Puttin’ money where my mouth is.

April 10, 2009 at 1:58 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Back in August of last year I looked into doing a sprint triathlon.

Briefly.

Thing is, I’m not a good swimmer.

But you know, I thought I could make it work. I went to the pool one day and swam for a full 10 minutes before I thought I was going to drown.

And I never made it back to the pool. Seriously never did.

So I gave up on the idea.

But now? I’ve been losing weight. And being back at the gym two days a week just doesn’t FEEL like enough for me. I keep MEANING to do more, but then I’m tired at night. And on weekends we run errands and do other things.

Fact of the matter is, I need SOMETHING to MAKE me work hard again. Because it’s too easy to not make it a priority right now.

So.

Today, I signed myself up for a 5K on October 3.

I sort of HAD to, you see. Because it’s to raise money for suicide awareness and prevention.

And it struck me as I was looking at the online registration form.

The 15th anniversary of my cousin Amy’s suicide is next month.

So. Despite the fact that I can barely eek out a 12-minute mile right now…

… I have signed up to run three of them in October.

Even better. To prepare? I have requested registration forms for ANOTHER 5K in August.

So. Um.

Time to get a new set of running shoes. And get outside. And run.

And maybe, just MAYBE – next year I can do that triathlon.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay yay yay! Doing this last year was one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself.

    Go to a running shop and get a good pair of shoes, and don’t look back! 🙂

    D

  2. Good for you! That’s awesome and what a great cause to be running for.

  3. Way to go, S! That is fantastic!

    Girl, you could do that triathlon! Husband’s friend’s wife just did one and in September when she had her son had NEVER swam. Let me say that again had NEVER SWAM. She had waded in water, but didn’t know a single stroke. She told me when she was pregnant (along with a lot of other delusional things) that she decided to do a triathlon this spring as a way to get off the baby weight. I thought she was on CRACK! First off who the hell has time to train with a newborn and a full time job that she went back to 6 weeks PP? Then here is someone who just took up working out for the first time in her life about 4 months before she got pregnant. Plus, add in that she had never swam a day in her life. Well, she just did her triathlon LAST WEEKEND! Can you tell I’m a little jealous because she looks fantastic and here I am with an almost 13 month old and can’t even get my ass back on the treadmill!

  4. Good on you!! Can’t wait to hear more about it!!

  5. You can do it!

    I’m trying to learn to love running. Trying is the operative word.

    I’m a *big* girl, who can’t really run, and I completed a sprint triathlon last year. So, don’t count yourself out yet! 😉

    Good luck!

  6. fantastic!!
    i’m sure you’re gonna love it!!

  7. Signing up for shit is the best idea ever – woohoo! For me, it motivates me cuz there’s no way I’m going to do shitty in public. I have a feeling you’re the same and you’re going to rock these runs!!

  8. Good luck. I feel just like you- barely getting to the gym twice a week, and I need ro do more, though being tired or wanting to be with the baby keeps me from going. Maybe I’ll look for some sort of event to sign up for. Thanks for the inspiration. Good luck!

  9. Way to go! 🙂
    I signed up for a 10k last year (with 6 weeks notice) in the hopes it would motivate me to run/work out more. Sadly (for me) it was an epic fail. I did the run (in under an hour) but felt like death afterwards and have ran once since.
    Hmm, that’ probably wasn’t too motivating was it?!

    Maybe this year I’ll sign of for a sprint tri – I used to swim and am an okay biker and runner. It just sounds more fun than running 10k.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

