Better late then never, right?

July 10, 2008 at 8:19 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

(For those of you who wanted to know where I got the onesie, my good blogger friend Kir bought it for us. But I know where to get it – follow this link to uncommon goods.)

Good grief. I can’t believe it’s Thursday already.

I would have posted about the baptism and family weekend sooner, except that Baby O is less tolerant of my computer time these days. He’s not interested in the bouncer at all, and though he’ll sit on my lap when I’m online, it doesn’t last long before he’s fretting and complaining that he wants to do something else.

It sounds like I’m complaining, but I’m not. He’s getting to be so much fun – smiling, laughing, talking to me. And so I really don’t mind that he wants my attention all day. I’m more than happy to give it.

In sleeping news, he has consistently given us a few more hours in the morning – he now wakes between 5:30 and 6am. I am working on trying to sleep that long too, but I seem to be hardwired to wake up at 4am every day. He still doesn’t nap for longer than an hour – in fact, as the day progresses his naps end up being in 15 minute increments – but we haven’t had a huge meltdown at night in at least a week, so that’s getting better. (Knock on wood. KNOCK ON WOOD!)

The only thing about the extra hours he gives us is that it’s just enough to make me leak in the mornings. My left side in particular. I know my body will adjust as we get used to his new sleep schedule, but it’s annoying. I don’t want to go back to wearing nursing pads. So instead, I just feed from the left side first and do more laundry.

So. The family and baptism weekend. It was awesome.

Baby O was a bit fussy on Friday initially, but would calm as soon as I held him. I confess that J and I worried a little that he was a too attached to me and wouldn’t do ok being held by other people, but we continued to pass him off anyway, and by the end of the weekend, he was fine with being held by pretty much everyone.

My grandmother was especially taken with him, and he with her. By the end of the weekend, they were holding conversations – my grandmother would talk to him and he’d coo and “ahh” and “loo” back to her.

I even got a chance to get out with my sister for a pedicure, lunch, and a shopping trip on Saturday as well. It was so wonderful – I can’t remember the last time I did something decadent like that. Just for ME. Rapture. And of course my mom and grandmother loved taking care of him, too.

The baptism itself went well – Baby O was tired, so he was a little fussy whenever the organ would play (Or maybe he just doesn’t like organ music. I confess it’s not my favorite either). But when we went up to the front of the church, he looked out at all the people interestedly, and didn’t fuss once.

But, for me anyway, the weekend revolved around having my family here. Baby O did really well, too. He fussed when he was hungry, he fussed when he was tired. But that’s it. And even on Sunday night, when he hadn’t slept much at ALL during the day – he just went to bed early and slept through the night.

And now that everyone’s gone, Baby O and I have had a pretty mellow week. We’ve stayed inside the house in the air conditioning a lot, since it’s hotter than Hades out there. And I’m back to trying to teach Baby O that he needs to nap when he’s tired. In his crib or the pack and play.

I’m not going to lie to you – the nap thing is wearing me out. I know he’s young, but I worry a bit about developing bad habits. Because I personally can take the time to rock him to sleep during  the day – what else do I have to do? – but I know they won’t at daycare. Which is only two months away.

I’d feel better knowing that I can put him down when he’s sleepy and he’ll actually go to sleep instead of fretting and fussing because he wants to be held.

But my new motto is to only worry about the things which I can control. I’m working with Baby O to get him to nap better, which is all I can do.

And, you know, maybe he’s one of those kids who just doesn’t nap. And that’s ok too. Because for the most part he’s sleeping well through the night – which means J and I get a full night’s sleep. And I’ll tell you – it’s made all the difference in the world to me. That sleep has made me a regular person again.

So that was our weekend. I still haven’t managed to carve out time to get pictures off our camera, but I’ll do it soon. Stay tuned!

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad the baptism went so well, even with all that family around!

    I wouldn’t worry too much about naps in 2 months. Given how much Baby O’s grown up, two months is a world of time away!

  2. So glad to hear things went well! Can’t wait to see some pics! 🙂

    D

  3. Glad the baptism went so well! And don’t worry too much about naps–things will change a lot in 2 months, as Samantha says, but also, on Ask Moxie there are tons of people who say their kids won’t go down for naps with them without an elaborate rocking, singing, dancing, rigamarole–but at daycare, they can be put down and happily go to sleep by themselves without a peep. Little ones do know the difference, and they don’t expect other people to be like Mom.

  4. Sounds like a fun weekend.

    Just stick with it on the nap thing. It does get better.

    I found with Bo that putting him down at the same time every day (which is now 10 and 2) and having a short routine before putting him down works best. We still have some bad moments but for the most part he is going down well now. Knock on wood.

  5. so glad that baptism went well, you got some “ME” time and that you and Baby O are working it out. 🙂
    I can’t wait to see the picutures.

    as for the naps, I talk to our DCP every day and yesterday I asked her how are they napping? Her reply” they are not” and I must have looked stricken, because for us they go in the swings at 7:30 or so and up to bed (their carseats in our room) at 9 pm or so and sleep until 4am sometimes 5am like this morning. we’re up at 4am or so, so they are too.

    So I said “I’m sorry DCP , they sleep for us” and she said “Kir I don’t care if they don’t really sleep here, they are babies and I would rather them learn and play etc here and sleep for you at home” I took a deep breath and refuse to feel guilty about it. They are obviously not the worse for it, they are growing and learning and pleasant enough for 6 month olds. HA. We all still have a lot of growing and learning to do, but for now Daycare is going well, sleeping through the night is going well and my DCP isn’t going to burn my house down.

    A pretty good week I guess. 🙂

    *hug*

  6. Do you have one of those crib sound machines? My girls each have a rainforest one. The waterfall is blue and lights up and it plays music that slowly slows down. It mesmerizes them and I think calms them enough to fall asleep. They don’t always need it, but when they do it works like magic. Also magic? Swaddles.

  7. Glad to hear the baptism went well. 🙂

    I don’t know if there are babies that sleep well naturally, but mine certainly didn’t, ever. I settled for letting him nap ON me for the first few months that I was on maternity leave (gave me a chance to nap as well). I bought the “Happiest Baby on the Block” CD, got some good ideas from that, but still never had a good napper. He napped even less when he got to daycare, but it was not a big deal – there was just so much going on, people to see, toys to play with, etc. that he didn’t want to miss a minute. And he survived – he just went to bed some nights at 6:30.

    Somewhere around 9 months is when his body kicked in and he started sleeping through the night, sleeping well for naps, etc.

    Of course now I have it figured out – he has the exact same routine for bed each night, and an abbreviated version of it for naps. Fan, music, story, turn the light off/dim the room, leave the room and he cries for a few minutes and then is out cold. He may have slept better sooner if I’d figured it out sooner (or maybe not – who knows).

  8. Sounds like a lovely weekend. I’m wondering if I’ll *ever* be able to stop wearing nursing pads…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

