You can’t trace time.

August 26, 2008 at 2:33 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Change is in the air in the Serenity household these days.

The days are getting shorter and cooler – good sleeping weather for all of us (including Baby O, who seems to have figured out the sleep at night thing again. Thanks be to all who made it so).

I have a new job. With a fancy title, even.

And last week Baby O tried a little bit of rice cereal for the first time.

He’s been showing signs for a little while now that he’s ready for solids. He sits in his highchair at dinnertime with us, eagerly watching J and I eat our dinner. He opens his mouth like a baby bird when I lay him on the feeding pillow, frantically pulling at my shirt to be fed when he’s really hungry. He’s long since turned his head away from me when he’s done eating. And the few times we’ve given him tyle.nol, it seems that his extrusion reflex is almost gone – he works his tongue so that he can swallow a liquid thicker than milk.

So I was interested to see if he was, in fact, ready to take cereal. And so last week, we tried. And he did really well. Opened his mouth eagerly to accept the food. Swallowed it instead of spitting it out, though it was pretty messy. Turned away when he was done.

I confess that I haven’t done much more than that, though. Because coincidentally, Baby O also went on a bit of a nursing strike last week, where he’d just cry and cry when I tried to feed him. I didn’t want him to replace nursing with solids, so I wanted him to get back on track with eating before we started solids as a regular meal.

And thankfully, this weekend he got back to nursing with vigor. So this weekend we’ll try some food again. Maybe some more cereal. Or avocado. Or sweet potatoes. Or banana.

Because in a little more than two and a half weeks, I’m going to start a new job. And Baby O will start daycare. And he’ll be six months old. And what with all the changes going on, I’d like to have one less he needs to worry about right now. So we’ll start solids nice and slow and see what happens.

But man. I can only shake my head in absolute astonishment.

I can remember the day we had him with absolute clarity. Like it was yesterday. I remember what I was wearing, what I did that morning at work, what I had for lunch that day.

To sit here, almost 6 months later, watching my son play in his exersaucer and have him look up at me and smile as if to say, “Look mommy! Look how I can make this spinny thing go!”

Well. It just absolutely blows my freaking mind. And there’s a part of me which wonders when I’m going to wake up and realize it’s all a dream.

Thing is, we worked hard to get to this point. I spent almost 5 years at my firm. I worked nights, weekends – hellish hours. In my third freaking trimester too. I had a lot of responsibility and gained a shitload of experience. This job with the fancy title? I have absolute confidence that I will be great at it.

And Baby O? Well, I do think we got really lucky with him. But it took a lot of pain and fear to bring him home with us, too. And I really got used to the slow time of infertility. Feeling as if I were in a holding pattern, marking time until it was our turn. For more than two and a half years I felt stuck, left behind, waiting.

So it’s amazing to me to be able to experience the cliche. Amazing, and just a little bittersweet to see the itty bitty newborn we brought home turn into this awesome little boy.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Serenity, other then the fancy new job title, and being, I think, 2 months to the day ahead of you, I so totally get what you are going through… it still feels like a dream here to….

    But I swear he is real… I have seen the pictorial evedence, and he does seem as though he has a grand time being him!!! Hugs to you sweetie as you go back to work!!! Enjoy that fancy new title!! You deserve it!!!

    Rebel

  2. What is perhaps even harder to wrap your brain around is that even MORE fun times lie ahead for you and your family!! Enjoy these great memories. šŸ™‚

    D

  3. I was thinking exactly the same thing the other day, I was saying out loud, “you two were sooo little when we brought you home and look at you now”. The smiles, the giggles, the jars and bottles of food you consume and the individual way each of you gets tired, hungry, falls asleep, wakes up is all a miracle to me each and every day. No matter , what these babies of ours are real and good and finally made their way to us.
    I am so happy for you, for the changes and the fancy new title and the realization that your life has come full circle, with no more waiting…just lots and lots of smiles.

    *hugs*

  4. He is going to be how old? How old? Here I was thinking, wow, Baby O is off to an early start with the foods! and actually, he’s nearly *how old*?

    Bea


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

