Resolution.

August 4, 2008 at 9:37 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Thank you SO much for your support in letting me know that I’m not alone. It makes me feel so much better. Ultimately, the issue which inspired my last post was really more a communication issue than it was anything else. Which J and I resolved over the weekend, thankfully.

And even better? Friday night J and I attended a wedding of one of our good college friends – without Baby O. Not only did I fit into a pre-pregnancy dress*, a number of people seemed incredulous that I had a baby 4 months ago. And J told me a number of times that night how great I looked.

And since my interview suit is a size too small, I went out yesterday and bought a new one. In only ONE size larger than my 10 year old suit.

And well, since I needed them – I also got a new pair of shoes.

Ridiculous that a couple of compliments and a new outfit made me feel as good as I do today. But it did.

Still, though. Over the weekend J and I resolved to focus a bit more on our relationship, instead of myopically focusing on only Baby O.

And for my part, I am trying to make peace with this new body of mine. Thought I am down to my BFP weight, I feel much bigger. Which, you know, I am. My body’s changed. My boobs are bigger from nursing. My hips are wider. In addition to the extra fat I’m carrying on my belly, my skin is a bit saggy too.

There are some things I can do to help make myself feel better about my body. I did join a gym back in May, and haven’t really managed to get there nearly as much as I had liked. What seems to work is for me to go after dinner, when Baby O is in bed, during the week. So I’ve resolved to try and do that twice a week.

I can also eat better during the day; cut down on my snacks and eat more vegetables and fruit.

So that’s where I am today. Obviously it’s going to take some work to bring myself and J higher up on the priority list. But it’s something for which I’m willing to work.

*”Fit” is a loose term here. The dress DID fit, but it was tight around the chest and clung a bit to my flab. Still, though, I was able to wear it, which was something I didn’t expect. A nice surprise, really.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My little man is 3 months and I feel the same way. We went swimming this weekend and i felt horrible in my bathing suit. My breasts are massive and so are my hips. I too have lost all the baby weight but am a size bigger.
    It’s so nice to know that someone else out there is struggling with this!

  2. Yay for pre-pregnancy clothes and new shoes!

  3. Hooray for the pretty new clothes! I’m 16 months post-childbirth and still don’t feel like I have my old body back. I’m curious to see how much it changes now that I’m exercising regularly again, but I’m trying not to stress about it.

    I very much remember feeling that I was no longer an individual – I was food for my son, nurturer/caregiver, wife, employee, etc. I felt lost. But once the craziness of new parenthood calms down it does come back. It’s only been four months for you. I’m pretty sure that I was still quite insane when Danny was four months old!

    It does get better. I promise.

  4. That’s awesome getting into your dress! Sounds like you are doing great!

  5. So I’m late to the game here but here’s an extra tip maybe? While we’re in different places, what I found afew months ago was I was horny and wouldn’t say anything, and when we later talked about it, it turns out he’d do the same. So we both had the urge, but it was too hard to “schedule” each other in or to make effort. And talking with friends, they seem to have the same issue – I think a lot of missed opportunities re sex comes down to “scheduling” (I’m horny when he’s not, or vice versa). And when we started speaking up about when we were, we started having more sex again…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

