Beautiful Bloggers.

March 5, 2010 at 3:03 pm | Posted in meme | 5 Comments

One of my very favorite bloggers EVER, Yo-yo Mama, tagged me for this meme.

Truthfully, I’m excited to actually HAVE a post – I’ve been struggling with a bit of blogger’s block lately.

But of course, it means I have to come up with 7 “interesting” things about me. Using the term “interesting” loosely in the below, that’s for sure.

1. When I was a kid, I wanted to be a boy. I actually made my parents cut my hair short so that I looked more like a boy.

At the time I had a purple bicycle with a rainbow banana seat – my favorite bike in the whole world. But if I was a boy, I couldn’t ride a girl’s bike!

So one day I hid my favorite bike behind the shed in our backyard and told my mom that someone had stolen it. When I told her I needed a dirtbike to replace it, she told me that it was too bad my old bike was gone, because we didn’t have money to buy a new bike.

That was the end of THAT.

But I NEVER actually was comfortable with the idea of being a girl. Or a woman, for that matter.

Which is probably why cutting my hair short a couple of weeks ago felt so FREEING.

2. I currently have two tattoos (and plans for another). The first one, a sunflower on my right shoulder blade, I got in Miami in 1999 when, after 6 margaritas, I drunkenly declared to a girlfriend that if it was less than $60, I’d get it. I went back the next day with a raging hangover, and sure enough it was $60. So I got it.

The second I got in honor of my 30th birthday. It’s my avatar for my blog – a take on the Cheshire Cat. Sits directly on my tailbone. Fittingly, J got his own tattoo a couple weeks after I did and had the same tattoo artist. His tattoo is the SAME color blue as mine.

The tattoo I have planned is a tiny shamrock in honor of O (having been born on St. Patrick’s Day and all). I’m struggling with where to put it – my current favorite is on the inside of my left wrist, where a watchband would normally go. I’m not sure why I haven’t just gone and gotten it done, though. Maybe sometime this year.

3. Ten years ago, I had an affair with a married man. I was 25 and had just broken up with my fiance and doubted that marriages actually WORKED. The relationship with him was convienent for me because not only could I date around (hey, he wasn’t monogamous!), but I knew there was no future for us either, so I didn’t have to worry about making sure I didn’t fuck that relationship up too.

Thing is, the man I dated had a wife who was a stay at home mom. And they had a 3 year old daughter and infant/toddler twins.

Knowing what I know now, I can’t EVER believe I could do something like that. I often wonder about his wife, trying to manage such a full house, probably with a lot of post-partum depression. And a husband who was a complete liar.

Meh.

From what I’ve heard from others, they are still together and even had another kid, so at least I didn’t screw THAT up.

But still.

4. I have an absolute fascination with dissection. It sounds at best absurd and at worst psychotic, but I’m fascinated with the SYSTEM of biology. How there are layers of skin and fat and then muscles and internal organs, all placed perfectly and working together.

I have wanted to take a gross anatomy class now for YEARS, and have the idea that the perfect career for me would be a medical examiner.

The only thing that would really bother me is the smell, I think.

5. I am not-so-secretly anti-TV. It’s not a O thing, either – I just HATE most shows that are on.

J and I rarely watch TV, and when we do, it’s the series we KNOW we love – Scrubs, Deadliest Catch, Iron Chef America.

So I don’t GET the furor over American Idol or Lost or Surviror or Nip/Tuck. And I didn’t really watch much of the Olympics, either, even though when they started I was travelling for work and probably could have whiled away the hours overnight when I could sleep by watching events.

I don’t really KNOW why I hate TV so much, honestly. And with O I am careful to actually let him watch a show here or there (he LOVES Curious George now). Only because when we go places where people actually WATCH TV, O doesn’t really know what to DO with it. He would either turn on/off the TV, or stand there, mouth agape, watching the characters in fascination.

But in my fantasy world, I sell the TV and have a house full of books and games instead.

6. I am actually a pretty good singer, though I’m terrified of singing in FRONT of people. However, I did win a karaoke contest at a bar when I was in graduate school – of course after a pitcher of beer. 🙂

I had a brief stint in the high school chorus, but never stuck with it because I was playing softball and in the wind ensemble. When I met up with my old chorus director a number of years later, he told me that he always called me “the one that got away.”

Actually, one of my biggest regrets is that I never formally trained with him. My grandfather had an AMAZING voice, and I always wish that I could share that with him.

7. I’ve always had an AWFUL memory. When I was a kid I always forgot things. My homework at home, my books at school, my jacket on the playground, my lunch at home. Et cetera, et cetera. I’m sure it drove my mother batty.

Even as an adult, I NEVER remember dates. (I am incredibly thankful for facebook’s reminder of birthdays! It’s the only way I remember!) If I don’t write something down or force myself to remember it, it’s gone within minutes.

There are so many people that have friended me on Facebook where I see we have mutual friends, but for the life of my I can’t remember who they are. I don’t remember teacher names, either – high school I have some stored in the memory banks somewhere. But college? Forget it.

So over the years, I’ve learned to work around my awful memory. My purse is ALWAYS in one of two places – my car or the mudroom of my house. My keys are always put in one of three places: the key holder in the mudroom, my coat pocket, or my purse. I have honed my ability to retrace my steps in order to find something I’ve (inevitably) lost. I set automatic reminders in Outlook for big events for my friends.

To watch O learn and see that he actually has a REALLY GOOD MEMORY brings me such relief. He’s got J’s memory (who can name the DATE of when he learned some theory in chemistry, junior year of high school. And of course remember not only the teacher’s name, but the textbook too!) instead of mine. Which is good.

I’m not sure these are Seven INTERESTING things, but hey. There’s seven there.

And not at all sad that my not-quite-two-year-old has a BETTER memory than his mom does.

____________________

And now for the tagging. I never usually play these things, so if I’ve tagged you and you don’t put anything up, I’m totally taking you off my google reader.

(Kidding. Mostly anyway.)

1. My gal Chicklet at Bloorb

2. My really really REALLY good friend D.

3. Cibele at My Wait is Over. Cause she rocks.

4. Delenn at Slaying, Blogging, Whatever. Because I bet her seven things will be really interesting.

5. Mrs. Hope at Hold My Hope. Because she’s gone through hell the past week (go give her a hug!) and I think she can use something else to think about for a little while.

6. Kir at Kir’s Corner. Because I LOVE her.

7. My friend Heather at Unexplain This … The Sequel. So what if she’s PWP? She’s awesome and will have 7 neat things to share.

For those of you who choose to participate and pay this meme foward, here are the rules.

Thank the person who nominated you
Hang the badge
Write 7 Interesting Things
Nominate 7 Bloggers.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oh my. Seven things, eh? Funny, cuz I was struggling with a post I wanna do…so this will be a nice distraction! Thanks for the tag!

    I wanted to be a boy when I was a kid too! I always played Han Solo or Indiana Jones or any other male lead whenever we were playing as kids.

    (And now, my daughter is going to be a girly girl, I just know it)

    BTW, you would probably love this book: Body of Work: Meditations on Mortality from the Human Anatomy Lab by Christine Montross

  2. I LOVR your hair!…..You look so young a nd perky.I got My first tatoo when I was 57 and now can’t wait to get my third!….I swear they are addicted…..ll….love ans blessings…..Karen/

  3. A watchband tattoo… I am trying to think of a place, so good to have suggestions (send any more you have). Trouble is, I always forget my watch, so…

    Bea

  4. Oh wow, I love how candid you are… Love getting you to know you every day more. May I say, your new hair looks so fabulous! I’ve never been that girly either (my first bike was navy blue when all the other little girls had pink ones) but I can’t rock this look! Dissections interesting indeed but not that glamorous, I do it almost everyday with mice and Rats to get their kidneys, heart and some times brain out, and yes, it smells really bad.

    Thanks for nominating me, YOU ROCK! I appreciate your friendship

  5. I did this and left it open for all to see 😀
    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

