While we’re talking about new territory…

March 30, 2009 at 8:03 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

… let’s discuss toddlerhood.

Because all of a sudden, Baby O is now a toddler. For example. This past weekend, we must have made the SAME circuit in our house 35 times.

Start in the living room. Crawl into the dining room, and pull up on the windowseat near the umbrella plant.

Look back at mama or dada with a mischievous grin, and despite their shaking head, grab for the plant anyway.

Drop down to knees and crawl away into the kitchen. Make a beeline for the cat food and water dish. When mama or dada blocks the way, roll over and yell and fuss and arch. Then look up at them and smile.

Roll over onto belly and crawl for the safety gate blocking access to the litterpan. Stand up and bounce on toes, shrieking with happiness.

Drop down and crawl into the bathroom. Grab open door and push it shut. Pull it open again. Push it shut. Pull it open.

When bored, crawl back out. Beeline for the cat’s food and water dish. Roll over and arch and scream when mama or dada blocks access.

Crawl through kitchen, dining room, living room and foyer. Beeline for the stairs. Climb the stairs, one at a time. Get to the landing and look back at mama or dada with a mischievous grin. Grab for the cat’s dry food.

Shriek and arch when mama or dada moves back down to the living room.

Rinse, repeat.

When I was pregnant, I worried that I wouldn’t be a very good mom. See, I don’t have what you call patience. J has always been the patient one.

I was surprised to see this weekend, though, that our roles were reversed. While I was content to follow Baby O up and down and around and through the house, J was a lot more impatient with the whole rigamarole.

Thing is, it’s only going to get worse, really, as Baby O gets bigger and taller and wants to explore more. Right now, despite the arching when he’s unhappy with us, he’s pretty quick to be distracted. As he gets older it’s going to be harder to redirect.

I just love watching him learn. Repetition is the hallmark of toddlerhood; Baby O is learning something new every time he makes a circuit around our house. It’s fun to learn with him, even if by 5pm I roll my eyes when he tries for the cat food for the umpteenth time.

But also, it amazes me at how quickly he’s turning into a PERSON. He understands SO much right now. He KNOWS before he does something that he’s not allowed to do it, but he tries it anyway. We are going to have to be consistent about the boundaries we set, no matter if it’s the second or the second hundreth time.

I know I’ve said this before. But I CANNOT believe how quickly this has gone. Last year at Easter he wasn’t even a week old. This year? He’s babbling, he’s crawling, he’s cruising. He’s going to eat ham and scalloped potatoes.

UnFREAKINGbelievable. That’s all.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It is unreal how fast time flies now and how much they change in the course of just a few months. G and I marvel at that a lot as Lemy continues to change and grow everyday. It is beautiful, amazing and bittersweet all at the same time.

  2. I know…just wait until he starts walking. People were saying that to me and I thought it couldn’t be any harder than crawling or cruising, but oh boy! Just wait a few weeks because it sounds like O is ready…

    I too am amazed at how much they understand. In just a few short months (and really a few weeks since right before turning 1) they go from a baby to little kids. This morning M went into one of the cabinets (need to put lock on that one this weekend) dug around until he found his veggie sticks, pulled them out, and walked over to me signing “eat.” I couldn’t believe how deliberate that whole episode was!

    I love having someone who is experiencing the same things at just about the same time. These boys really are amazing!

  3. My husband and I read this and laughed. We could have pretty much posted the same thing!

    Fun times!

  4. I can’t believe how quickly the times gone. It sure sound like he tired you out this weekend 🙂

  5. New territory, indeed! It’s a lot more exhausting, but it’s so much fun! I love it, even factoring in the tantrums. Enjoy your sweet toddler who will be toddling around in no time!

    D

  6. I got tired just reading it LOL. Lyla is everywhere also! who needs to work out when we have an active toddler?

  7. Oh, and I’m glad he’s feeling better. Hope he doesn’t give you too many of the tantrums… guess we’ll find out!

    Bea

  8. babies/toddlers are amazing!

    At our 9 months visit the nurse kept referring to N as a toddler and I wanted to scream “NO! he’s a baby!”
    But alas . . . she was/is right.

    Cruising=toddling=toddler.

    Sigh.

    every stage is amazing and makes me yearn for the ones past and wonder about the ones to come.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

