Doubly ear-itating.

September 26, 2008 at 1:58 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 12 Comments

Baby O has been refusing bottles at daycare this week, and been a little fussier than usual in the evenings. It’s obvious that he is still sick – all congested, with a cough – but for some reason, yesterday I was worried about him enough to call his pediatrician. I wanted to make sure it was a cold, nothing more. And I wanted to do it before the weekend, when our office is closed and we’d have to drive to the walk in clinic in Lawrence.

So we went in to see his doctor yesterday. And when she tried to look into his ear, he screamed and cried. In fact, it took three of us to look into his ears – a nurse holding his head, me holding his hands, and the doctor using the scope. A couple of times I thought he stopped breathing, he was crying so hard.

Sure enough, he’s got a double ear infection, the poor kiddo.

And since he’s never had antibiotics before, he couldn’t go to daycare – at least until he had been on them for 24 hours.

So J took the morning shift at home, and I’m with him this afternoon.

And I have to tell you. I know he’s sick and stuff, but there’s something pretty nice about being home on a rainy Friday afternoon, watching my son play in his exersaucer.

My son. You know, it’s been six and a half months since he was born.

And I STILL don’t get tired of saying it.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I never get tired of saying, “my son” either. Especially out loud. He’s a year old and it still sounds fake, LOL!
    Sorry about the ear infection. When Sean had his, he was back to his old self after two doses of the antibiotics. I hope all is well with Baby O :-).

  2. Sorry to hear about the ear infection, Lyla had her first one soon after started daycare, it is hard and it hurts a lot. Lyla had to change antibiotics 2x. She had a hard time after being on the medicine for over 10 days, she had serious tummy problems. This second time around my doc told me about “culturalle”, and it worked wonders. It is a probiotic so helps to prevent the damage on their stomach from the antibiotics. If you want more info about it, I will be glad to talk to you. I hope he feels better soon.

  3. “My Son” have been two fo the sweetest words I’ve ever spoken as well! Hope he starts feeling better soon!

  4. Hope he feels better! Michael never had an ear infection. I hope Willow does not–it hurts!

    And I know what you mean–its nice to “play hookey” with the kid. 🙂

  5. Just wanted to second the recommendation for Culturelle. I wasn’t told about the product until Danny’s 3rd or 4th ear infection. Those antibiotics gave him horrible diarrhea and the Culturelle really really helped.

    As usual, I can complete relate to what you’ve written. I too love *having* to play hookie with a sick little one. And I still absolutely adore being able to say “my son” even now, 18 months later.

    Hopefully your son will be feeling better soon. There are also some numbing ear drops that can be prescribed as well, just in case he gets another round of ear infections. Unfortunately it’s highly likely for at least the first few months in daycare.

  6. I hope he feels better soon.
    And yes, those are two very precious words: my son.
    🙂

  7. Sorry to hear about the infection. Hope he gets better soon.

    Enjoy… your son

  8. Oy, feel better soon Baby O!
    I know what you mean… I can’t get enough of saying “my baby”. I still can’t believe it happened.

  9. Double ear infection? Oh, poor Baby O….

    Hope he feels better soon!

  10. Hope you and the Baby O had a relaxing weekend and Baby O’s on the mend! Maybe a half-day hour was just what you needed too!

  11. Oooh, nasty. I hope he feels better soon.

    As for work – well, you managed to leave today, and I hope you get better at the balancing act soon. The raspberries are so funny. PB cracks himself up. Hope you’ve had a chance to witness them first-hand.

    Bea

  12. ah, poor little guy, (I know he’s feeling better) but that first time with an ear infection stinks…Gio had his first at 6 mnths too…

    and saying “my son” I always catch my breath , or when people ask “If I have children”…I swear I still get tears in my eyes, a lump in my throat and can’t answer for a second. I doubt that after the IF that will ever ever go away.

    *hug*


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

