Mojo update.

April 23, 2009 at 7:36 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

So I took Puck to the vet today again, to rule out kidney/bladder infection. She weighed him, asked me some questions, and told me that likely it wasn’t physiological, given his history. We’re to keep an eye on him, of course, but as of right now his bloodwork is normal, and every time we’ve done a urinanalysis on him, it’s been normal.

So we decided to put him on a stronger medication – real kitty Prozac. The other stuff we used apparently is pretty mild.

And we’re adding a second litterbox to the bathroom on the second floor, which is where Puck spends most of his time during the day and night anyway.

And we’ll take up the carpet on the foyer floor, which we were planning to do anyway, and cover it with hardwood. (We’ll just have to do it sooner, because I suspect that at the first really hot and humid day, our house will reek of cat pee.)

And we’ll have to go from there.

I thought we had been making such strides on getting Puck acclimated to Baby O. And maybe we HAVE been – maybe this is just a step backwards in the whole thing.

But I love my cat, and he’s been my only constant since college. It’s not fair to give up on him because he’s peeing because he’s stressed out.

That’s how I feel today anyway. I WANT to make this work.

And for the Baby O update? Not only was he up at 5:30 this morning, but he only took ONE nap at daycare today – in the morning. We’ll see how he does tonight.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I don’t know why, but I’m totally fixated on the part about him being the only constant since college. It just put everything in perspective in reading it. Hoping he’s better soon.

  2. I hope it does get better for you and Puck,

  3. I’m sorry about the peeing – it’s tough to deal with animal stuff on top of all the life stuff.

    Hope you are still enjoying the new shoes, though.

  4. I’m sorry about the issues with Puck. I really don’t know much about cats so I have no words of advice. I just know how much our pets can mean to us and hope that the new meds help the issue.

    I feel your pain on the sleeping right now. We’re having some sleep issues at our house right now. I just keep hoping that it is a teething thing (since he only has 2) and will pass quickly.

  5. Sorry about Puck – I hope things improve.

  6. s-did you remove my comment? i swear i commented on puck? i probably just didn’t submit it.

  7. Weird, my comment is gone too. Oh well. Weirdness.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

