Sleep and thinking.

February 19, 2009 at 9:20 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 12 Comments

I must have looked at that video 100 times yesterday. Because Baby O is SO DAMN CUTE. And it made me happy.

I love him so damn much.

With the sleeping thing, I shouldn’t really complain. Because when he’s awake in the middle of the night, he’s pretty good about playing, not screaming, and he does eventually put himself back to sleep.

It’s just the PRINCIPLE of it all. I turn the monitor down, and as long as I’m tired enough, I fall back asleep myself.

But more often than not, it takes me a while to fall back asleep. And in the meantime, I’m thinking about things.

This morning, for example? It was his tubes surgery. Which is scheduled for tomorrrow.

I’m nervous. Which isn’t surprising, considering that I get nervous before EVERY retrieval and any other surgical procedure I’ve had. Heck, sometimes I get nervous about my yearly paps.

From what I’ve heard and read, it can be a little freaky to watch your baby go under the anesthesia. I’m preparing myself for that. And though I believe they’ll bring us back to see him once he’s awake, I’ve also heard that sometimes babies are pretty out of it when they first wake up, too.

So I’m just preparing myself.

I know the long term gain will be worth the discomfort we’ll both experience tomorrow. He has had fluid in his ears now for more than 5 months; consecutive ear infections for that amount of time. Pressure in his ears is his reality right now. I have to think that ridding him of that ear pain will do SO much for him.

Doesn’t mean I’m not nervous though.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wishing good luck for tomorrow!

  2. you’ll be fine… It’s not as bad as you think it might be. Is it awful that part of me thought it was funny? I guess I saw a little of “drunk-me” in my son when he was on Versat. Obviously it was also scary because, MY SON WAS DRUGGED UP. It could be worse though…he could have been unhappy and screaming (what would have happened without the meds).

  3. wishing you lots of luck tomorrow and Baby O too. It’s only natural to worry!!! But if this works and Baby O gets rid of that pressure, you will all be happier.

    will be thinking of you and sending lots of love!!!

  4. Good luck with the surgery! Thinking of you guys…

  5. Wishing all the best tomorrow! I almost bet once the tubes go in he will sleep better – at least that is what I’ve heard.

  6. GL tomorrow to you and Baby O!!

  7. We just had our tube surgery last week. It was not as bad as I thought it would be. I am a MAJOR worrier and was petfied of the whole thing – but it actually was pretty easy.
    First they gave him a squirt of what they call “silly juice” up his nose, and he got verrrrrry relaxed and happy. So happy that he didnt care when they wheeled him away from me. (but I was crying!). I didnt see them administer the actual anesthesia.
    Then when he was just starting to wake up they brought us back to see him. He was out of it and cranky, but not too bad. You could tell he felt woozy. I nursed him for about 1/2 hour then he was right as rain. I think they offer juice or clear fluid if you want. Theyhad us sit for about 45 minutes. By the time we left the hospital, he was playing like nothing had even happened! Phew! You’ll see – it goes by fast!

  8. I can only imagine what you are feeling in anticipation of tomorrow. I will be thinking of you all and praying for a quick procedure and recovery. ((LOTS OF HUGS))

  9. Good luck! I know you’ll be reporting back tomorrow about how easy this was!

    D

  10. Good luck tomorrow!

  11. Wishing you and Baby O the best for tomorrow. I’ll be thinking of you!

  12. Thinking of you tomorrow! Let us know how it goes.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

