‘Tis the season.

November 22, 2008 at 11:26 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

This week has been pretty damn cold here in Massachusetts. And dry, too.

My skin has turned to dry cracked leather. The kind where, any time you bump your hand, you end up with a cut that never seems to heal. (In fact, as I type this, I have three band aids on two separate fingers.)

Aaaaaaaa-nyway. Suffice it to say that my skin is dry and chapped.

And whereas Baby O gets a warm room with a humidifier that goes 24-7, J and I don’t do much to make things less dry in our own room.

And seriously. Who has the time to moisturize these days? Not me – I’ve managed to trim my morning routine down to 25 minutes from start to finish. Which I accomplish usually while Baby O yells “A-ba-ba-ba-BA!” at me through the baby monitor every morning.

So yeah. Dry skin.

I’ve also taken some steps in order to stem the slowing of my production. I’ve added another fenugreek tablet to every meal, so I’m now taking three tabs three times a day. I’ve almost doubled my water intake. I eat oatmeal every morning, despite hating it so much that it makes me gag some days.

And I decided to continue pumping twice daily at work. And increased the session by five minutes each time.

(*warning* The below is pretty gross. So click away now if you feel squeamish, k?)

So yesterday I went in for my morning pump session. At work. And I felt a bit of a twinge on my right ni.pple, but didn’t really think anything of it.

Until I looked down.

And I saw BLOOD in the horn of my pump.

Apparently my ni.pples haven’t escaped the dry weather either. They’re cracked. And bleeding. Despite the fact that I haven’t used soap on the damn things since… hrm… September of LAST year.

Luckily it wasn’t enough to really freak me out. Or make me worry that Baby O would turn into vampire baby.

But seriously. Ewwwwwww.

I have no idea what to do about it. I obviously can’t avoid pumping, especially not now, given that I need to stem the decrease in my supply. I’ve been applying lanolin in the hopes that it’ll at least help, a bit.

Maybe it’s time to get a humidifier in our own room, too.

The good news is that the focus on trying to maintain my supply worked. At least for last week, anyway. I feel fuller. My pumping output has risen slightly.

Still. It just seems wrong that I have to give up my blood in order to feed my kid.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hugs!

    Not sure what else you can do, besides getting that humidifier for yourself, except to make sure you’re drinking enough water to hydrate from the inside. Yeah, put lotion on your hands, but only so much you can do…elsewhere.

  2. Aww sweetie, no advice here, as Turtle didn’t want mommy, and I still leak after 10 months!! I hear that the Lashino(sp) is great to use for dry nips… I have some, and it seemed to do a good job!!

    Hang in there sweetie, you are doing a great job with him!!!

  3. Lansinoh. Use it, it’s magic. You don’t even have to wipe it off before Baby O eats.

    I agree with Rebel, you’re doing a great job!!

  4. I have no advice, but I can tell you that this post inspired me to get a humidifier for our room in addition to the one for Harry’s. So thanks for that!

  5. So you might want to try different funnels. I use the medela soft fits and they are a lot more comfortable than the hard ones and there isn’t that ledge to rub up against which can cause bleeding… Also there are these funnels called pumpin pals, they were about the same comfort level to me as the soft fits but some people really like them.

    http://www.pumpinpal.com/

    Hope that helps…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

