Why my kid might win an Oscar someday.

March 16, 2009 at 4:08 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

When Baby O wants to be picked up, he’ll look at us, usually from across the room, and whine a bit. Or fuss.

But in true parenting style, I’ll say something like “but you can crawl now! Come here and I’ll pick you up!”

With a big smile and a sweeping come-hither motion.

And usually he does, fussing and whining all the way, until he’s safely in my arms. And then two seconds later he wants down. And wants to be across the room. Where he fusses yet again that he wants to be picked up.

Lather, rinse, repeat.

Now that he’s cruising, though, we’re a little more watchful. Especially when he’s tired and prone to bumping his head and closing his fingers in drawers.

And when he does hurt himself, we’ll scoop him up when he’s crying. And kiss the boo boo for him. And he’ll rest in our arms for a second before he wants down again.

Well.

This weekend he was crawling in the dining room while I was chatting with my mother. I had an eye on him when I saw him seemingly slip to his side, gently bumping his head on the floor. But he cried, so I went over and picked him up, kissed his boo boo, and snuggled with him until he wanted to get back down.

FIVE MINUTES LATER, he did the same.very.thing.

By that point, though, I was watching him a little closer, and I noted that his “slip” from crawling was lowering himself onto his belly, where he then rolled OVER, and LOWERED HIS HEAD TO THE FLOOR. Quickly. But very controlled. And the cry? Sounded a little fake to me.

So instead of getting up immediately, I just watched him. And sure enough, he stopped crying, and looked up at me.

And I looked at my mother and said “did you just see that?”

Sure enough, he did it AGAIN not more than two minutes later. And this time he cried hard. With real tears and everything.

Probably because the first fake tears didn’t move me.

Apparently, almost one is not too young for a little parental manipulation.

Hoo boy.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is one smart boy!!

  2. I can’t help but be impressed!

  3. The next Robert Redford!

  4. If it weren’t for the fact that we’ve never met IRL, I’d say Sean taught him that. Because seriously….Sean is a PRO at parental manipulation. It amazes me what Sean can do (or not do) that brings real tears to his eyes just long enough to get some cuddle time. I wonder if he realizes all he has to do is come ask for some cuddle time and I’d be MORE than happy to accommodate him…Hmm…

  5. The little… hysterical 🙂 I’ll have to watch out for that with mine!

    x

  6. Dear Serenity, this post really had me smiling — yes, he is one smart boy and you’d better watch out, things are only going to get worse when he starts pushing all your buttons on purpose!

    I’m back, finally, and de-lurking. I hope you and your husband are able to carve out a bit of time and work-free space to discover each other again. It’s so important, especially when stress levels are extreme. Hoping your getaway brings you everything you want and need. XO

  7. LOL… you’ve found your match


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

