My big little boy.

January 9, 2009 at 2:43 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Baby O had his nine month wellbaby appointment on Tuesday afternoon. (Despite the fact that he is only eight days away from being 10 months.)

He’s doing great. He’s now just over 18lbs and 28 1/4 inches long. Which keeps him in the 25th percentile, but he’s growing well according to his own little curve, which again is all I can ask for.

He delighted in sitting on the examining table and shredding the tissue paper, and was VERY interested in the doctor’s stethoscope, which kept him from crying at the indignity of having his breathing examined.

Course, as soon as she looked into his ears? It was all over. Poor kid.

But he’s doing really well.

Well enough, in fact, that he’s 3/4 of an inch away from being at the maximum height allowed for his infant seat.

Which means that my plans for purchasing a convertible seat for him in the next couple of months have been made priority in the next few weeks.

I’m actually pretty excited to stop lugging him around in the bucket – he’s gotten really heavy, and it’s just awkward to carry him in it places. So for the most part, when I take him out, I put him in and take him out of his seat in the car anyway.

But it’s bittersweet, too. I vividly remember lifting him in his carseat the day we left the hospital. Briefly, of course – because I had just had a C-section.

He looked like this.

Goodness, he was SO LITTLE, wasn’t he? I remember when I lifted the carseat, it felt like it was empty. Because he weighed nearly nothing at all.

And to see him in it now, his feet hanging over the edge… it’s totally, utterly NUTS.

How did this happen? Wasn’t he just a newborn yesterday? How is it possible that I have a 10 month old?

It’s ridiculous how quickly time has passed. I worry sometimes, just a little, that if I blink, I’m going to miss it all.

But anyway.

He’s doing fantastic. His one tooth has grown in a bit, and I think he’s getting the second one – he’s been squeaking his gums on anything that goes in his mouth.

Still no crawling, but he’s worked out a neat little hybrid of rolling and pushing himself backwards on his belly which seems to get him anywhere he likes to go.

And my kid is an EATER. In literally the past week, he has fallen in love with self-feeding; right now his current repertoire is puffs and cheese, so I’m going to have to expand his horizons into more finger foods quickly. We’re going to try pasta and baby peas this weekend, both of which he’s had pureed.

And g-d forbid we have him in his highchair and we’re eating when he’s not. He reaches his hand out towards us for whatever it is we’re eating so he can try a piece, too.

He’s still not much of a sleeper, but it’s getting SO much better these days. At bedtime, which is usually between 6:30 and 7:30 he goes down easily, without complaint, and he sleeps through until between 4 and 5am, when he requires a bottle. Usually he’ll doze until about 6:30 or 7am when he’s up for the day.

And on the weekends, he has two pretty solid naps of an hour or more.

We’re working on scaling back the early morning bottle by trying to feed him a bit more solids at night and encourage him to have a bottle before bed, which really is hit or miss right now. And we’ve started to replace his pacifier the first time he cries in the early morning, too, but it doesn’t seem to last too long – he’s hungry at that point. Hopefully we’ll get there in the coming months.

Overall, we’re in a great place right now. Both J and I feel more comfortable in our role as parents.

And I know this is gushing. But. I am so HAPPY. I feel content. Fulfilled. I love our son more and more every day, in ways I never thought possible to love anyone.

My only regret? It’s all just happening so fast.

I just want it to hit the pause button. Just for a bit.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Isn’t it amazing the difference just a few months can make? Looking at Baby O in the car seat, I’d almost forgotten they start out that small! 🙂

    I truly am glad for the sentiments shared in the last few paragraphs — just beautiful.

  2. Your post did two things for me:

    1) Made me get on the phone and call for Willow’s well visit appointment. I forgot to set it up last time.
    2) Made me almost tear up (Note to self, do not read an emotional post while on hold with the pediatrician’s office, who plays the theme from Somewhere In Time while you are on hold).

    Time goes by so fast. I am right now wishing I could remember all those baby things about my son—I am planning his 10th birthday party right now…

    I know what you mean about the car seat buckets. They are a handful. We have a convertible seat we bought, but we haven’t even gotten it out of the box yet. I guess we will have to soon…

    Glad to hear you guys are doing so well!

  3. Before becoming a mom, I always thought people were exaggerating when they warned you how quickly they’d grow. It turns out that they were totally right.

  4. And you think that he is not a good sleeper?? OMG, I Lyla slept that early i would be one happy mamma!!

    He si so cute Serenity, you are doing such a good job!!!! Lyla will be soon 10 months as well. Time flies

  5. It IS amazing how quickly they grow! And how the time flies. I wanted to stop by and say thanks for the back advice. I took your advice and balled up my pashmina and stuck it between my shoulder blades. Still not feeling great, but it’s actually tolerable right now. I may bring in a small pillow next week and see if that works even better. THANKS!

  6. Never apologize for gushing!! 🙂

    It sounds like you are very content and that is a wonderful place to be.

  7. Oh Serenity, I know! The time just flies! It’s heartbreaking and wonderful all at the same time. I love that you are content. Isn’t it nice to not wish for the next thing? To just be content in the moment. That is wonderful.

  8. it does go by sooooooooo fast!he was so little!!!!!

  9. I agree they really should come with a pause button! It’s amazing how fast they grow!

  10. I also thought everyone was exaggerating about time flying, but wow, it seems like you just had Baby O. a few months ago, and I can’t believe the girls are already 9 weeks old.

    And he sleeps from 7:30 to 5? Sounds HEAVENLY.

  11. Awwwwwwwwwww he was so tiny!

  12. If you find one of those “pause buttons” will you post me one over to Paris please, I’ve been looking everywhere for one, no luck so far! 🙂

  13. It’s hard to believe they were that small so recently! My mom and I were just saying today that Baby A seems more like a toddler than an infant at this point. It’s unbelievable. That photo really puts things in perspective about how far we’ve come!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

