Denial much?

February 10, 2010 at 11:08 am | Posted in motherhood | 7 Comments

I haven’t talked about it yet because I haven’t really thought about it.

But on Saturday night, I’m leaving for my first weeklong business trip since O was born.

I’ll be heading to Germany – my company has our European office there.

Luckily I’m travelling with two other women. Both are moms, though they have much older kids.

And we’re heading there by way of Amsterdam, since Monday is a holiday in Germany. I’ll actually get to sightsee on a business trip for a change.

But I have to admit that my stomach is in knots about the idea of being that far away from my family.

O will be fine – J is a great dad. He’ll keep him to his routine.

And the great thing about O’s age is that he is very much in the here and now. If mommy isn’t there, and daddy is, then things are okay. He’s not really at the point of MISSING me when I’m not there.

Me, however?

Well. Luckily I’ll be working and catching up on my CPEs. So I’ll be keeping myself occupied.

But I’m going to miss my O like crazy.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yes, I think this is going to be much harder on you than him! πŸ™‚

    I am on the other end of that–I don’t travel for work anymore, but my husband has–and its rough both ways. I know my husband would just miss my son sooo much–

    But, he always came home with a new stuffed animal for Michael and it made us both appreciate our family more.

    Good luck on the trip–and try to enjoy yourself too, momma!

  2. Oh wow, Germany!

    I hope you’re able to enjoy the trip. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to leave O for one week.

  3. Wow! What a big business trip! Hope it goes well…O will be alright! πŸ™‚

  4. ack! so hard.
    i sometimes fantasize about being in a hotel, ALONE, but know that i would miss audie like crazy after about an hour. i hope you’re able to enjoy the trip and the YOU TIME a bit.
    that said, i have to agree with the others that this is going to be harder on you than on him…and think of the reunion! it’s going to be awesome!

  5. Good luck with the trip! Definitely a scary step – for you, more than anyone else, I suspect.

    Bea

  6. Good luck! That is scary. Does O know how to talk on the phone? My husband recently went away for a long trip, and I tried to put our son on the phone as much as I could. I talked to my husband on Skype, and I turned the speakers on so our son could hear Daddy’s voice, and he REALLY liked that! But the next time we were at the computer, he got frustrated that Daddy wasn’t there anymore.

    But as you said, O will be fine. He has his Daddy and his familiar routine, and that helps.

  7. Good luck — it will be okay, really, but it’s impossible to believe that until you’re on the other side of the ocean. I just left my 18-month old son at home while I am on my first business trip since I got pregnant with him. I left Tuesday morning for 12 days in Madagascar and I have to admit, I cried uncontrollably for about 20 minutes after reading him his bedtime story and tucking him in on Monday night. Now I’m 11 time zones away and we Skyped yesterday which helped a bit. I suspect this is much harder on my husband than anyone else in the family, and I doubt he has any concept that I’m gone since he’s still at home with his dad doing his familiar routines.

    Hang in there. The days leading up to the trip will be hard, no question, and you will feel a bit like something has been amputated from you at first, but I have found that now that I’m at my destination, I am thoroughly enjoying a little ‘me’ time doing the type of international work health that I’ve been doing for 10 years and have (purposely) missed out on the past 2 years.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

