Nothing to see here… Baby O at three months.

June 17, 2008 at 7:54 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Aw ladies… thanks.

I’ll be scheduling an autograph signing tour shortly. 🙂

Shall we move on?

***

Dear Baby O:

Three months ago today, I heard you cry for the very first time. And when your daddy brought you over to me as I was on that table, I couldn’t believe that you were ours. You were perfect. And SO tiny. And quiet, even when you were squalling your indignation at being cold.

These past three months have been full of more challenge and reward than we ever could have imagined. Your daddy and I both can’t imagine our lives without you. We wonder what we did for fun before we had you to smile and coo at us. We marvel over how adorable you are, and how lucky we are to have you.

With each passing day, you grow stronger, more alert, and interested in the world around you. You’ll sit for an hour in your bouncer, and I’m convinced you’re trying to figure out how you can get your favorite blue parrot to make that pesky monkey stop swinging. You’re fascinated with colors; every time I wear my orange t shirt, you spend more time staring at it then you do looking at anything else. You’ll sit there, comfortably resting on my shoulder, with a fist in your mouth, and observe things around you. And even though you still aren’t a huge fan of your carseat, every time we go out together (and I make sure you keep moving), you’re perfectly content to sit and watch.

Oh yes. As long as I bring your blanket, of course. You LOVE that blanket of yours. You sleep longer and better when it’s resting against your cheek at night. You put yourself to sleep with it during the day by covering your face with it.

And would you believe that you’re already trying to sit up – at the end of a long day even, when all your muscles were shaky from working hard to sit and hold your head up all day.

I can’t believe how fast time has gone since you came home with us. With each day, each milestone, you’re slowly turning into the man you’re going to become one day. We can’t wait to get to know the person you will be. And although we will most likely make mistakes as we raise you, we hope that we can give you as many opportunities as we can. Our hope is that you turn into a strong, confident, compassionate, and loving man.

Your daddy and I wanted you for so very long, and we want you to know just how much we love you. We can’t wait to journey down this path with you.

Happy three month birthday, kiddo. We love you so much.

Love-

Mommy

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s beautiful!!! As is your haircut, by the way.

    And, hey, that cruel reader just sucks. How hard is it to understand that we use our blogs in this community to vent? Really, it’s not rocket science. If she wants only good news and happiness, she should visit the fertile blogs. 🙂

    Love to all three of you!

    XOXO

  2. Isn’t there a rule about not making me cry while I’m at work?

  3. First time commenter here…

    And I want to fess up that I am also a self absorbed whiner!

    I have been reading your blog for the last year and a half and I was constantly amazed at how you and I shared so many of the same emotions about infertility, impending parenthood, and life in general. Our journeys and timelines are very similar – I had a son a few weeks before you after years of trying, countless failed cycles, numerable hills and valleys, consolation vacations, the works. And now, in my own journey through parenthood, continue to smile, laugh, and cry my way through many of the same experiences you are writing about. Personally, I think it takes being able to admit you are scared, imperfect, and maybe sometimes feel a little selfish to be a good parent – otherwise, how will you ever grow?

    Keep up the “whining” Serenity.

  4. Love this post!! He’s one lucky boy!!

  5. This post is beautiful. Baby O is a lucky boy to have you for a momma.

  6. P.S. Holy crap! Sitting!

    Bea

  7. I just wanted to say that over the past few weeks I have read your ENTIRE blog – and I have laughed and I have cried along with you and it has given me HOPE that our next IVF is going to work. We are from Mass as well but are stationed overseas and don’t have family that would understand IVF at all. We are hoping to give them a ‘surprise’ grandchild. Much love to you, Baby O and J.

    ~Kat~

  8. Just a thought about the blanket and the part that Baby O loves. Does it have blanket have any of the fabrics or textures found in your pjs that you wear most often when you nurse the baby? I nursed 4 and discovered years later that the favorite parts of their blankets, quilts and clothings has always been the fabric that matched the pjs that I wore most often when nursing ( three for satin and spring/summer babies and flannel for the one fall/winter baby). Inquiring minds want to know. That would explain why he keeps putting it so close to his face, silly baby.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

