What? You mean I should blog about my KID?

September 21, 2009 at 1:50 pm | Posted in milestones, motherhood | 9 Comments

I’m still vascillating between utter fear and mild panic about my friend S’s situation. I don’t like what I’m reading about metastatic breast cancer. I don’t like the odds. Not at all.

But there’s not much else I can say right now. I’m terrified. I think of her all the time. I hope hope HOPE for her.

But mostly I’m just scared.

So shall we move on?

Because if you haven’t noticed, this blog is about my kid, too.

And O is doing things that are AWESOME right now.

(Well, mostly awesome, anyway.)

In the Not Awesome category is the not sleeping. That part isn’t awesome. Kid is so obsessed with buttons that we had to take down his crib aquarium this weekend. Because he’d be up for TWO HOURS each night playing.

His latest excuse – because truly, my kid is one to use ANYTHING as an excuse NOT to sleep – is that he’s cutting molars. And now has a cold.

So that part is not so cute. We did have a full night of sleep last night, all of us, but I expect a couple more sleepless nights before this is all resolved.

Then we’ll move onto the next excuse, I’m sure.

But the rest of the stuff he does? Awesome.

For example.

O is now starting to realize that J and I are a package deal. If J’s not home, or out of the room, O will walk around LOOKING for him, saying “dada. Dada. DADA!”

I was beginning to think that I was going to be deleted from his favorites file, but J told me that when I was gone on Saturday, he did the same thing. Except the whole time he said “Mama. Mommy!”

And. This weekend, at a local farm’s corn maze (which was situated close to a small airport), he discovered AIRPLANES.

“Ky!” he’d say, stopping, looking up, and pointing. “PAIN!”

And we’d agree that yes, planes fly in the sky.

And they’d disappear. To which he’d say hopefully, “mo-ah?”

And we’d assure him that there would be more planes, he’d just have to wait a bit.

Rinse, repeat.

But he had a great time walking through the maze. He’d just pick a direction and traipse off, stopping to grab a rock (“wock!”) and throw it in the direction he was walking. We walked for more than an hour this way – him throwing rocks, picking them up again, and throwing them again.

Pausing to watch the “pains in the ky,” of course.

He’s also gotten to the point where he’s actually begun to dictate what it is he wants to eat. Usually he asks for cheese. “deez!”

But J bought strawberries this weekend, and that’s ALL O wanted to eat. “Ber!”

And when he’s done with his snack, he tries to put everything on the counter to help “clean up.” We can give him a damp paper towel, and he’ll mop his booster seat tray for us. Wipe his hands and face.

He chatters non-stop. From the moment he wakes up in the morning until he goes to sleep at night, he’s talking, talking TALKING. He talks to his Bear. He talks to people in the stores. “Hi. Hi. HI!” he’ll yell at someone until they stop what they’re doing, turn to him, and say “hi there!” It’s cute. But just a little embarrassing.

And really. It truly boggles my mind that we have a little PERSON in our house. One that wants to help us clean or cook. Who has opinions on what food he prefers to eat.

Who knows that planes fly in the sky.

And that you say “hi” to people if you want them to pay attention to you.

There are moments where I stop and think “this is going WAY too quickly for me.” I just want to stop time. Slow it down. Live in the moment FOREVER.

That’s what I love most about being a mom. O forces me to be IN the moment. To really force myself NOT to be thinking about the myriad things I could be doing. To see the world from HIS vantage point – as one big adventure.

It really is my favorite part of being his mom.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. awwww!

  2. Cute! I love that he persists with HI! until they turn around. That’s so funny!
    Elle

  3. Those are all awesome things and I bet they are just amazing to watch. I love watching our son grow and learn. It’s such an honor to get to do this with a little human!

    I’m so sorry about your friend and I’m glad she has hope and wants to fight.

  4. I am glad that Lyla is not the only one making excuses not to sleep. I am impressed with all the words he can say! I am hoping and praying for tour friend

  5. O is doing AWESOME things! 🙂

  6. Isn’t early language the best?!?! Sean is only about 6 months older than O, and now when one of us are gone, he’ll say, “Where’d Daddy doe? Oh Dahhh-deeee!” Never a dull moment for sure 😉

  7. So so cute. I love how amazing they are. He’s really chatty too! You and J don’t seem to be chatty-at all? Well, you don’t. Is J?
    No matter-O is so cute.

  8. They really are amazing little beings! Everday is such an adventure for them and the things they pick-up right now is so cool. I’m just blown away by what the understand at this age.

  9. What a sweet post. I totally get when you’re saying about how they make you live in the moment and how time goes too fast!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

