Houses have lots of edges.

June 19, 2009 at 9:38 am | Posted in Mama Bear, milestones | 12 Comments

So Baby O is addicted to walking.

Because, really.

Why bother playing with a toy when you can walk in circles around the house?

Unfortunately he is still honing his mad walking skillz, so he lurches and weaves and looks a LITTLE like a sailor who is trying to get his land legs.

But we’re discovering the HARD way that our house has a LOT of edges. And hard places.

Like yesterday. He was walking into the dining room. And he tripped and fell MOUTH-FIRST onto the wood window seat. That hurt his mouth, of course, so he THREW himself back and smacked his head on the dining room leg.

I was a freaking STEP BEHIND him. I saw the whole thing happen.

Cue his silent scream, hand crammed into mouth. And as I picked him up, even I was thinking “OW OW OW OW!”

Luckily there was no blood. No broken teeth either, though I expect that was more from the fact that his top teeth are taking FOREVER to grow fully in. (A fact for which I thanked the Almighty Deity as Baby O sucked on a frozen teether a few minutes later.)

But holy SHIT this part of the walking thing is hard.

I want to hover, standing over him to make sure that at the FIRST sign of instability I’ll be able to catch him. But of course he won’t LEARN that way, to be careful of what his feet are doing.

I want for him to have confidence. And hovering? Won’t allow him to feel confident.

The other option is padding the HELL out of our house until he figures out this walking thing. But that’s not helpful either, because then he won’t learn to be aware of his environment, that there are things which can HURT him.

About the only way he can learn that is by getting HURT.

So all I can do is stay a step behind and keep an eagle eye on him.

And hope that he won’t get hurt too badly when he does fall.

And keep telling myself that the best thing I can do for him is to let him experience his world on his own.

Without padding.

But yeah. This part is tough.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OH YES!!! This is the hard part. Kacey is COVERED in bruises on her legs and she has been walking for almost 3 months now! It’s so hard not wanting to just wrap them in bubble wrap and lock them in the closet!

  2. Glad he wasn’t hurt too bad.

    Hope he gets his land legs soon.

  3. Yes, that is the hardest part, knowing when to stop them and when to just let them wander. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have to say, (and this is embarressing) that with 2 you have less time to “decide” they walk, they run, they stomp their feet, they fall , they crawl up the stairs, try to “walk” down the stairs, and you just go with the flow.
    If it helps…we get at least 1 incident report a week for Gio…no I’m NOT Kidding. LOL. It’s always his head or his lip or a toy swung at a high angle and leaving another bruise on him. My kiddos are covered in bruises and I keep waiting for CPS to come and see about it….but I also know that without them they are not developing soooooo…I go with it and hope they don’t hurt themselves badly. And just for your enjoyment, the bumps on his head at Daycare happen enough now that when they call they always open not with”he’s fine , Kirsten and he didn’t lose consciousness” …I see a linebacker in my future. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Either way, you’re a great mom!!!! Glad he’s exploring his world.

  4. It reminds me of a Fairly OddParents (yes, I speak in cartoon lore–we have ALL the Spongebob DVDs here). There is this one episode where the little boy is sent into a daycare situation (he’s supposed to be 10, so its more like a camp). And they pad and pad the heck out the little kids–so that when they jump into the ball pit they sink, they can’t slide down the slide, etc.

    Its the hardest thing ever to let your child loose into the world. But the most rewarding too!

    BTW, right now Willow is engaging in “Walk Room To Room and Find Whats in the Drawers” featuring such games as “That’s not Yours” and “Please get that out of your mouth”.

  5. It IS hard to watch them hurt themselves. Just keep the mantra going that he is learning, he will get it, he will eventually fall less.

    He won’t have less bruises though. As K has so nicely shown us even the most skilled walkers get distracted and get hurt. In other words, at some point you will realize that falls, bumps, and bruises are just part of the “being a child” experience.

    However, you or J or someone he trusts will be right there to kiss away the hurt and reassure him that everything will be ok.

  6. Indeed true! But it sounds like you’ve got a good approach because you’re right that they have to learn this way. Bumps and bruises are a part of childhood, and as you’ve seen, even if you’re right there, it can still happen. (Baby B was an arm’s length away from me when she broke her leg running to me and falling on purpose. Crazy stuff!) He’ll get better with each day, which is going to be so fun for you all to watch! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy it! I LOVE the walking stage!

    D

  7. I am loving your pictures.

    But you know what? I think baby O will learn whether you hover or not. You just won’t be able to hover all day (certainly not at day care!) and he’ll probably get more and more into the running off thing, too. So if you feel better hovering and catching him when you’re there and able? Go for it. I don’t think it’ll make the slightest bit of difference to his progress.

    Bea

  8. This is the part where I honestly think I’ll be tested the most, because I’ve always thought I’d be the mother who let them fall, who let them get hurt, who let them do all this to learn. I just sorta shrugged it off like “well, if they don’t touch the hot thing and have it hurt, how will they know not to do it again” – yet I can totally see when it’s happening, it KILLING ME!!!! Cuz ugh, there’s only so much you want them to learn the hard way, but you want them to learn, but does it HAVE to be through pain? Ugh.

  9. It IS hard to watch – and somehow balance between letting them learn and protecting them. My little one was (and still is) a huge fan of stairs. Up and down, up and down…she’s fallen at least twice within arm’s reach of me.

    He will get it, and you’ll find yourself backing away, little by little.

  10. Baby D. too. He loves it, can’t stop him now.

    Don’t know if you saw the little bit of video of his first steps, so cute. That’s basically him all the time now!

  11. Totally know where you’re coming from.

  12. OMG that would be so scary! You are probably going to make fun of me–and it wouldn’t help in every instance….but I bought cate a toddler/walking helmet. it’s not a bike helmet–it’s just for easing falls onto hard surfaces-we have all hardwoods. It’s called “Thudguard Infant Safety Walking Helmet.” (QUIT LAUGHING!) : )


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

