Empowering.

December 8, 2009 at 9:19 am | Posted in My life | 5 Comments

5:00 am.

20 degree morning.

The alarm rings.

I hit snooze once.

The down comforter is so warm. And it’s dark and cold Out There.

But I know I need to get up and run. It’s like a band-aid – I just need to get up and do it.

So I groan myself out of bed.

I put on my running tights and layer two wicking shirts over my sports bra.

I go downstairs, lace up my sneakers, put on my hooded running shirt and a wool hat.

And I go outside, being careful not to slip on the frost riming the deck stairs.

And then I’m running.

And it warms up. I start to sweat.

I think, “This isn’t so bad. It’s not THAT cold out here.”

And I keep running.

Three and a half miles. Further than I usually go.

I walk a couple of places because I’m trying to run too fast, but for the most part I run a good, steady pace.

When I run up the hill to my house, I am positively WARM.

It isn’t until I get inside and take off my hat that I realize it’s coated in frost from my sweat.

And my hair is frozen.

Three and a half miles. In just over 35 minutes.

Twenty degrees can SUCK IT.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, very impressive. Not only the running part and the freezing weather, but the getting up at 5 am part! I really need to get my butt up and work out in the morning. I am just too tired when I get home from work and deal with the kids.

  2. WOw, power to you my friend. I can barely walk in this weather. I am so proud of you!

  3. You.are.awesome. There’s no way I could get up at 5am to run. No way, no how.

    You are also making me jealous. I wish I could run right now!

  4. way to go!!!

  5. You are seriously inspiring me. After my run this morning, I read this post and was reminded that on days that Mr. Badger gets up with V, I can use the time for a quick run.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

