Perfect Moments.

November 2, 2009 at 10:59 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 11 Comments

(My first foray into Perfect Moment Monday.)

First night of standard time. It’s dark outside. Our kitchen is warm with light and dinner cooking.

O and I are playing “Ring Around the Rosie.” When it comes to the part where we all fall down, I sit down on the floor, and he runs over to me, throws his arms around me, and we fall down together, giggling.

He stands, up, tugs at my hands, and says “UP!”

And we play it again.

___________________________

It’s 3am, and I hear him on the monitor. He’s in light pajamas, and I’ve turned the overnight heat down in the house. As soon as I hear him say “hot” (yeah, we’re working on cold) I wonder if he’s cold.

He finally calls out, questioningly – “Mommy?”

So I go into his room.

His hands and feet are cold. I put on a pair of socks and gather a couple of blankets. We rock, him cradled to my chest, listening to the soft classical music from his clock radio, his shampoo sweet against my cheek.

He resists when I put him back into his crib. “Hot.”

So I pick him back up, and he clings to me, his arms around me neck. We rock for another 5 minutes, and his breathing slows. I know he’s almost asleep, so I put him in his crib. He looks up at me, sleepily, and smiles.

Then rolls over under the blankets and closes his eyes.

I am so lucky to be his mom.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What perfect little moments. I love how you described his smell and the tenderness of mother and son. (Willow says exclusively “hot” too–guess it just is an easier word to say!)

  2. You’re SO lucky. I’m glad you put things into words so well.

  3. Very sweet! πŸ™‚

  4. Wonderful!

  5. that was a simply GORGEOUS post.
    I know just how you feel!!!!
    *hug*

  6. Such beautiful moments. Thanks for reminding me of what I have, as well.

    Welcome to Perfect Moment Monday! You seem like an old pro at this πŸ™‚

  7. Welcome to Perfect Moment Mondays! That is so delightful, your little boy sounds precious. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Those are the moments that get you through all the “other” moments πŸ™‚

    They are the BEST. Cherish each one.

  9. That was beautiful!

  10. Very sweet! I love it!

  11. How beautiful. From the active game to the peaceful game. It’s all love to him, huh? Lovely story.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

