Girls weekend.

August 3, 2009 at 3:48 pm | Posted in motherhood, My life | 12 Comments

So this weekend my best friend J and I went into Boston for our first ever girls weekend. We planned it in part because next weekend our husbands are going on a guys’ camping weekend. And both of us felt like we needed a break from being moms. And we just so happened to find a great overnight rate at a downtown Boston hotel.

So we booked it.

And I’ll tell you something. I left J and O on Saturday morning with a kiss and my love…

And as I was driving to my friend J’s house – I couldn’t stop smiling.

Freedom!

We went into Boston. We had sandwiches at a cafe in the South End. We went to a gourmet shop and got cheese and wine and humus and pita so we could hang out in the room and snack all afternoon.

We stopped and got a couple of cocktails at a restaurant. Then went and checked in.

And spent the afternoon hanging out, talking, drinking wine, and noshing.

We roused ourselves enough to cap off the night at our favorite german restaurant, where we had fried pickles and brats.

And we were asleep by 10:30.

We “slept in” until almost 9am.

We walked around Boston in the morning until the itch to go home and see our kids was almost too much for us.

I made it home in time to see O off to bed for his afternoon nap.

And it’s funny.

When we made the plans, I hadn’t really thought of it as a big deal. A girls weekend out. Nothing crazy, mind you. But a night away to do what we wanted. To be irresponsible, because we didn’t have to get up early morning or overnight.

But then I started thinking.

This was only my second overnight away from O. The first of which was back in MARCH.

So an overnight? Sort of a big deal.

But I think I’m at the point where I’m finally comfortable in my skin. And I’m starting to want to find some of the old ME.

And in that same vein, I’m completely comfortable with handing over the reins of parenting to J for a weekend. Because he is my equal in every sense of the word. And I can step back and give HIM time with O.

So this weekend was good on many levels. It was great to get away from the “mom” label for a night. And hang out with my best friend. And talk about everything – kids, husbands, food, travel. And eat stinky cheese and drink wine.

And not have to worry about getting up in the middle of the night. Or early morning.

It was wonderful, too, to have a chance to MISS my family. To come home on Sunday afternoon to the chaos and see more than mess I was going to need to clean up. To see my son, my husband for the people they are – not the task they can be sometimes.

My FAMILY.

So yeah. It was a great weekend. On every level.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glad you had so much fun!

  2. You guys are the best. I’m glad you both got out and spent some QT together.

  3. Sounds like a wonderful night out! Absence does make the heart grow fonder, doesn’t it. I’m glad you were able to have some well-deserved fun!
    Linda

  4. Woohoo, good for you!!!

  5. yay! good for you

  6. Ahh, nice. A little time out is great for a mum once in a while 🙂

  7. Good. For. You.

    Next Tuesday (1 week! yay!) I’m taking the girls to stay overnight with my ILs, and D. and I are going to see Green Day. I cannot wait — and I cannot wait to pick up the girls the next morning and see their “Hey, mommy!” smiles.

  8. Yay Serenity!!

  9. good for you, S! i’ve yet to find the courage to do this…

  10. “To see my son, my husband for the people they are – not the task they can be sometimes.”

    Oh wow. I had a moment of enlightenment just then.

    Bea

  11. Sounds like just what you needed…

    I’m glad you had a great time! 🙂

  12. I’m glad you had so much fun. Sounds lovely!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

