Wearing pink.

September 29, 2009 at 11:43 am | Posted in motherhood, My life | 7 Comments

The Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5K was this past Saturday.

I was sick with a cold. And a cough. And tired, too. To add to the fun, that very morning, I finally got AF, after a 6 week non-ovulatory cycle.

(Meh.)

O was sick, too. Fever, this time. Poor kid was grumpy and fussy and calling for me most of the morning before we left.

But it was a gorgeous out, and we said we were going to do it. So D and I packed up and headed to Boston.

The races I’ve done before now were all relatively small – about 200-400 runners in each race. So when I got my bib number #2333, I knew this would be a little different.

Thousands were there. Literally TONS of people.

And I found myself really emotional as I surveyed the women with their pink survivor shirts.

Hoping that in a few years, one of those women would be my friend S.

And so D and I lined up at the start, at the 10 minute per mile pace.

And everywhere I looked, there were women with cards attached that said “running in honor of XXX.”

The first mile was the easiest for me – I had just taken a couple hits off my inhaler, so I breathed easily.

The racecourse turned us around early on so that we were running back towards the starting line, where the walkers were just starting out.

And as I ran and saw all the pink shirts of survivors. And all the other people who came in support of women with cancer…

I admit it. I couldn’t help it – I cried.

It was an odd sensation for me – the thrill of a good beginning to a run, my favorite running song (“Lazy Eye” by the Silversun Pickups – AWESOME song) on my iPod; mixed with the deep fear for my friend S’s life.

I nearly choked on all the emotion.

But truly – it was the best part of the race for me.

(I finished the race at :32.48, so it certainly wasn’t my best time.)

But I want to do it again next year.

I want to raise MORE money next time. I want to run in support of S, to do SOMETHING.

I want to run faster and harder next time. And finish next year under 30 minutes.

And I really, REALLY want her to be there next year.

Wearing a pink shirt.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It was indeed very emotional and inspiring being around such strong women.

    For S!!

  2. This brought tears to my eyes. good for you for doing it, even though you were sick! What an awesome event.
    Elle

  3. GO YOU!! Seriously, that’s awesome.

  4. I left you an award at http://www.babyjahn.blogspot.com.

  5. Proud of you. I just did a 5 k run(more a walk for me) for the Polycystic kidney foundation. I hope next year you and your friend S can be there celebrating her life. What a great friend you are

  6. You got me choked up with emotion too now!!

    Way to go:)

  7. Congratulations for doing the run. I did the run 3 or 4 years in a row a few years back. My mother in law is a survivor, and my girlfriend’s aunt was a survivor so she got me started. It truly is an overwhelmingly emotional thing to see all the people the run brings out. The hardest for me was seeing a dad running with his child… running for his wife, the child’s mother. I tear up just thinking about it.

    I think you are a great friend to run for your girlfriend. I truly hope she’s there running beside you next year, wearing a pink shirt.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

