Hey, check it out. A happy post.

November 22, 2008 at 10:57 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

And the second of the day.

I know what you’re thinking. Who are you and what have you done with Serenity? The Serenity *I* know is all mopey and tired and complainy.

Well. THAT Serenity has been vanquished with a night of relaxing music, a long bath, and some computer time.

J has some guy friends over for poker night. When the baby went down for bed at 7:30, I escaped to our third floor, where we have a deep jacuzzi tub. And from here, I can’t hear the guys downstairs. (Though Baby O can, he fussed a little while ago. Once he got his bink, though, he was asleep again.)

The hardest thing about being a mom, for me, anyway, is the lack of ME time. When I DO have some time which could potentially be me time, I always feel like someone’s getting gypped. Either the baby is losing out because I am not spending time with him, or J loses out because I’m off doing my own thing.

It’s a struggle for me to prioritize my own needs above anyone else’s.

So a night like tonight, where I can just hang out by myself?

Rapture.

And right now, I feel like I almost remember what it was like as the old Serenity.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh poker night! A mothers gift from god.

    I do like my “me” time once in a while. My nails always look so pretty after, which doesn’t last very long, but hey, for a few hours after “me time”, they look lovely 🙂

    Hope you stay relaxed and are able to write lots more happy posts 🙂

  2. Nice. I think that is one of the things I’m most worried about for when the baby comes. How I’m going to juggle everything. I will be working again after 3 months, and I currently do a lot of ‘me’ things… everyone keeps telling me that it’s a HUGE change when the baby comes – and am I ready? Who the hell knows!? How can you really prepare anyway? But looks like making time for me time is a big peice of sanity, huh?

  3. I know, I get a little giddy whenever I realize I have some time. To do WHATEVER I want. Sometimes I spend the whole time paralyzed with indecisiveness…….


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

