HA. So much for our PLAN.

April 18, 2008 at 6:20 pm | Posted in The second month | 8 Comments

So Baby O has been gassy and REALLY fussy the past few days; usually in the mornings, and over the course of the day it seemed to get better.

I asked the pediatrician about it yesterday (more to come on his one month stats later!)… and she told me that it was probably the formula that was doing it. The TWO OUNCES of formula which we were feeding him each night. She thought probably that his digestive system just wasn’t used to it and therefore made him gassy and uncomfortable.

I made the executive decision last night to give it to him anyway. I figured that I could deal with a small bit of fussiness in the morning if it meant that I got to pump once a day in order to build a breastmilk stash.

HA. Stupid fucking decision.

Poor Baby O was a MESS this morning. He fussed pretty much all day. At 2pm, I had enough and I plopped him into his carseat so I could take a walk with him.

Good lord that child LOST it. I now have finally heard him get hysterical.

*sigh*

But luckily the walk seemed to soothe him, and finally at about 4pm, he fell asleep.

So yeah. That formula thing? We’re going to stop it this weekend, when I have more time to pump, and see what happens. If the gassiness is abated… well, I’m going to have to figure out how to add another pumping session into my day.

(For those of you who care – right now my only pump of the day is just before bed, usually around 9-10pm. I generally get about 2-3 ounces at that point.)

I’m thinking I’ll probably have to do a morning session too at some point. Probably it’ll replace my shower until he’s better about napping in the mornings.

Either that, or I just have to go back to the schedule we had before – I get up and feed him every time he needs it.

*sigh*

____________________________________________

The good news about Baby O’s one-month checkup:

1. He is now 7lbs, 12oz. It still means he’s between the 5th and 10th percentiles, but he’s putting on weight appropriately and the pediatrician was very happy with how he was gaining.

2. He is also 21 inches, which puts him in the 25th percentile for his age.

3. Head circumference was 14cm, which puts him between the 5th and 10th percentile.

All in all, the pedi noted that he was growing “according to his own curve,” which was great. Eyes and ears were good. Development is right on track.

So that’s something, anyway.

And if it means I need to get up every two hours to feed him, well, then, as long as he keeps thriving, I suppose it’s something I need to do.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ah, but do you think you could get 2-3oz at each pumping? I get around 7-8oz, every four hours. EVERY 4 HOURS. The idea of sleeping through the night? A dream. Oh, and I will say, drink water. A LOT of water. Helps with the amount you get, but it may take a day or 3.

  2. Orodemniades has a point — the more you pump, the more you’ll get, because milk supply goes on supply and demand. (You can get a double breast-pump, which is what I used to pump milk for my friend’s adopted newborn.) After several weeks, my hour-long (or so) session in the morning got me 30 oz., in addition to exclusively breastfeeding my own baby (just a few weeks older than the friend’s newborn).

    But some women just don’t produce much milk for the breast pump (a friend of mine could only get an ounce or two at the most, although she was exclusively breastfeeding her very well-fed baby). You can contact your local La Leche League (or look online) for some support with this, and maybe some herbs that can increase your milk supply.

    The good news is, the more skin-to-skin contact you have with your baby, the more milk you’re likely to make. It may work best to pump at the same time you’re nursing — pump on one side and nurse on the other, to take advantage of the natural “let-down” reflex from your baby’s nursing.

  3. I pumped for 8.5 months, as well as fed my kid formula. What I learned:

    1. Hospital grade pump, double pumping, with an Easy Expressions hands free bra, got me the most milk for the time AND allowed me to read or go online and pump. Without that handsfree bra, I would have gone insane.

    2. I pumped every 2-4 hours for the first few months. Typically, your supply is highest between 1-5am due to having the highest amount of (I think) prolactin in your system. The body typically makes the least amount circa 5pm.

    3. I tried everything to up my supply but nothing ever worked for me. However, there are things like fenugreek, dom peridone, and reglan (herbs and drugs, respectively) that are supposed to up your supply. But if your kid is gaining well with mostly breastfeeding, your supply is probably fine. You just gotta pump often to build it up.

    4. There’s a great Yahoo group called PumpMoms that talk about every element of pumping, particularly about how people build up their freezer stashes.

    5. As an alternative, there are formulas for fussy kids (see Alimentum and Nutramigen, which are available over the counter) that might help Baby O tolerate things better during the night. The stuff’s not as cheap as breastmilk, though, but if you can’t tolerate all the pumping or don’t see your supply go up, they’re options.

    Sorry to go on and on…pumping (and pricey formula) are two things I know tons about. Good luck!

  4. I’m sorry about the plan. Ethan would NOT have the formula, either. We wanted to be able to use it here and there just in case, and for grandparents and all, but the child NEVER spits or gets gassy and the ONE TIME I have him some formula he drank it like a champ, but it all came up about 4 minutes later.

    I hope that things get better and you can work something out. Fussy babies and no sleep are two things that suck hard.

  5. It sucks when they don’t get on board with the plan. Just sending good thoughts.

  6. I am one of those women who’s tried pumping and could never get that much. It’s really frustrating and has basically turned me off of pumping. I’ve resolved to the fact that my little girl will just go from breast to sippy cup. What I learned the hard way though is that sometimes if you pump, even if you don’t get much milk, your milk supply will increase and you can start “hyper-lactating.” Which means that you produce too much foremilk and it’s difficult for your baby to get the hindmilk that they need. This dilemma causes gastro-intestinal issues in its own right and you can’t pump off some of the foremilk cause then you just produce more. It also causes the babe to fuss at the breast and pull off…lame.

    I guess the point of this long comment is that there are a kagillion ways that breastfeeding is complicated yet very little real science to answer our questions. What’s up with that? It’s a mystery how the boobs and the baby communicate, but they somehow manage to work it out eventually.

  7. Pump after each feeding. It sounds crazy, but it will really bring up your milk production.

    Also, lots of water and don’t forget to eat. It’s easy to be so busy (and tired) that you don’t eat. I found that on days when I ate less I produced a lot less.

    Hang in there. It does get easier and you will get a rhythm down where you can pump and get that extra rest you need.

    Btw: Have you read Babywise? It saved my life. That and Secrets of the Babywhisperer. I read them both during night feedings when I first brought Bo home.

  8. I’ve had gas issues with Jim too… I exclusively formula feed. We switched him from Sim.ilac’s regular “advance” to the “advance sensitive” and then to their soy product. He didn’t get much relief until we moved to soy, and it worked wonders. He now has gas but it doesn’t wake him up screaming like the other formulas used to.

    I’d try that before I would stay awake for EVERY feeding.

    At first I pumped milk for Jim (he never would latch), so I know how bad pumping can be. I found that the right size pump shields made all the difference in ability to get milk.

    I’m with some of the others though – if you aren’t getting much oz from pumping it might be worth it to see a consultant. The fee is about $75 or so, but that is the cost of only 3 cans of formula – this shit is expensive!!! So, I would say it would be worth it to get custom-tailored answers to your needs.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

