Monday vignettes (in lieu of a real post)

August 11, 2008 at 9:32 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

I’ll never know the answer to the question of whether or not I’d savor Baby O as much if we hadn’t struggled to bring him home with us. Because that’s not my reality.

But I won’t deny that our struggle with IF made me a different person. More empathetic, more willing to cede control to the universe, more appreciative of the little things in my life.

Would I have learned these things from motherhood? Potentially.

It’s just interesting to think about.

And I have a confession, too.

The idea that infertility has made me a better mother ultimately is helping me heal from the years of hurting.

_________________

After the weekend where Baby O rolled over three times, he hasn’t even attempted doing so again. So he and I have been doing a lot more floor time then I have in the past. And on Thursday morning, he rolled over from his belly to his back. Multiple times, actually – I missed the first two because I was looking for a new onesie since he had a little butterscotch poo stain on the back of the one he was wearing.

But that evening? When we went to show J, Baby O instead stayed on his belly and complained and fussed. No rolling.

Yet on Saturday he rolled, again, multiple times. Without prompting – as soon as I placed him on his belly, he rolled right over.

As it turns out? Baby O is not so much on the rolling thing when he’s tired. Instead, he’ll complain and fuss and cry until we pick him up.

The boy has learned parental manipulation already.

________________

Another thing to add to the “my son is driving me NUTS right now” list: nursing.

Lately whenever he nurses from my left side (yes, only from my left side. I don’t know why he doesn’t with the right), Baby O sticks his HAND IN HIS MOUTH.

While nursing. Which, of course, doesn’t go very well. Latch is broken. Sharp fingernails HURT my poor nip.ple. Et cetera.

I’ve taken to holding the offending hand while I feed him so that it can’t do anything. But that doesn’t go over very well with Baby O – he shakes my hand off so that he can put it into his mouth.

I really just hope this is a phase which will GO.AWAY.SOON.

______________

And also. I confess that I’ve IGNORED those warnings on the back and side and package of the Bumbo. You know, the ones that say “DO NOT put your baby in this when it’s on the table or any other raised surface, you ridiculous excuse for a mother.”

Until this weekend.

Baby O has decided that he really, really, wants to find some form of locomotion. He’s not content to sit in his Bumbo for very long before he leans forward and to the right, as if he’s trying to escape. So, well, we’ve started to put the Bumbo on the floor instead of the table.

I’m not sure what he thinks he’s going to DO once he breaks free from the seat. Maybe run away and join the circus?

_______________

Not sure if I’ve mentioned it here, but Baby O has found his voice. And he likes to use it early in the morning, after our 5am nursing session, when I am too tired to rock him back to sleep.

It’s cute really – we hear “oooooooh” and “ehhhhhhh” from the monitor for a good 15 minutes. It’s soothing, and puts me pretty much right back to sleep.

Last night, as J and I were getting ready for bed, we heard Baby O talking. Shit. He was awake? At 11pm?

So J went in to put a hand on him, maybe give him his bink back.

However.

Baby O was fast asleep. His eyes were closed. He wasn’t moving.

But he was talking.

In his sleep.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The phase witht he nursing will end. Honest. My munchkin goes through annoying phases often while nursing and then she moves out of them and everything is hunky dory for awhile and then she finds something else annoying to torment me. 🙂

  2. Haha! Sacha does the same thing while nursing! I’m happy to know that it’s just not us. If he’s not sticking his hand in his mouth he is usually tagging at my nose.

    (And: same with me and the bumbo! I was actually going to comment on it once when you put up a photo of Baby O in the bumbo, but didn’t want to seem like I was bieng critical. Which I wouldn’t have been, as I do the same thing.)

  3. Before logging on I was JUST ignoring the Bumbo warning. I’ve been using it as a high chair with the tray and it is much easier to feed him on a table than on the floor. I ABSOLUTELY WON’T WALK AWAY. As of this weekend though his legs have gotten so fat that he can barely move them once he is in there.

    M’s rolling is very sporadic, too. Like twice…ever!

    As for the talking in his sleep, that is too cute.

  4. I just love reading all about him and how he’s growing and changing and exploring his world.

  5. Hey lady…just wanted you to know that you were tagged in my last post!

  6. Talking in his sleep, very cute! Yes, been ignoring the bumpo warnings too. Bumpos are new to me, so its kinda interesting the things they have come up with since the first one.

    I love when they talk. Willow talks so much, but as soon as I take her out somewhere and want to show someone how talkative she JUST was…she clams up.

  7. That’s funny – when Rose nurses on the right side (only on the right side) she pinches my arm. Strange, those babies!

  8. Lovely post about how things are going. I must admit, PB does the hand-in-mouth thing during nursing all the time. I don’t know what to do about it, so I just chalk it up to “wants to suck, but not feed” and let him go about his business. If he seems unhappy about it, I stop feeding altogether and go into a settling routine instead, which seems to work. No idea if the same thing is going on inside of Baby O’s head, but wanted to say, “Yeah – can be annoying and baffling, can’t it?” more than anything. And only one side? That’s weird.

    Bea


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

