Moments.

February 4, 2010 at 9:02 am | Posted in schmoop (i.e. why I love my kid) | 10 Comments

3:55am.

O is crying.

For the past few nights, he’s cried in his sleep, but needs no help from J or I to get back to sleep.

He settles relatively quickly, but it’s not long before he’s crying again.

I go into his room, where he’s under his blankets, crying into his mattress. He lifts his head, and I pick him up, blankets and all.

We go downstairs to get some milk. As it’s warming, he looks at me and whispers “dark.”

We go back upstairs with the warm milk and sit in his rocking chair. He sucks the milk down, then rests his head on my chest.

And we rock.

When I whisper that it’s time for bed, he shakes his head and whispers “Rock?”

And so we rock, just he and I, in the silence of the early morning, my heart so full it actually ACHES with love for him.

He’s growing so quickly. And it seems like every day he changes. And I love every moment of it.

But the moments in that chair, in the quiet, are my most favorite moments of all.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh I loved this post, mostly because my kiddos are having those same nights, of just needing a little extra love at about 2am or so.
    I too love those moments where they snuggle in close and say “mommy” like I’m everything they need in the world…when the truth is that they are everything I need..

    hugs to you my friend xo

  2. This is one of those perfect moments, it made me smile.

  3. Indeed, perfect. Cuddling with toddlers is so much fun. Is he afraid of the dark?

  4. Wow, I’m in tears here. What a beautiful post (and so true!)

  5. I am so glad you recognize that these moments are important for both of you. It is a time that you will never regret. Ever.

  6. Such a beautiful post.

  7. aw! so sweet and so beautiful. 🙂

  8. Very sweet!

  9. So sweet. I love this.

  10. Beautiful post. I’m so glad you’re enjoying these moments… I fear I often lack the necessary zen. It’s great when you can find it.

    Bea


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

