Ear we go…

January 30, 2009 at 11:47 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 18 Comments

After much discussing, research, and talking with friends and family, J and I decided last week that we’d move forward with tubes for Baby O’s ears. Because we’re working parents and it’s not practical for one of us to quit our job to avoid another ear infection. Because he’s stuffy again which will likely lead to another ear infection in short order. Because it’s winter, and it’s cold and dark and it’s nearly impossible to think that we can avoid him getting sick.

But mostly it’s because his ear infections give him a lot of pain, and having the tubes will help his ears better drain. AND treatment of any ear infections afterwards will be local antibiotic instead of a general antibiotic.

The benefits of doing the procedure far outweigh the risks.

It’s scheduled for next Thursday. We need to be at the hospital at 6:30am, and the instructions were clear that Baby O cannot eat or drink after midnight. (Which will be HARD – Baby O gets a bottle every morning at 5am. BUT! To manage this, I will give him a bottle at 11:30 the night before so that he’s not as ravenous.)

The good news is that he can take his beloved bear blanket into the room with him. And I will be with him while they adminster the anesthesia. And the procedure will take ten minutes, and we’ll be able to see him immediately once he wakes up.

So that’s that. It’s not the best day for me to be taking off work, since that’s the morning of our earnings call, but it can’t be helped. J has taken the whole day off, so he will stay with Baby O if I need to go into work in the afternoon.

I have complete confidence that we’ve made a good choice for Baby O.

Doesn’t mean I’m not a little nervous, though.

I’ll keep you all posted.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like you made a well thought out decision.
    Nerve-wracking! About a week from now I bet you’ll feel a huge relief.

  2. Hi – I am a LONG time reader, but very infrequent commenter. I just had to comment here!

    My son ( a little younger than O – 8 months), has an ENT appt at Children’s (we are in the Boston area too!) after we get back from FL @ the end of February. I am a nervous wreck, but he has had 2 hospitals stays for sickness and just narrowly avoided one 2 weeks ago. Besides his ears (5 infections since Sept), he also has had lots of respitory issues.

    Keep us posted – I am super anxious about the whole thing. Our pediatrician told us to tell the ENT we just want tubes, but I am nervous.

    Good Luck!
    Sarah

  3. I’m beginning to wonder if they will recommend them for Baby M. He just had his second possibly third one since October. I’m not sure if that is a lot, but it seems like everytime he has gotten a cold he has gotten an ear infection. I had them chronically as a child (not as a baby though).

    I’ll be thinking of you guys on Thursday and in the end it will make for a much happier, healthier Baby O!

  4. Solid plan. My only word of advice is that it may be a little scary to see Baby O “go under”. I have no personal experience but when my sister witnessed my nephew it was scary, even though the anest. said he was fine.

  5. Good luck! I’m sure it’ll go well, and relief is on the other side. 🙂

    D

  6. Glad you came to a decision that you’re happy with…sounds like a good one.

    GOOD LUCK!

  7. They will likely give him a “feel-good” pill before taking him back to make him less anxious. I think the drug of choice is called Verset (sp?)….Anyway, it will take a couple of minutes, but he will start to be real happy and loopy…(like a drunk baby, really). In my experience that is when they took him back to get prepared for surgery. My son’s meds were administered via mouth, I believe. From that point when he went back everything took about 20 minutes before they called us on our cell phone.

    My husband works in that department, so they may have called us quicker because he talked to the surgeon and anesthesiologists –He works with them everyday, so I don’t know if that affected how quickly they called us.

    Good luck with everything!!

  8. Good decision serenity! My thoughts will be with you on Thurs, but I know it’ll go smoothly and this will all soon become a distant memory.
    Hugs!

  9. You are doing the best for him. I will be thinking of you on Thursday!

  10. Just found out today from the paediatrician that Baby d has an ear infection in his left ear. His first, but the poor boy does suffer!

    Hoping all goes well with the intervention, let us know how it works out.

    x

  11. You will be thankful for this choice once you see the benefit for O.

    I hope everything goes off without a hitch and he won’t have any more problems with his little ears.

  12. I know this was a hard decision for you. I’ll be thinking of all you!!! ((HUGS))

  13. I made the same decisio… good luck next week

  14. How scary to have to send your wee one off for an operation, even though it’s only a little one and only takes a minute.

    Are you still giving breastmilk? If so, he should be able to have that MUCH closer to the time of the op, as it’s digested quickly.

  15. Good luck. I suspect tubes are in Baby L’s future, too. We have an ENT appointment next month to see what’s what.

  16. You made the right decision. Our baby had constant ear infections, even had one when they put the tubes it. They feel so much better in the long run. Plus the ears drain so you will know when they are infected.
    One thing to be ready for is when he wakes up from anesthesia…. he will be very fussy. Our dr said they feel strange from being under. It takes about an hour for them to relax and get back to normal.
    The actual surgery doesn’t take long at all. I was shocked when they called our names and said our daughter was done.

  17. I can understand why you’re a little nervous … the practical details of watching your son go under, etc. sound pretty intimidating. But these doctors do this all the time and Baby O will be better off for it. Still, I’m sure you can’t wait for this week to be over!

  18. Good luck! I would be a total wreck! I am sure Baby O will do great!

    Take care


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

