Sleep. Interrupted.

June 12, 2009 at 7:50 am | Posted in Sleep (for the weak | 6 Comments

(I have not heard from my friend about her daughter; what I’ve heard from friends is that M is “day by day” and may be in the hospital for a very long time. Please keep them in your thoughts. I can’t even imagine the stress the whole family is under right now.)

With the exception of the first three weeks of his life… Baby O has never been much of a sleeper.

We’ve done a lot to get him to a point where if he doesn’t need something, he’s able to put himself back to sleep without issue.

But if there’s ANY change in his life? There are night wakings. Where J or I need to DO something for him.

It’s taken me a while, but I’m really okay with this.

Because if I look at things from his perspective, I GET it. Most every night *I* wake up at some point in the middle of the night. And then I realize I’m thirsty. And I lean over to my bedside table and I drink from the nalgene bottle of water that’s right there. And I lay back down and go to sleep.

Or I’m cold, and I get an extra blanket, put wool socks on, or snuggle closer to J.

Thing is, I have the control over whatever it is I need to FIX the situation. And Baby O doesn’t. So it doesn’t seem very reasonable to me, then, to be militant about putting him into his room for the night and letting him figure out that when it’s dark mom and dad won’t come fix things for him.

I’m not knocking the people who DO this, as an aside. Just wasn’t what we decided that we were comfortable with.

So anyway. There’s a LOT of change going on for Baby O right now. A short list:

1. For the past two weeks, Baby O has been taking only ONE nap a day at daycare. He’s not really READY per se to be transitioning to one nap. Because he’s super tired and cranky at night before bed. And on the weekends, at home, he takes two good solid naps, which to me means he’s catching up on the lack of sleep he’s gotten during the week.

2. He is THIS.CLOSE.TO.WALKING as his main mode of transport. At this point, it’s a confidence thing. He walks everywhere, confidently, holding onto mom or dad’s hand. And yesterday, J reported that as soon as they got home from school, Baby O walked after the cat with no assistance. Until he realized what he was doing, of course. Then, he lowered himself to the floor, and proceeded to crawl for the rest of the night.

3. He’s been on a sippy cup strike at school as well. We pack him 12 ounces of milk and 8 ounces of water. In the past couple of days he’s come home with close to 18 ounces left. Granted, he’ll drink it all at night BEFORE bed, but his during the day usage has gone down. I like to think it’s because the cold rainy weather makes him not as thirsty during the day – hopefully when it gets warm (will it EVER get warm here?) he’ll drink more.

4. His daycare is starting to transition him to the toddler room. His official start date over there is July 1, so for the next couple of weeks he will be doing “visits.” His teacher reports that he’s very uncomfortable right now over there – a couple of times he’s just stood and cried. Even when there aren’t any kids in the room, he’s not very happy to be there. (He’ll be fine, of course. I’m really not all that worried. I merely put this bullet in to demonstrate that there’s some uncomfort with a new situation for him.)

Change is tough on my kid’s sleep schedule. So for the past two weeks, Baby O has been up in the middle of the night, needing SOMETHING. Most cases he’s had a little warm milk, a snuggle with me, and is back asleep within 15 minutes.

The issue *I* have with this… is insomnia. There has been at least one night a week where I’m up from 3 until my alarm rings at 5. It’s driving me crazy.

And I’m exhausted.

I REALLY need to figure out how to get back to sleep when he does.

Anyone have problems with insomnia? Suggestions? Assvice? I’m all ears.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wanted to tell you I like your new blog look!

    I noticed Willow does not drink as much now either, but I assume that is because she is snacking/eating ALL the time..so, getting liquid in that way too…

    I am not one to easily go back to sleep once I have been woken up–so I tend to have a book beside me to read and it gets me down. I think maybe establishing some re-entry routine for yourself might help?

    Good luck, and I hope you get some good rest soon!

  2. No assvice for insomnia, sorry!
    You can always try all the old stand-by’s though. Clearing you head, relaxing each part of your body seperately while in bed, etc.

    I can understand your need to find a solution, unbearable when the alarm goes off and you realize you weren’t even asleep!

  3. I have insomnia too. My son is exactly Baby O’s age and wakes often and I feel the same way that you do. So, I’m up a lot at night (plus I have other children who occasionally wake too!) and it’s hard for me to get back to sleep. I’m all tense and waiting. My brain goes into overdrive when it’s dark out. I think of all the things I have to do and it stresses me out, because it’s the middle of the night and I can’t do anything about it!
    I wish I had advice, but I actually NEED the advice.
    What works overall for me, is not worrying about it. I’ve made my choices, I’m going to get up, so I try not to dwell on that part. Do what I need to do and try not to second-guess myself.

  4. What always works for me is to make sure I get enough water during the day. If I slack off on water, I get headaches during the day and have insomnia at night. It doesn’t work for everyone, but it might work for you.

    Love the new look, btw! Baby O is so adorable!

  5. If i spend more than about 30 minutes trying to get back to sleep, and I’m still awake, I have to get up and watch television. If I make a comfortable nest on the sofa, I’m usually asleep again in 15 minutes. Dunno, works for me.

  6. Ewww, love the new design. I read on bloglines a lot–but i haven’t clicked thru in a long time.
    re:insomnia–
    no caffeine after 12:oop.m. i know.
    get in bed an hour before you need to be asleep
    dark out your room–completely dark.
    buy a fan–have some noise.
    no alcohol, spicy foods for dinner.
    go to bed the same time every night and get up at the same time–this will help you set your clock.
    meditatget bellaruth’s 15 min mp3’s–that really works for me.
    night, night sweet pea.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

