How about something good, then, yeah?

March 30, 2010 at 6:00 am | Posted in Infertility, milestones, motherhood | 9 Comments

Yesterday’s post was my every-thirty-day-first-day-of-a-new-cycle-damn-AF rant.

Thanks for listening.

Now for the good.

My half marathon is less than a month away. (Bring it!) I have done two ten mile runs, an eleven mile run, and this weekend, I will run a twelve miler.

And yeah. I do believe I’ve had some issue with overtraining as it relates to my training program.

But my friend D gave me a brilliant idea – to take my Thursday run, typically my most tired and slowest of the three I do – and shorten it to focus on pace. In running circles it’s akin to interval training. What *I* am going to attempt to do is run my ideal pace (9 minute miles) for 5 km.

We’ll see how it works, but I like to run fast, and I could use some speedwork now that I’m confident I can do the distance.

Weight wise, all this running has been GOOD for me. I think the last time I weighed the number I do I was in seventh grade. It’s done wonders for my self-esteem, especially when I hear coworkers, friends, and family call me skinny. I’ve never been skinny. Never FAT, per se. But never skinny.

O is my heart. I love watching him practice language. He’s lately been using prepositions. He’ll declare “BUS! Over THERE!” when we’re driving in the car. Or he’ll say “Plane. In the SKY!”

He also seems to have inherited my sweet tooth and J’s annoying habit of singing “MMM MMM MMMMMMM!!” when he eats something he likes. Like chocolate cheerios, for example.

The other day, he ate FOUR bowls of cereal. And then drank all the milk. And with every spoonful, he crooned “MMMMM MMMMM!!!!” and smiled at me.

He’s also taken to hopping when he has a snack. Which, you know, gives me a minor panic attack every time he does it. I am convinced that he will trip, fall smack into the cabinets, and then choke on the MASSIVE bite of cheese in his mouth. He hasn’t yet, but I swear any day now it’s going to happen.

He has shot up in height now – at his 2 year appointment he was in the 70th percentile for height for his age. Weight-wise, though, he’s still only in the 20th percentile. (He’s got J’s physique – tall and skinny. Bastard.)

In the moment, I love everything about my life. I thank the universe every day for the family I DO have.

It’s just on those days where I get AF that I’m reminded of the fact that yes, we’re infertile, and yes, we WILL have to go back to the doctor to have another child.

And really, is that SO bad?

(I hope not.)

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good luck on your half marathon! You’ll do great. Congrats on the continued training and weight loss. Way to go!

  2. You sound amazing. I’m so glad. Good luck with the training, it sounds like you’re doing any awesome job.

    as always , O sounds WONDERFUL too.,.. 🙂

  3. Its so wonderful to hear how things are coming together for you and yes, life is good.

    O sounds like he is doing very well with his vocabulary! I am impressed!

    I used to do the “mmmmm” thing ALL.THE.TIME. Until I was 5 years old. (My mother’s mother “taught” me it)

  4. I hope it isn’t bad when you go back. I hope it is easy peasy as can be.

  5. you go woman.

    did i tell you that you inspired me to do a 1/2er? i have only been training for a short time, and the 1/2 is in June. you are an inspiration in a lot more ways too, lady.

  6. Granted, I haven’t dealt with this as long or as intensively as you, but here’s how I choose to look at going to the doctor for reproductive help. I have asthma, which means I need help from a doctor (and thus treatment) so that I can BREATHE, which most other people can do just fine on their own. I also happen to have secondary IF, which also requires treatment of a medical problem. Do I like the fact that I have to get this reproductive assistance? No, but I also don’t like the fact that I need to use medicine to breathe like everyone else — something that should come naturally to us. It’s hard, but I try to keep the emotion out of it as best I can. But again, that’s probably easier coming from a secondary IF point of view because I imagine I’d see things much differently if we’d had medical intervention the first time.

    Almost time for your race! You’ll totally rock it! 🙂

  7. oh i read, and i love.

  8. Kudos on the running. I just sit here on my lazy butt. 🙂

    It sucks that not everyone can magically get pregnant. Boo.

  9. Holy crap. Seventh grade? I think I’m having one of those cultural moments like when Americans bloggers actually freely admit – publicly, on the internet – that they’re feeding infants cheerios and I have to take a step back and tell myself they probably mean some entirely different (and more infant-appropriate) food to what I’m thinking of. Because when I was in 7th grade I was 11yo and only, like, 130-140cm or something and I’m pretty sure if I returned to that weight someone would hospitalise and force feed me. So. Just tell me you’re not sporting a BMI of about 12.5 and I’ll start breathing again. (You know that’s not good for your fertility anyway 😉

    Now I’ve had my little moment and adjusted – it’s great that you’re getting on with the running so well! And I’m glad you’re ok with the fertility treatment, too. It sounds like O is charming your socks off.

    Bea


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

