Some miscellaneous stuff

May 8, 2008 at 11:37 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

I’ve spent a lot of time talking about Baby O and the intensity of being a new parent, but I realized yesterday I haven’t really spoken about the physical post partum stuff. So here goes.

At 7.5 weeks post partum, my incision has mostly healed. It no longer gives me trouble – only gives me pain when I lay on my belly on our hardwood floors (to keep Baby O company when he does tummy time. I figure if it’s uncomfortable for him, it should be for me too). The scar is still very red and raised. But I’m not worried – from my experience with scarring from my b.reast re.duction, I know that it’ll take a while for the redness to go away.

Weight-wise, I’m doing ok, I suppose. During my pregnancy, I gained just under 30lbs – not including the IVF 10 I gained to begin with. The first 25 melted off within the first month after giving birth, but then I plateaued. Right now I seem to be stuck at 5lbs heavier then I was when I got my BFP – and 15 heavier than what I consider my ideal weight.

So, when people tell you “ah, you’re BFing. You’ll lose all that baby weight no problem!” don’t believe them. Because it’s a LIE.

Oh wait. You mean I have to watch what I eat and actually, you know, exercise to lose that baby weight?

Boo.

Speaking of exercise. Now that I’ve been cleared to exercise again, I’ve been trying to figure out how I can get back into working out. Truth is right now I can’t find the time – Baby O and I are still are working on establishing a schedule. And since he’s still not sleeping through the night, I tend to go to bed pretty early.

However. J did some research yesterday and found a gym that’s both on the way to his new job and close enough to home for me – AND it’s got a nursery. We’ll have to see how much a family membership costs, but both of us are excited about the prospect of working out again.

And it means I can gain an hour a day back for ME. That’s huge.

Body image-wise, I’m not happy with the way I look. I don’t fit into my pre pregnancy jeans yet, which bothers me. My stomach is covered in stretchmarks, and depending on the shirt I wear, I still look pregnant. Actually, I look like I did when I was about 11 weeks, when I felt FAT, not pregnant. Now that I’m NOT pregnant… well… I feel fat.

The good news is that I don’t have much time to ruminate on my body because I barely can carve out time to shower these days. But I do want to get some semblance of my body back – I’m not happy with how I look right now.

The other thing – my boobs are HUGE right now. Gargantuan. Massive. Elephantine. When I knew that I could breastfeed, I sort of prepared myself for the possibility that they’d grow to large proportions. But really. I am TWO cup sizes larger than I am normally. Monster boobs. Yeah.

But hey. I am exclusively breastfeeding, and have been for three full weeks now. Which I NEVER thought I’d be able to do.

And as a total aside, the best thing for us was having the pediatrician tell us to stop giving him formula. Up until that point, I was always behind a feeding; my once a day pumping session was being eaten. Exclusively BFing forces me to trust my supply. Which means I NEED to have the confidence to feed Baby O just after I pump in the morning. It was hard at first… but as of right now, I have 16 feedings in my freezer stash, and seem to be able to pump in the mornings without issue. Even when Baby O has his hungry days.

(I still hate pumping though. But I hate NOT pumping when I need it, too. So I continue to pump.)

I also took my OB’s recommendation and went on the mini pill. As ridiculous as it sounds, and as annoyed I am every night when I take it, the truth is our chances of conceiving naturally are low, but not zero.* My OB told me that getting pregnant again too soon might mean a higher risk of early term labor and/or a small baby. I have a higher risk of that stuff WITHOUT getting pregnant too soon. And since Baby O was born at 37 weeks and was just under 6lbs, I didn’t want to take the risk.

Still, though, it feels pretty damn ridiculous to take that stupid pill every night, when I fully expect that we’ll have to do another few FETs and maybe even a fresh IVF cycle to give Baby O a sibling. If we even want to go that far, mind you. I have no idea when and where and even IF we will go through assisted cycles again.

But. That’s a topic for another day, I suppose.

The good news is that my rib and back pain is GONE. Not so much with the heartburn; I never had it before I got pregnant, but I’ll tell you – I still need my Rola.ids. And once in a while I actually need my Za.ntac, too. I think it has to do with the extra weight I’m carrying; at least, that’s what I tell myself. “Once you lose all the weight, Serenity, you’ll be fine.”

We’ll see, I suppose.

So really. Other than the weight thing, I’m feeling pretty good about how things are going, physically, since I had Baby O.

And emotionally and mentally, well, I’m getting there. 🙂

*Yes, I know that the pill isn’t 100% effective either. But combine it with the male factor IF and BFing, and I’m almost positive it’s DAMN close to 100% effective.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like things are going pretty much as expected. Yeah, I didn’t lose all the baby weight either. In another month you might see another loss in weight though.

    I have no scientific evidence. I cannot find anything to back this next statement up, but bear with me. The mini pill ‘may’ effect your supply. 2 of my IRL friends had more than an adequate supply and then started the mini pill only to have it plummet.

    Find time to work out. You will love the feeling 🙂

  2. Don’t worry too much about the weight loss–you are only 7.5 weeks postpartum! I only gained 25 lbs during pregnancy, and 10 weeks postpartum I still had 5-7 extra pounds and the belly that goes with it. I had to go out and buy new jeans when I went back to work because I didn’t fit into my prepreg. jeans yet (granted, I always wore my jeans pretty tight). Took me until about 6-8 months postpartum to fit into my roomier prepreg. jeans, and a full year to get into my skinny jeans.

  3. Happy to hear that apart from the weight (that I am certain WILL eventually be shed) that all is well. I was actually wondering about your incision, so thanks for reading my mind!
    Also glad to hear about your great milk supply. You are my hero that you are pumping once a day and freezing it. I have pumped on ocassion, but dont “enjoy” it, so I only have a fallback of a few bottles resting in my freezer. Keep up the amazing work!!!

  4. Happy to hear that apart from the weight (that I am certain WILL eventually be shed) that all is well. I was actually wondering about your incision, so thanks for reading my mind!
    Also glad to hear about your great milk supply. You are my hero that you are pumping once a day and freezing it. I have pumped on ocassion, but dont “enjoy” it, so I only have a fallback of a few bottles resting in my freezer. Keep up the amazing work!!!

  5. If you get pregnant on the mini-pill whilst breastfeeding exclusively with infertility issues, I’ll join your cult. I mean, I can see why you’re adding the pill. But I think you should be pretty safe after that.

    Bea

  6. I’m 8 months out and still have 5lbs left. I gained about 35lbs and lost about 20 without even trying the first few weeks. I had to work hard to lose weight after that. I exclusively pumped for about 3 months. Good luck. Don’t be so hard on yourself. It’s hard to exercise when you are nursing.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

