The cult of personality.

June 24, 2008 at 9:15 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 10 Comments

(Ha. I bet you’re all singing that song now. Aren’t you?)

I know it’s because he’s sick. And apparently Baby O is NOT the type to smile through a cold. Not my kid.

Instead, he frets. And fusses. And then absolutely falls apart in the afternoons.

There’s a LOT of crying going on in the Serenity household lately.

Some of it is even Baby O.

I’m finding myself spending a lot of time in the rocker upstairs in the afternoons and early evenings, my son stretched out on the B.oppy, the both of us completely freaking exhausted from the meltdown.

And poor J does his best to help. He really does. When he gets home from work is when Baby O is at his most fragile with exhaustion. And J often puts the screaming baby to sleep.

My husband really tries. But he is of the stubborn “I’m GOING to put you to sleep” mindset, rather than the “what do you need?” mindset. Consequently, I’ve gone upstairs on some random errand and heard the gasps and sobs of a baby who really only just wanted to eat before he went to bed.

I try not to fault J when this happens. He rarely feeds Baby O, unless I’m out for the night, so I guess it’s easy to forget that our baby is a person who actually gets hungry. Despite the fact that I’ve told him that if Baby O’s crying begins to escalate and he doesn’t doze off, he might actually in fact be hungry and not just tired.

Ok, so maybe I DO fault J when this happens.

(Not to his face, though.)

Truth is, J does a hell of a lot more than I ever thought possible, given that he has a new and fairly stressful job. He loves to bathe Baby O. He reads to him. The hunger aside, he works his own magic on calming Baby O when he’s fussy. He puts the baby down to bed most nights. He changes diapers without question. He will cook dinner on those nights where I put the baby down to bed. He cleans dishes.

And hell, he prepares me a travel mug of coffee every morning, two spl.enda and my fat free half and half, when he does his own – so I don’t have to worry about scalding our baby with a hot cup of coffee.

We’re both still getting to know Baby O’s needs and personality.

And I do have proof that Baby O can be happy.

This is him smiling at his daddy.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It takes time, esp for men I think.

    He’ll get the hang of it. But I understand your frustration. I get pissy when Trav can’t get what the kids need magically!! lol!!

    Baby O is cute as ever!!

  2. OMG, that smile!!! Seriously Baby O, I know you must be crying, but that smile sure doesn’t show it.

    Serenity, it’s hard trying to figure out these babies isn’t it? I can’t believe how hard it really is. You’d think they were people with personalities/wants/needs/? Who knew?

    all I know is that you’re doing a great job and so if J, we’re all just learning. I know that as a mom, I can “sense” what is wrong. Mr Kir doesn’t always “get it ” either, but goodness knows that he tries, and does, and keeps me sane.

    I’m sorry that Baby O isn’t feeling well. Hope that and the meltdowns get better soon.

    *hug*

  3. poor baby, I hope that he feels better soon and go back to his happy self soon

  4. He looks all smiles to me! Your little guy is precious. Hope he feels better soon!

  5. I am basically going through my blogroll and catching up on where everyone is. Baby is SO beautiful – he’s got a great smile.

    Anyhow, just wanted to pop in and say hi!

  6. Looks like you’re doing a great job to me:)

  7. Aww husbands are great, even when they are stupid! I love that picture, I’m totally stealing the idea because I’m a theif like that 🙂

  8. My mom always tells me I was a difficult baby, cried all the time for the first few months. But I turned out all right 🙂

    Some folks get lucky with a sweet calm, sleep-through-the night type baby (that was my older brother), other folks get me! Baby O will get through this stage!

  9. My little guy did an awful lot of crying his first few months too, and we both survived to make it through to the other side. Now he is freakishly happy and only cries when he’s sick. It’s so confusing those first few months and being with them 24-7 just gives us a better instinct for what it is they need when they cry. I always figured, if all else fails, nurse. 🙂

    The thing I wish I’d known then was that whatever it was I was fretting about, whatever it was that seemed so dire, so scary, so worrying, would pass and would all work out somehow. The anxiety, the uncertainty, all of that will ease up soon, I promise.

    You’re doing a great job. 🙂

  10. Sounds like J is a good daddy! Baby O’s smile is SO CUTE.

    P.S. What the freak is fat free half & half?? How is that possible? I thought half & half was half milk/half cream. So fat free must be half fat free milk/half water? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

