Running Down a Dream.

April 23, 2010 at 6:00 am | Posted in And I ran (I ran so far away) | 24 Comments

My half marathon is on Sunday morning. At 9am, I will start running 13.1 miles.

Not going to lie. I am unbelievably NERVOUS right now.

Partly because, until today, I’ve been hacking like a smoker with a 3-packs-a-day habit. From a stupid chest cold of which I NEVER get. (Well, okay. I no longer can say never, because, well, I HAD one this week.)

Even better, I woke up on Thursday morning with a bruise, some swelling, and some pain in my right knee. I have no idea what I did to HURT the damn thing, but it’s sore anyway.

I mean, seriously. WTF?

But.

Despite the sick and minor injury… I’m about as ready as I’m ever going to be for something like this. I’ve worked HARD for the past 18 weeks of training. I’ve run in the dark. In the snow. In pouring rain. In Florida sunshine. In drizzly grey. In sunny New England early spring.

And on Sunday morning, hopefully around 11:15, I intend on crossing the finish line after having run 13.1 miles.

And then, I get a full month off of training.

Until June 1.

Because then? It’s time for me to train for the marathon I’ve signed up for.

(Yeah, you heard that right. A marathon. On October 3.)

For more than 10 years now, I’ve had the desire to finish a marathon. I’ve always talked myself out of it. Because I thought I was too overweight/out of shape/busy with other priorities/stupid to think I could RUN 26.2 miles. And over those years, when you stop thinking you CAN do it, it starts to look like a pipe dream.

I mean, shit. I didn’t even think I could run 13.1 miles.

And if it weren’t for my friend D, who inspires me in SO many ways… I probably would have never signed up for this race in the first place.

(And I can hear her now – “Oh great. Blame me!” :))

But the past 18 weeks have done WONDERS for my esteem.

It’s PROOF of what I can actually DO when I put my mind to it.

I’ve lost more weight than I ever thought possible. I’ve run further distance than I ever thought possible.

I have found that I LOVE running more than I ever thought possible.

It makes me wonder:

Where ARE my limits?

And hey. Maybe my limit is Sunday’s run. Who knows?

All I know is that I won’t know until I try.

And even if Sunday doesn’t go as well as I want, if my pace is off, if I don’t finish in the time I’m hoping… the journey I took to even GET to the starting line is the real story here.

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’ll do great! Have fun, breathe, and run! I look forward to reading about your experience!

  2. I would wish you luck but you do not need it, you a ready and you are going to ROCK this race!!
    Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  3. GOOD LUCK!!!

  4. so amazed and in awe of you…so proud!!!!

    YOU GO GIRL, Run your heart out!!!!!

    GOOD LUCK! xoxo

  5. Good luck!! You rock!

  6. I doubt it – Sunday is so not your limit. Your limit is so limitless…

    You are an inspiration.

  7. I have a feeling you are going to rock it and surprise yourself. Good luck!!

    • I believe in you – good luck!

  8. Dude, you can soooooo do this. I know you can. If it’s any consolation, two days before my race I was beside myself nervous, but the day of, I was just “in the zone”. I’d really accepted that it’d be what it’d be and at least I’d TRIED – like you said, getting here is the real story, finishing is just a bonus:-)

  9. It is time. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear all about it! Make sure you write about it soon after the race, because it’s amazing how quickly you forget some of the details!

    D

  10. It’s going to be awesome!!! Have fun!

  11. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!

  12. You’re going to do AWESOME this weekend. And as for the marathon, it’s going to be easier than you think. Like you, only two years after my boys were born, I ran my first marathon this past December….and was amazed that if you train your body correctly, you can do ANYTHING with it. So proud of you for achieving one of your life goals. YAY!!!!

  13. This really is so inspiring and helps motivate me to keep up with the walking program I started a month or so ago. Running isn’t my thing, but I do enjoy a fast, self competitive walk.

    I will take a cue from you and not judge myself so harshly when I’m not feeling it, or having an off day, or not able to push myself.

    And, I need new shoes by golly and I’m going to get them. Sore feet do NOT make for an inspired walk.

    Hooray for you, the 1/2 marathon and your goal of the marathon!

  14. I am so very proud of you… you are a true inspirations. i will be thinking about you and sending all my support on Sunday. Do your best, that is the only thing that matters, your very own personal best!!!!!

  15. I’ll be sending good vibes your way on Sunday! I should lace up my shoes and start training for the half marathon I want to do in October as well.

    Thanks for the push! 🙂

  16. Good luck and have fun!

  17. Awesome… honestly very inspiring

  18. Good luck tomorrow!

    Bea

  19. Perhaps you could run with Team Winks during the Disney Marathon weekend. We are going to attempt the half marathon to support A-T research in the quest for a cure. We haven’t signed up officially yet, but we expect to after we get back from Baltimore. Speaking of which, we need to set up a time to get together when we get there!

  20. Good Luck!! I’ll be mentally rooting you on!!

  21. I am sending so many good thoughts today. I know by now you’re done with the run, and I can’t wait to hear how it went.

  22. Hope the race was a success; can’t wait to hear all about it! Get some rest!

  23. […] I mentioned that I signed up for a marathon in one of my earlier posts. Because I was all gung ho on running and I had momentum and I thought it would be good to take advantage of that momentum and go all out. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

