiny mouth only yo have her latch onto the very end. Oh, the pain ( TMI, I know). I did discover one thing to help with the pain though to use nursing that worked before and after. I put it on about an hour before and rubbed it in and the washed it off and it didn’t seem to affect the baby’s nursing at all. It is Oralgel baby teething ointment. Sounds awful, but numbs them right up, no pain for about 90 minutes. It was years ago but it worked, so give it a try, may work for you, I sure hope so.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

