Book review: The Working Woman’s Pregnancy Book

May 16, 2008 at 8:56 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

So I was supposed to post this yesterday as part of the MotherTalk book tour, but I totally forgot it was my date. Woops. Here goes anyway!

It was a total trip reading a pregnancy book after having a baby – especially one like this, where it really focuses on the work implications of being pregnant. Having been in the labor room, waiting for my c-section with my blackberry in hand, frantically emailing clients and colleagues that I was having Baby O early… I was curious to see the advice Marjorie Greenfield would give to women like me.

Overall I thought the book was pretty good. I loved how she had quotes from real women peppered throughout the book – that was my favorite part, really. I found myself skipping through the text to get to the next comment, which was interesting to me. I suppose I’m just the type of person who puts more stock in real people’s real life experiences, versus reading what a book or doctor tells me. (Thus the reason I’m a blogger, I expect.)

I will be honest here too. I’m a veteran infertile. And for me, the first few chapters were tough – because I’m many years beyond the whole question “are you ready for a baby?” And her chapter relating to infertility was too focused on the “relaxing” part for me. As much as I tried to give her the benefit of the doubt, I really just had a hard time when I read a quote like this “Here I was forty years old… and I freaked out and went to a fertility doctor… two days later, I missed my period; I was already pregnant.”

Of course, she DOES make an excellent point in her infertility chapter – that so much of getting pregnant is playing the odds and statistics. And for a lot of people, infertility is more subfertility than the inability to get pregnant at all. But overall, the chapter insinuated much too much “relax and be patient and it’ll happen” then I was comfortable with.

Once I got past the early chapters, though – the book really opened up for me. I loved how she dealt with telling work about a pregnancy and all the issues that come along with it, figuring out options for maternity leave, and deciding what to do about your career after the baby comes – a topic which is at the forefront of my own mind right now, given that I’m out on my maternity leave and have to figure out what our lives are going to look like when I go back to work.

I also liked how she gave the medical information in a very straightforward manner – it was factual and objective.

Overall I thought the book was an excellent guide for a working woman who is pregnant or is trying to get pregnant – just not for an infertile. The book deals with every aspect of being pregnant and discusses all of the options and decisions that go along with having a baby. It not only has real people with real world examples, but it’s a real cross section of people who discuss their experiences.

My own personal test of the quality of a book is whether or not I’d recommend it to my friends. And yesterday, after hearing from a college friend that his wife was pregnant and they were trying to figure out their options for working once the baby comes… I recommended that she read this book.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hm. I’m trying to figure out those options, too. Maybe I should check it out. Thanks for the review.

  2. i can’t believe in this day and age that ‘relaxing’; comes up so much.
    thanks for the review. i hope you and baby o are doing great.

  3. […] Serenity Now says, “I loved how she dealt with telling work about a pregnancy and all the issues that come along with it, figuring out options for maternity leave, and deciding what to do about your career after the baby comes – a topic which is at the forefront of my own mind right now, given that I’m out on my maternity leave and have to figure out what our lives are going to look like when I go back to work.” […]

  4. Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

