Show and Tell Sunday

June 8, 2008 at 9:34 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 18 Comments

So most of you know that Baby O has been, well… fussy at night. For hours. And we really have tried everything to make it better for all of us.

I’ve heard about parents who encourage their children to form attachments to a stuffed animal or toy. Personally, I still sleep with my stuffed bunny, and my MIL tells me stories of J’s pink hippo Hermione. So both of us have that sort of attachment to a stuffed animal.

But Baby O was too young for that, I thought. I mean, he’s only two and a half months old.

Until today.

He started the fussing game early tonight – 5pm. And I’ve found that getting him to sleep at the first sign of freak out is the best way to do things. But he didn’t want to go to sleep, and he was starting to melt down.

As a complete change, I decided to give him this soft stuffed bear blanket. I know that babies like textures, and I thought that since one side was satin and the other was a super soft fleecy material, it might soothe him enough that he’d calm down. You know, so I could rock him to sleep.

I did NOT expect what happened next.

He LOVED that bear blanket. He calmed down immediately. And for the next forty five minutes, with J and I watching, he soothed himself to sleep. He held it, and rubbed it on his face. And fell asleep.

Here’s the proof:

Of course we stood there and watched. Because it’s a suffocation hazard, right? And he’s two and a half months old.

But he did not want to let it go. We brought him downstairs, after his (brief) nap, and well, he wanted it then too.

It’s really amazing. Our son is a real PERSON.

Who loves his stuffed teddy blanket.

Wasn’t it just yesterday that he was a newborn?

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, I love it! Mine both have blankets like that … J’s is a dumbo blanket, and H’s is a Hello Kitty one. They LOVE them. They always have, but it even gets cuter as they get older. Now if I say “Where is Dumbo?” J will look for the blanket, walk over and get it, the whole time saying “Dundo, Dundo”.

    It’s amazing how fast the time goes. Enjoy every second!

  2. OH CUTE!

    Very very cute. And good. Very very good.

    🙂

  3. Wow..that is so cool! I have a giraffe blanket that I guess will soon be useful…

    He is very adorable.

  4. Both my sons love their blankies, but each one is a totally different “b”. My younger son’s is like your son’s — satin on one side, and fleece on the other. I love that they love their blankies, and don’t think I’ll ever make them give them up. I still sleep with my teddy bear, and my husband always takes his own blanket (full-sized) whenever he has to go elsewhere overnight. We all like the comfort of familiarity.

  5. Sounds like Baby O has found himself a lovey! If O really loves his blanket, be on the lookout for where you can get replacements. In six months or a year, you may need another one.

    Baby L hasn’t taken to anything plush save for his thumb. I expect my kid will be sucking his thumb til he goes to college.

  6. Awww, that is so sweet! I love that he gets comfort from this!! I’m going to try this with my DD!!

  7. That is so cute! I hope this is a lasting soother for those meltdowns!

  8. Too cute for words. My only assvice is get one or two more of those! It seems that kids always loose them!

  9. I’m so glad it works!

    Our boys have “doggie blankets” that we started giving them pretty early in their cribs (maybe @ 2mos?) I worried a little about the suffocation hazard – but after watching them pull them out of their faces on their own, I stopped worrying. 🙂 At 8 months old, they still work!

  10. I’m going to have to go out this week and get something similar. We’re starting to have trouble with nap time and I have a feeling I’m gonna need some help soon!

  11. Just So cute! Lyla also loves her bunny blanket… it is the cutest thing ever

  12. I’ve been following your sleeping ‘issues’ with Baby O – have you heard of this http://www.ambybaby.com/? My doula totally recommends it for all babies – but it is recommeded for those who have a lot of trouble sleeping.

  13. That’s awesome!!! A former coworker of mine with 3 teenage kids told me that I absolutely MUST purchase a blanket with a satin edge because babies love to feel it when they are trying to sleep. I only half-heartedly listened but I did check to make sure that at least one of the blankets I registered for online has a satin edge and it does. Baby O is making me a believer! I may add another one to my registry because of it.

    XOXO

  14. Awwww! So wonderful that he’s gotten his very own “lovey”. 🙂

    My son has one of these, it is a frog. He doesn’t seem to love on it so much as try to bite its head off. LOL

  15. These pictures are too stinkin’ cute!! What a sweetie! 🙂

  16. Cute! And a lovely story. And so so helpful. I hope this attachment is both lasting and lastingly comforting. In fact, you might want to get another blanket just like this one, in case one of them is temporarily incapacitated in the line of duty.

  17. Oh my! My heart aches just seeing all that adorable cuteness!

  18. wow, what a great help and what a great idea. So glad he is loving his teddy blanket. What a cutie.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

