Sleep update

August 21, 2008 at 9:23 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Baby O woke one time last night – his usual 4:00am for food.

I can’t take credit for any of the sleep last night, really. He just didn’t nap at all yesterday.

Why? Well, I had an impromptu meeting with the audit partner of the company in which I am interviewing yesterday. Luckily my MIL was visiting for the day, so I actually had someone to watch Baby O.

I left here just before 2, after feeding Baby O and seeing it that he was sleepy enough to nap. When I left, my MIL was rocking a tired baby in his darkened room.

When I got home three hours later, my MIL was rocking an OVERtired baby in his darkened room. Poor kid was fussy, with bags under his eyes, and my MIL said “he’s so tired he doesn’t know what to do with himself.”

Apparently he didn’t nap. He didn’t want to eat. He just fussed and fretted the whole time I was gone, the poor kid. (And poor MIL too!)

But he rallied when I took him, and we managed to have a surprisingly nice evening.

Before, of course, he crashed at 8pm. (I wasn’t that far behind him!)

And slept straight through until 4am, when he wanted to eat.

So apparently if I want Baby O to take a long nap during the day, it means I’m going to suffer at night.

Thank you all for your comments and suggestions – they were all good. We will be introducing rice cereal in the coming weeks, so if that’s the problem, then there’s relief on the horizon. And I am not against a modified CIO, either, if it proves we need to use that as well. It seems like torture (for me! Because really, it’s all about me, isn’t it?) to listen to Baby O cry in the middle of the night.

But, you know. If it means short term pain for long term sleep gain… I am willing to try anything.

At any rate, I am much more rested today.

And from what I hear from the recruiter, if there is going to be an offer on the table, which as of yesterday was looking good, likely it will be today.

I’ll keep you all posted.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good luck with the job and sleeping.

    My daughter still wanted food in the middle of the night at 7 months. Then I read somewhere that they don’t need it after 4 months. I decided to go cold turkey. I wasn’t fun but after 3 nights she was done, and the crying stopped!

  2. I really hope this job will come through for you!

    Good luck with Baby O and sleep too!

  3. Best of luck for the job quest, and the sleepy quest!

  4. how frustrating. baby o sounds like my brother when he was a baby, you can see the bad memories in her eyes when she talks about it. though she loves my brother and always did-but still. he cried so much that the other residents in the apt bldg made them move!

    i know you’ll hear great things re:the job. go you.

    xoxo

  5. Not sure if anyone has mentioned this yet, but have you thought about doing an 11pm dream feed? that might get him through until 7am, and eventually he’ll drop the 4am feed!

    Do not worry though, one night all on his own my son slept through the night… first at 2.5 months, then at 6 months, then at 8 months and finally for good at 1 year.

  6. I hope you get those sleep issues sorted out. I have been reading all the responses. Someone once told me that all negative parenting things should be attributed to “a phase”. I think that’s good advice… of course, knowing it’s true and when “the phase” is going to end would make things even easier to bear…

    Bea

  7. Ah, good times in your house, obviously…

    Our Jim had quite a bit of middle-of-the-night wakefulness lately (I think our boys are really close in age).

    It seems we were able to cure it by adding a cereal meal (by spoon) at around 7 to 8 PM. He goes to bed between 8:30 or 9:30, after he has a bottle.

    Before we added the cereal he would fuss about going to bed, would wake up at night and demand food, was missing naps, and was a bit of a cranky terror all around. Now, he seems happier in general – even his naps are easier because he isn’t overtired.

    Hope you find what works for you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

