A New Item on My Bucket List.

January 18, 2010 at 10:09 am | Posted in My life | 16 Comments

So part of the reason why I’m training for a half marathon is because I’ve been keeping a Bucket List.

(Course, I don’t call it a Bucket List. I call it The List of Things I Want To Do Before I Die. And honestly, I prefer MY title of the list. Because the term Bucket List sort of insinuates CLEANING. Mopping. Scrubbing the floor with a dirty rag and dipping it into a bucket of nasty water.

But J thinks that the title of my own list sounds morbid. So Bucket List it is.)

Anyway.

My own personal Bucket List contains such items as run a marathon. (And yes, I am aware that I am training for a HALF marathon in April. However, I am sort of planning to do another in October too. And I still maintain that two half marathons in one year would count as a full marathon.)

Touch every continent once.

Take an African safari.

See every US National Park.

Through hike the Appalachain Trail.

Learn how to ride a motorcycle.

Learn Italian.

All really impractical stuff. But things that I really want to do during the course of my lifetime.

I added one to my list last night.

This weekend I got a chance to visit my friends: D, Baby B, and The Husband. J and O stayed home, had their own little boys weekend, which from what I hear included oil changes, haircuts, football games, and grocery shopping (FUN!).

We went to see the largest cave system in the world, ran 7 miles through steady drenching rain, and ate and drank and stayed up too late.

And because I was traveling ALONE for the first time in like forever, I was able to, you know, actually READ.

One of the books I read (Eat, Pray, Love ) awoke a desire in me which I’m not sure wasn’t there already.

I want to write a book.

I don’t need to get it published. I just want to WRITE it.

I want to write about IF. About how it affected me. About the years of trying to be a mom. About the fear, and managing of it, and the wanting something so badly that I wasn’t sure we’d ever have. About how we tried focusing on other things, but had that nagging sense that we were MISSING something.

How all I could imagine was holding my baby at the end of it all.

But how BACKWARDS that was, because holding my baby at the end of it all was really the BEGINNING of this life I’ve got.

How some days I have all I ever wanted.

How some days I want more.

How some days I feel completely overwhelmed with my life.

I want to take the experiences that are in this blog and make a coherent story, a memoir, about it.

I’m putting this out there because it was such a strong desire last night as I was driving home from the airport. I wanted to stay up and get started last night.

I even know what the first sentence is going to be. It’s STARTED in my head.

Now I just have to get it into the computer.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sista, I will totally read your book – and I’ll cheer you on when the writing is tough and you wanna quit:-)

  2. If anyone can do it, you can! Been reading(mostly lurking) your blog since you were pregnant (and trying to get pregnant myself) and it’s always the one that grabs me when check my google reader. I love reading about how O does little things (like his obsession with trucks) and it makes me so look forward to those times with my own 4.5 month old son who was conceived through IUI. Anyway, check out the site: lulu.com – I just heard about this last week, apparently you can publish your own book..how cool is that?

  3. Go You! I don’t know why, but this really excited me. And I hope that if you don’t go the publication route, that you open up a new space to release the book a few pages at a time in posts. I think it would be a fantastic way to keep energy up with the project. I love the idea of writing for writing sake. And I salute you, dear Serenity.

  4. Go for it! Self-publishing has helped a lot of writers get out their infertility stories and is a good way to go (the literary agent route and recognizable imprint [publisher] is a really competitive route). Amazon and many other websites offer this. And if you need a proofreader, just call!

  5. Go for it. It’s one of those things in my head, too. That if I could write this cohesive story, maybe it would be good for someone, but mostly me.

  6. I would read it! You are a great writer, and probably my favorite blogger. So in between those half marathons (and you’re right about two halves equalling a whole) give it a try.

  7. Have you touched Australia yet?

    I hope I can see you cross the book one off your list, for sure. Also the marathon (you’re absolutely right with your maths there, btw). Best of luck! Updates as you go along, of course.

    Bea

  8. Sounds like a plan.

  9. awesome, what a great idea..from a great writer. 🙂

  10. So very cool – that’s a book I’d read.

  11. Sounds like it’s time to make a specific plan for writing. 🙂

  12. YEA!
    and this:
    “holding my baby at the end of it all was really the BEGINNING of this life I’ve got….”
    is so awesome and so true.
    you can do it, S!

  13. Good luck with your list. I love the latest entry on it.

  14. Writing a book is a fabulous thing for the bucket list!

  15. This sounds like an inspired idea. Go for it! Here from the round-up…..

  16. I love your idea and wish you the best of luck!

    *blog roundup*


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

