When is a haircut more than a haircut?

July 20, 2009 at 2:30 pm | Posted in motherhood, My life, rants | 7 Comments

I didn’t chicken out.

Not exactly, anyway.

I DID manage to convince my hairdresser to cut a good portion of my hair off this weekend.

Not as much as *I* wanted, though.

Seriously.

WHY IS IT that the people with scissors don’t believe a woman when she says “I want to cut my hair. I want it SHORT?”

I mean. I’ve had short hair before. As in boy short in the back. I had it long enough to tuck behind my ears, but everything else was short.

And I LOVED my short hair. I colored it funky colors, because I was in my 20s and single. I loved that it was quick to do. I loved that I just had to muss it and go in the morning.

So when I went in on Saturday, I wanted her to CUT IT OFF. All of it.

But she convinced me that I should try this first. And if, you know, I wanted to go shorter, I CAN.

Still.

I came out of there disappointed.

Because I need a CHANGE right now. I’m tired, and I’m in a rut, and I’m feeling somewhat shackled with responsibility. And invisible, and mediocre, and boring.*

And I could REALLY use feeling a little funky and irresponsible right now.

What better way to have some fun than to cut my hair, just cut it all OFF?

I mean, IT’S JUST HAIR. It will grow back.

But instead. I let her talk me into trying a chin-length bob.

Which, you know, is FINE. And practical. And better than what it was, I guess.

But not even CLOSE to what I was hoping for.

________________________

*More to come on this, I promise.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow- you’re brave. Or obviously you have a cute short hair face. me, of the always fat face and fine limp hair, I have to be careful. That said, I so want a big haircut. But I decided a few months ago to do locks of love. I need to be able to cut off 10 inches and, for reasons mentioneed previosuly, I need to still have a little longer than chin length after that 10 inches is gone. I think I have to wait until November at the earliest. it’s killing me!! Good luck with finding the right change for you. have you also considered color?

  2. I love short hair!! I love how spunky and full of life short hair is. Think Meg Ryan w/ her cute hair-do.

  3. This is one thing you can change, so if you do want to go shorter, you CAN. Do what makes you feel good about yourself.

  4. I’ve always had long curly hair. Last year, I went short and straight. I still feel boring but at least I have a more updated hair. Can’t wait to see a picture

  5. If you really want to get sheared you should go to the baah baah shop.

  6. I say color it a crazy color you’ve never done before. It’s terrifying and exhilirating all at once, and much easier to grow out than a bad cut – but it will still give you that change you need. I get it, I need change a LOT so color is what I do:-)

  7. Hey where I go, if you are dissatisfied within 2 weeks you can go back and they’ll fix it. I think for free. Worth looking into. Say they talked you out of what you wanted and put the onus on them.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

